We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location. Front desk friendliness and service only problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorint Am Nuerburgring Hocheifel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nuerburg
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
163 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location. Front desk friendliness and service only problem”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is very nice, has the best bar in town, and has the great view right over the F1 start grid on the new track. Breakfasts are fantastic.

But the hotel front desk staff are just plain not helpful. I've been here many times and they are not accommodating, helpful or even friendly. Beyond normal German "by-the-rules" strictness. There are literally no exceptions and no understanding of customer service. This NEEDS to change. The hotel doesn't have the "customer is always right" type attitude. This is the ONLY thing that drags down the hotel rating. As someone who has visited this hotel 20 + individual visits over 10 years, staying maybe 100+ days in the hotel, I can attest it's a continual issue and has not become better. The bar and restaurants have great service, and the maids do a great job. The front desk is the only issue.

Fix the front desk service levels and this is a level 5 hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a track facing room and to visit the Cockpit Bar! Also, the breakfasts are amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidelinesports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint53520, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint Am Nuerburgring Hocheifel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit für eine Bewertung unseres Hauses genommen haben.

Für Ihre konstruktive Kritik sind wir Ihnen sehr dankbar, denn nur mit Hilfe unserer Gäste sind wir in der Lage, an möglichen technischen oder organisatorischen Mängeln und menschlichen Fehlleistungen in unserem Hause zu arbeiten und diese zu verbessern. Wir nehmen Ihre Kritik ernst und sprechen diesbezüglich mit unseren Kollegen an der Rezeption, was uns bleibt ist die Thematik immer wieder in den Schulungsplan aufzunehmen, denn die Zufriedenheit unserer Gäste ist unser oberstes Ziel.

Wir wünschen Ihnen einen schönen Tag und freuen uns auf ein Wiedersehen direkt an der Rennstrecke!


Ihr Team vom Dorint am Nürburgring
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    99
    32
    7
    6
See reviews for
19
61
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights for a short break.
As usual had third floor room on front.
Glad the plastic garden furniture has gone off balcony to be replaced by wicker.
Duvets a bit thin but you can crank the heating up if necessary.
Had dinner in restaurant one night and felt a bit ill after ordering but staff helpful and put food on a tray with covers for us to take to room.
Ordered breakfast in room on last morning which was wonderful, just tick whatever you want and there it is, even fried eggs which aren't on the buffet.
Had a nice walk to Adenau in just over an hour following paths around the Nordschleife watching the industry pool drivers thrashing prototypes along the way and got bus back with the school kids right to the door, driver didn't charge us as he didn't handle cash.

Room Tip: There is a lot to see on the track even on a weekday so it might be worth paying extra for a track r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewChapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint53520, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Dorint Am Nuerburgring Hocheifel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Great that you enjoyed your 3rd stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you for the 4th time at the Ring.

Your team from Dorint Nuerburgring
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here for a 3day conference

As many have said already hotel is on the track right by the finishing straight, had a great room overlooking the track, which being open to the public was used all day.

Room was nice, large and clean with a balcony, the conference facilities were excellent and the restaurant was very good, buffet with a selection of food every day

Overall for a conference it was a good stay

I can imagine on race days this is a great place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ascot_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint53520, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Dorint Am Nuerburgring Hocheifel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Great that you enjoyed your stay with us. If something does not be to your satisfaction, please let us know.

We are looking to welcoming you at the Ring.


Your team from Dorint Nuerburgring
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
905 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 673 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The key selling point of this hotel, being its location built into the Formula 1 track of the Nuerburg circuit, has been well covered by previous reviewers and the balcony rooms at the back giving an excellent view of the circuit are a bit special. Unfortunately I had a front facing room and the view from here was not so special.
The hotel is festooned with varied racing memorabilia throughout and you could spend significant time reading the information panels in the main corridors or looking at the varied collections in the main bar, which I will agree, does tend to be noisy when it is busy.
The room I had was spacious with plenty of storage space, good lighting and the usual range of features including mini bar and safe. And although it was on the second floor directly opposite the glass lift and above the reception area, it was well sound proofed, allowing for a quiet night’s sleep.
I was here to attend a conference of 100+ people and for this the hotel proved to be excellent, with superb conference facilities and excellent support from the conference staff. And also cannot fault the buffet food that we experienced during the conference.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_of_N21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorint53520, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Dorint Am Nuerburgring Hocheifel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Great that you enjoyed your stay with us. If something does not be to your satisfaction, please let us know.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at the Ring.


Your team from Dorint Nuerburgring
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a couple of nights ago as a little treat as my boyfriend wanted to take me to the Nurburgring and wanted to treat me to a better hotel than the one he usually stays in with his car buddies.

The hotel's location is great, the facilities are of a very high standard, comfy mattresses, very clean and pleasant decor, quiet and nice bar and restaurant with lovely breakfast, and the pool is pretty amazing too.

However, the big thing for us that nearly sent us walking straight back out upon arrival was that we had booked a double room but found to our dismay we had been given a twin, hardly conducive to a Valentine's treat!

When we complained that we had booked a double and not 2 singles that we were told we should push together, we were informed that there are no double beds in the ENTIRE hotel!! This is mind-blowing to me. In a hotel of this standard (and price) and when clearly advertised on bookings.com as having a choice between twin and double this was in our opinion not good enough, and false advertising. I've stayed in a lot of hotels in my life and never come across this before. Presumably because of the high proportion of male guests?

Whatever the reason, guys, get some double beds please!!

Anyway, the front desk were reasonably apologetic and comped us the parking (which is indeed steep at 12 euros per night but hey) and a few other things so we stayed and like I said, the rest of the hotel is nice.

They should just make it clear on their website and partner booking sites that there are no double beds!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chucklette0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were here the week before DTM to drive the Green Hell. Got to watch the pre-race activities on the GP track. We could also see part of the Nordschleife from our room; had a great time watching public day racing and manufacturers test days. The restaurant in the hotel is excellent and we had a great time in the bar. Never had a problem with noise, the place was always spotless, and the service was always friendly. I'm sure we could have gotten a cheaper room, but we were there for the cars, and it was worth a little more to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Location for the Nurburgring couldn't be better, it overlooks the GP main straight. Rooms are comfy but can get very warm in summer due to there being no aircon. The restaurant serves excellent food and their is an extensive buffet for breakfast which caters for all tastes and diets. The bar can be very lively, but also very noisy and this noise can often filter up to the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuerburg
0.4 mi away
Lindner Congress & Motorsport Hotel Nuerburgring
0.4 mi away
Lindner Hotel Eifeldorf Gruene Hoelle Nuerburgring
0.5 mi away
Hotel zur Burg
Hotel zur Burg
#4 of 5 in Nuerburg
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Landhaus Sonnenhof
Landhaus Sonnenhof
#2 of 2 in Adenau
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel am Tiergarten
Hotel am Tiergarten
#3 of 5 in Nuerburg
89 reviews
11.0 mi away
Park Hotel am Schloss
Park Hotel am Schloss
#1 of 2 in Ettringen
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Am Nuerburgring Hocheifel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Am Nuerburgring Hocheifel

Property: Dorint Am Nuerburgring Hocheifel
Address: Grand-Prix-Strecke, 53520 Nuerburg, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Nuerburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nuerburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint Am Nuerburgring Hocheifel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest at the Nürburgring! The location of our 4-star hotel Dorint Am Nürburgring-Hocheifel is hard to beat: in the background, the wonderful landscape of the High Eifel region and right on our doorstep the final straight of the world-renowned race track – a dream come true, not only for racing enthusiasts. While it is certainly an ideal location for incentives with the motor vehicle as theme, our first class hotel has loads to offer business travelers and vacationers, too, because nowhere could you find more a more beautiful environment and natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Dorint Am Nuerburgring Hocheifel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Adenau
Dorint Am Nuerburgring Hocheifel Germany/Nuerburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing