We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“so_so” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rookley Country Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rookley Country Park
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“so_so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was booked and paid for by my father in law who lives on 'the island' it wasn't his first choice but the only place he could get at short notice, the fishing lakes appealed to him,my husband and our sons so I thought I'd have a week of reading, turns out the lakes are a different business entirely from the caravan site and cost extra so we only spent one day fishing! The caravan was ok, clean, a little tired, the cushions in the lounge were torn, the bed was uncomfortable and creaky, we took the matress off the fold up bed to put on our bed to cover the springs!! The isle of Wight itself is stunning, some really beautiful views and plenty to keep you busy. The facilities at Rookley Park were well maintained, the swimming pools were small but clean and served their purpose, the children's play area was safe and clean as were the arcades and games room. We didn't use the bar or restaurant only the fish and chip shop which was edible but wouldn't rush back. We had an early ferry back but reception wasn't open for us to check out at 8am so we had to leave our keys with the father in law so he could run the keys back! Also the free WiFi doesn't seem to apply to the caravans, we had no signal all week!

Room Tip: Book a cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiDay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for leaving your review. We are pleased that on the whole you had a good time whilst visiting Rookley Country Park. We apologise for the confusion regarding the fishing lakes however we do provide ample information on our website under “activities and entertainment” which explains about the surcharges and offers with contact details to obtain more information. Your comments regarding the caravan have been forwarded onto the Accommodation Manager for urgent review. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. AS for the Wi-Fi this is not a facility that we currently offer when staying in one of our Caravans however we do provide free Wi-Fi in the entertainment complex for our customer’s enjoyment. We hope that you will return to us during your next visit to Isle of Wight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    216
    113
    86
    94
See reviews for
435
117
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Although the static caravan, was a little tired and beds could have been more comfortable. The bedding and the caravan couldn't have been cleaner. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Great as a base to explore the island.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron10am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review. It is great to read that overall you had an enjoyable experience whilst visiting Rookley Country Park. Should you in future encounter any issues during your stay then please do not hesitate to contact the reception team who will gladly assist to resolve the matters to your satisfaction. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I usually don't write reviews but before I went to Roockley the reviews I'd seen had made me a little apprehensive.
The site is beautiful upon first looks and doesn't fail to keep up appearances throughout my weeks stay.
Me and my family camped. We aren't usual campers but we had a nice spot for our tent. Although the camping field is smaller than expected and you aren't allocated specific plots so some people do take the biscuit.
The toilet blocks are kept tidy and we're never busy when I went down there. The big bins on the camping field did get very full but we're emptied that day so didn't really cause any issues.
The entertainment was fantastic. For a small club house and small park my expectations were not high but after the first night there I was very happy to go back the other nights I was there. The employees are all very helpful and happy and I think this made the entertainment as good as it was. Easily on par with the Butlins and Pontins entertainment.

Overall the facilities were fantastic as was the entertainment. And the food was very good to, we had breakfast in the club every morning.
My only bad point was the smell from the outdoor pool. I think on of the filters must have been blocked and I was out off from swimming outside after that. But that's a simple thing to fix.
For the money this site excels and the staff go above and beyond my expectations. Myself and my family would strongly consider booking another holiday here it is great.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1993lar136198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. The team wanted to thank you for their mentions as they work extremely hard to ensure that every guest has a wonderful holiday and they are pleased that they managed to do so for you and your family. We hope you will be back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This is our 3rd trip to Rookley this year and are booked again in August (21 sleeps!) and what can we say... We love it!!!! All the staff are so friendly, helpful and go beyond their duties to make sure that both adults and children are made to feel special!! The bar staff are hard working and friendly, the receptionists are always helpful and the entertainment team are just brilliant!!!!! The staff feel like one big family and go out their way to remember the children's names which make them feel special! Rookley itself is a beautiful place, lovely bright and airy restaurant/bar area, children's play area, amusement arcade, 2 swimming pools (one inside one outside) miniature golf, a number of beautiful fishing lakes and you can even hire bikes!! There is also a dedicated entertainment section which has kids clubs every morning and a kids Funtime every evening. Also has entertainment for the grown ups!!! Our children feel safe and happy here and happy kids equal happy parents!!! The site is not managed by a faceless corporation but by Phil who is always happy to listen and engage! Well done Rookley and all who work hard there, see you in August!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulandtracy0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so pleased that the team made your holiday at Island View Holidays we endeavour to make every guest feel at home and it is so good to read that they managed to do so for your family. We look forward to your return in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Robotic staff under the thumb of management as they fear losing job as jobs hard to find Very non plus and unhelpful no wifi to speak of Entertainment for kids hopeless badly run lazy staff all they wanted to do was sit about Tables in club sticky and dirty Don't eat there Sunday lunch a joke watch people passing by and helping them selves to unpaid for food with there fingers Fish and chip shop like the club has grease food Go elsewhere to eat and if you can book direct with owners not Rookley you will get a better deal and a clean place to stay

Room Tip: non don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lrigyadiloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your informative review. It was extremely disappointing to read that you found the staff to be unhelpful and “under the thumb” as the majority of our reviews have been praise worthy. Notwithstanding we will most certainly pass your comments onto the relevant Managers. With regards to the carvery we assure you that this is closely monitored and only paying guests are encouraged to help themselves to the food . We sincerely hope that these experiences were a one off and that you would visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rookley hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We were so looking forward to coming here but were very disappointed with our caravan and the facilities. All very tired. I won't harp on as the other reviews have covered it. All I can say is my family and I just used the caravan as a base and went out each day to explore the wonderful island. I hate having to complain when on holiday which puts a downer on the trip. Grrrrrr. Come on Phil de beer. Invest in this park as it needs it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, Operations Director at Rookley Country Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am sorry if you feel the facilities and the accommodation is dated. Since our acquisition in 2012 we have invested over 1 million pound in updating the facilities and fleet and we are continually investing to ensure that our guests are satisfied with our product. You will be pleased to know that we will continue to update our fleet during the 2014 season and that all comments and reviews received from our guests plays a vital part in the allocation of these funds. If you have any further suggestions that you feel could make a big difference to our offering then please feel free to contact me direct at Rookley Country Park. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hayes middx
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

we stayed at Rookley country park between 19 July and 26 July 2014
On arrival we were greeted by Amy on reception, who was the only Star there.
Our caravan number 139 was for sale and very dirty, not hoovered or cleaned properly.
Caravan was old and close to an industrial estate. Beds were uncomfortable with the solid base felt through the wafer thin worn out matress. The cooker had only three rings working, the curtains did not close properly and the electric tripped out several times.
The restraunt was sub standard with very poor service and poor quality food pepper corn sauce tasted like water.
We decided to use the site as a base and spent every day out.
Some of the attractions we visited were as follows
Sandown beach very clean and loungers quite cheep at £3.50 per day.
Isle of Wight Zoo This is one of the best small zoos we have visited 10/10 mainly big cats and lemurs but wtraction that is well worth a visit with their unlimited returns for only £1.
Amazon World Another small animal attraction that is worth a visit. Mainly small animals and reptiles with free flying birds in abundance. The red pandas are amazing. the day we visted was very hot so the Oscelot spent all day sleeping in the shade.
Carrisbrooke Castle is great for history buffs.
Spyglass Inn Ventnor is a great place to eat right on the seafront at the end of the prom.
Shanklin Beach very clean and plenty of gift shops and cafes.
On the whole a great holiday except for accomodation.
My advise is to stay at sister park St Helens.

Room Tip: stay at St Helens Holiday Park instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin_j_porter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that you found the caravan in a less than acceptable standard. Reviewing our records it is unfortunate that none of the issues mentioned were brought our attention. If you made us aware during your stay we could have easily assisted and rectified the issues to an acceptable standard. Thank you for your review and please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rookley
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel
4.8 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Isle of Wight Sandown (Merrie Gardens)
Premier Inn Isle of Wight Sandow...
#11 of 122 in Isle of Wight
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
11.7 mi away
Colwell Bay Holiday Cottages
8.0 mi away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookley Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookley Country Park

Property: Rookley Country Park
Address: Main Road, Rookley PO38 3LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Rookley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Rookley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rookley Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookley Country Park Hotel Rookley
Rookley Country Park Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing