We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you stay book through an owner not rookely themselves”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rookley Country Park
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“if you stay book through an owner not rookely themselves”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Robotic staff under the thumb of management as they fear losing job as jobs hard to find Very non plus and unhelpful no wifi to speak of Entertainment for kids hopeless badly run lazy staff all they wanted to do was sit about Tables in club sticky and dirty Don't eat there Sunday lunch a joke watch people passing by and helping them selves to unpaid for food with there fingers Fish and chip shop like the club has grease food Go elsewhere to eat and if you can book direct with owners not Rookley you will get a better deal and a clean place to stay

Room Tip: non don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrigyadiloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your informative review. It was extremely disappointing to read that you found the staff to be unhelpful and “under the thumb” as the majority of our reviews have been praise worthy. Notwithstanding we will most certainly pass your comments onto the relevant Managers. With regards to the carvery we assure you that this is closely monitored and only paying guests are encouraged to help themselves to the food . We sincerely hope that these experiences were a one off and that you would visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    231
    124
    96
    99
See reviews for
476
121
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We were so looking forward to coming here but were very disappointed with our caravan and the facilities. All very tired. I won't harp on as the other reviews have covered it. All I can say is my family and I just used the caravan as a base and went out each day to explore the wonderful island. I hate having to complain when on holiday which puts a downer on the trip. Grrrrrr. Come on Phil de beer. Invest in this park as it needs it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, Operations Director at Rookley Country Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am sorry if you feel the facilities and the accommodation is dated. Since our acquisition in 2012 we have invested over 1 million pound in updating the facilities and fleet and we are continually investing to ensure that our guests are satisfied with our product. You will be pleased to know that we will continue to update our fleet during the 2014 season and that all comments and reviews received from our guests plays a vital part in the allocation of these funds. If you have any further suggestions that you feel could make a big difference to our offering then please feel free to contact me direct at Rookley Country Park. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rookley hotels

hayes middx
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

we stayed at Rookley country park between 19 July and 26 July 2014
On arrival we were greeted by Amy on reception, who was the only Star there.
Our caravan number 139 was for sale and very dirty, not hoovered or cleaned properly.
Caravan was old and close to an industrial estate. Beds were uncomfortable with the solid base felt through the wafer thin worn out matress. The cooker had only three rings working, the curtains did not close properly and the electric tripped out several times.
The restraunt was sub standard with very poor service and poor quality food pepper corn sauce tasted like water.
We decided to use the site as a base and spent every day out.
Some of the attractions we visited were as follows
Sandown beach very clean and loungers quite cheep at £3.50 per day.
Isle of Wight Zoo This is one of the best small zoos we have visited 10/10 mainly big cats and lemurs but wtraction that is well worth a visit with their unlimited returns for only £1.
Amazon World Another small animal attraction that is worth a visit. Mainly small animals and reptiles with free flying birds in abundance. The red pandas are amazing. the day we visted was very hot so the Oscelot spent all day sleeping in the shade.
Carrisbrooke Castle is great for history buffs.
Spyglass Inn Ventnor is a great place to eat right on the seafront at the end of the prom.
Shanklin Beach very clean and plenty of gift shops and cafes.
On the whole a great holiday except for accomodation.
My advise is to stay at sister park St Helens.

Room Tip: stay at St Helens Holiday Park instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin_j_porter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that you found the caravan in a less than acceptable standard. Reviewing our records it is unfortunate that none of the issues mentioned were brought our attention. If you made us aware during your stay we could have easily assisted and rectified the issues to an acceptable standard. Thank you for your review and please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our caravan had seen better days with a rather dirty shower room, but it was comfortable and at £99 for 4 days in July was still very good value for money. There were faulty water taps, but these were immediately fixed by staff after we told them. The staff were always helpful and friendly.
The park was pleasantly situated, near lakes in the countryside. Although some parts of the park backed on to a small industrial estate, this seemed well-screened and didn't bother us.
Onsite facilities were good with decent food and drink at reasonable prices. We especially enjoyed the pools, which were just big enough for adults to swim in (although we had to get in early, as they got very busy later)!
There was a good bus service a few minutes walk away, and a small Co-op shop nearby in the village stocked most necessities.
Overall, at the price we paid, it was good value, but we wouldn't have wanted to pay the full price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewbr1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the holiday to be good value for money. Please accept our apology for the cleaning issues mentioned. We do however ask that guests inform us at the earliest opportunity of any problems that they might encounter during their stay to give us the opportunity to rectify them and return you to a relaxing holiday as intended. We hope that you will return again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Me and my family spent a long weekend at Rookley Country Park and come away from our break feeling very disappointed. When we arrived the first impressions were good. The fishing lakes and surrounding areas looked really nice and even as we entered into the reception area, the bar and restaurant was bright and spacious. We were made to feel very welcome by the staff and all seemed promising until we arrived at our caravan.
We had been allocated caravan number 234 towards the rear of the park. The area was quiet and the caravan looked a little dated both inside and out. When we entered the caravan we had a good look around to see what we had been given. We thought that there had been a mistake as there was a shortage of beds for our party of five people. We attempted to contact reception but had no luck as there was a constant engaged tone. So I walked over to the reception with my wife to speak to someone about our problem. We were informed that our caravan was indeed correct as there was a sofa bed which our fifth person could sleep on. The idea of having someone sleeping in the living room when you are watching TV has never seemed a great idea to me so I asked if there was any alternative accommodation available. The lady on reception checked for us and we were told that the park was fully booked for the duration of the weekend. I also asked if we could pay for an upgrade but still the response was the same.
We returned to our caravan and started to unpack, but could find no bedding for the sofa bed. We called reception once more but again had no luck. We then called the bar area and the lady from reception answered. I just can't understand how the accommodation is made up for four people and not five that have been booked in and paid for?
So bedding was sent over to us along with a cleaner to give our caravan a fresh hoover over as my Mum and my two young children were covered in dog hairs from the short time they had already spent there!
We already felt that despite the visit from the cleaner, our accommodation was still grubby and it didn't feel like a place we could relax. For the rest of the weekend we lived out of our suitcases and while walking around we had to wear shoes or slippers inside otherwise our feet would change colour because of the grime.
We headed over to the Quarterdeck bar and restaurant for a drink and also an evening meal. I ordered one of the daily specials which I enjoyed very much but the two kids meals and my Mum and wife's food seemed barely edible. We briefly checked out the entertainment which seemed limited but our two girls enjoyed having a dance and playing party games with Charlie.
We all felt that despite the early optimism, everything seemed to be going wrong so all that Rookley Country Park became was a base for our weekend away and the less time spent there the better!
The park is in a perfect central location on the island which means you are no more than 20 minutes from all the attractions. The park grounds are picturesque and the bar and restaurant are light and airy but so much was wrong and it tarnished our experience on what is otherwise a magnificent little island.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 234 as it is dated and in need of a good clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwj19802014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased that you found the island to your liking but sincerely apologise for the issues experienced during your stay. The Accommodation Manager would also like to extend her apology for some of the oversights mentioned. We have also passed your review on to the Complex Manager to provide the team with some further feedback and training. At Island View Holidays we are always looking for ways to improve and reviews such as yours give us the valuable feedback needed to make positive changes. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I would not stay here again if you paid me. We booked luxury plus but got downgraded without our consent to an old, dirty basic caravan on the edge of an industrial estate. We were not told of any issues when we checked in, only when we went back to complain. The shower was filthy and moldy, there were brown smears on the kitchen wall and none of the windows shut properly. None of the curtains shut or opened properly as a lot of the plastic clips were broken or missing. Because of the late check in time of 4pm, after we had argued for a couple of hours with the manager the kids were hungry so we had to stay one night. We checked out first thing in the morning and moved to a much better, cleaner, more comfortable and family friendly site. The only positive I can say is that we did receive a full refund as promised, but is that really the lasting impression the owners of Rookley Country Park want their guests to take away with them? There was no real apology or any efforts to compensate us for the fact we had to spend an extra £100 to stay at another site, plus we lost a day of our holiday. The Isle of Wight is beautiful, it is small but there are plenty of holiday parks to chose from. I would suggest people do some research, check out some reviews before booking. That way you might save yourself the grief we encountered here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jp_19870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, Operations Director at Rookley Country Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
I’m very sorry to read that you will not be returning to Rookley Country Park for future holidays. It is disappointing that you felt that no effort was made to resolve the matter amicably. As explained on review “Never Again” we offered both parties half of your holiday money back as an apology for the drop in grade of accommodation. However, this was done to conform to the booking request made both parties. We made every effort to resolve the situation and after several hours of phoning alternative Holiday Parks and negotiating discounted prices as a favour to us both parties declined the offer. Despite this we provided you with a full refund and a complimentary stay of which both parties agreed was an acceptable conclusion. We feel that we dealt with the situation with upmost professionalism and despite our numerous conversations it is unfortunate that none of the accommodation issues were brought to our attention. However, we have forwarded your comments on to the relevant Managers for urgent review. We wish you all the best for you future holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Uk
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Having dogs and being on a Sun Holiday I always expect to have the worst accommodation on site, so I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw the 3 bedroomed 12ftx38ft caravan we were allocated. Extremely spacious. Having previously felt claustrophobic in a Haven caravan this felt like luxury

Unfortunately the rose tinted glasses wore off. We realised that the caravan was quite dirty. There was even a jar of salsa left on top of the wardrobe from some previous occupant. No mattress cover- I am glad I brought my own. And my own pillow

Perhaps due to the evening entertainment, our neighbours were off out late and returning late making noise that woke us up in the process. If you like evening cabarets then perhaps this is for you. If it isn't your thing then this might become irritating.

It was nice having the option of the indoor and outdoor pools- although they were very crowded and there was no effort from staff to control the rowdy occupants (Children and adults) and their toys that were hitting other people and spoiling it for everyone else.

We only ate from the fish & chip shop on site. Not particularly great unfortunately. The restaurant looked nice enough as did the bar although we didn't experience this. We attended the tots club painting session. No overalls/aprons were provided even though these are cheap enough to buy. We were reassured that the paint would come out. It didn't. Clothes ruined.

The walk to and from the reception/facilities to the caravan involved passing by an industrial estate, stinking bins and abandoned caravans/equipment used for storage or junk. The walk around the lake was pleasant.

Good central location for exploring the whole island. Good to have free wifi although you have to sit in reception/bar to access

For a sun holiday it was satisfactory. If I had paid full price I would have been disappointed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank wangsbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your informative review. We apologise for the cleaning issues experienced and your comments have been passed onto the Accommodation Manager for review. As you have stated we do offer evening entertainment however we rely on guests to keep noise levels to a minimum once leaving the Complex. If however you find that guests are a little too loud you can contact our on call team by phoning the emergency call out number and they will come out to assist. You will be pleased to know that since your review we have cleared up the Maintenance yard and fixed much of the fencing to make it more aesthetically pleasing. Thank you once again for your review and we hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rookley
5.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
725 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
4.8 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
844 reviews
4.7 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#43 of 52 in Shanklin
428 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookley Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookley Country Park

Property: Rookley Country Park
Address: Main Road, Rookley PO38 3LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Rookley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Rookley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Rookley Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookley Country Park Hotel Rookley
Rookley Country Park Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing