We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great All Rounder” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chequers Inn

The Chequers Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Rookley
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great All Rounder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Eating Drinking or even Sitting in the Garden this is a an ideal place to go. Old or Young The Chequers has it all.

Quality Food ( check out the Carvery available every day)
Well kept Beers (Good choice of Ales)
Play area for the Kids (Better than some Parks)
If you go there I know you'll enjoy!

Highly Recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    89
    58
    35
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I don't know who these idiots were who gave these reviews!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I am going to be moving to the Island and on my last two visits over went to Chequers for a carvery meal and found the staff helpful and the food amazing! And I am a very fussy eater. I would definitely recommend it to anyone, and will make it my fave place to go when I move over. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice looking pub but not made to feel welcome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We went to this pub for the breakfast buffet on the last day of our holiday the pub looked nice as there was a lovely big garden and childrens play area , their was plenty of hot breakfast and fresh orange juice but the service was awful they were probably busy but no one was around so we could pay so meant waiting around, the woman couldnt do enough for the regular s but my family didnt even get a smile or a hello just a funny look i felt like id trespassed where i was not welcome. We definitely wont be going there next year.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Food and rude service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

went here for Sunday lunch carvery there was a party of eight of us. Food was dreadful but the worst was the rude and cant be bothered service and the cheek received from the girl behind the bar was a joke

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank starship456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible! Don't bother.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

When we saw that the carvery on a Sunday was £8.75 (£7.25 for child) we thought it was on the expensive side, however it had been arranged as a party and so we went along. We shouldn't have bothered; first of all the table that had been reserved was non-existent at the time specified and we had to wait half an hour. The food was just shocking; stone-cold for one, roast potatoes that were absolutely rock solid, reformed joints of meat that tasted of nothing and weird watery courgettes that don't really belong on a roast. Also, to charge a "special rate" for carvery & pudding when it actually turns out to be the same price as when bought individually is misleading. And, to top it all off, it took half an hour for a bowl of ice cream to get to the table from the time it was ordered. Even a member of staff agreed that it was crap food! Overall, an appalling experience that I hope we never have the misfortune of repeating. I have to say though, the staff were lovely and the play area for the kids is brilliant too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LulaB-Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chequers Inn also viewed

Arreton, Isle of Wight
Arreton, Isle of Wight
 
Newchurch, Sandown
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing