We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sarah and Gary offer warm hospitality in Benderloch, just outside of Oban”
Review of An-Struan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
An-Struan
Ranked #2 of 6 Benderloch B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
272 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Sarah and Gary offer warm hospitality in Benderloch, just outside of Oban”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Homey, comfortable with very welcoming, thoughtful hosts is how I would describe our stay at An-Struan. Benderloch is not a traditional, historic village, but rather more of a small suburban development just outside of Oban. It is well located for seeing the sites and having access to the ferries which travel to the Isles of Mull, Iona, Staffa and Linsmore.

Sarah and Gary provide immaculate en suite rooms with comfortable beds and fresh, cooked to order breakfasts. Sarah's homemade breads are a real treat. Their home is decorated with family photos and personal memorabilia.

For a quick lunch or dinner, there is a restaurant right across the street from An-Struan that has good food and a cute little bookshop. Be sure and tell the owner that you are staying at An-Struan and you might get a small treat when you pay your bill.

From the moment you enter, you are guests in Sarah and Gary's home, quite different from a guesthouse or hotel. This bed and breakfast is more than just a business to Sarah and Gary. It is their passion to satisfy and assist their guests. My favorite part of our three-day stay was meeting Alfie and Evie, their two well-behaved and entertaining dogs.

We highly recommend having lunch or dinner at the Pierhouse Hotel and Seafood Restaurant which is right in front of where you catch the small ferry to Linsmore. It has indoor and outdoor seating with a lovely view of the water.

We also enjoyed sitting beside the shores of the Loch Creran for dinner at The Creagan Inn, all just minutes from An-Struan by car. I do advise that you always have your midge repellent handy since it can get pretty buggy. Without fail we put it on daily before venturing out to explore the area. The midges damp, shady areas and invade in force at dusk, so I always had Skin Soft on to keep them at bay! It worked.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstandena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    20
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
65
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This is a great place to stay, the welcome is very warm. Sarah and Gary go out of their way to make their guests comfortable and welcome and nothing is too much trouble. We will be sure to go back again the next time we are in the area and would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Sarah and Gary are amazing hosts. This was our third visit to An Struan and now I've discovered tripadvisor can't wait to tell everyone what a great place this is to stay. Very conveniently situated and easy to find, a warm welcome assured. Delicious home baking, including imaginative breakfast "specials" plus eggs from their own hens, Sarah's home-made bread and marmalade. Far from being content with their already high standard, Sarah and Gary continually strive to update and improve facilities for their guests. You would have to pay serious money for accommodation like this in a hotel and the comforting sight of their dog, Alfie, snoozing by the wood-burner on a cold, winter night is priceless. It doesn't get much better than this.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Myself and my boyfriend arranged to stay at An-Struan B&B for one night whilst travelling throughout scotland. We booked through LateRooms.com. Overall price was good. Sarah & Gary really did make us feel welcome, they offered us hot drinks on arrival as well as small snacks which really does make all the difference. Rooms were great, really cosy and warm (ideal for the winter nights in Benderloch!) Really good breakfast. Would really recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Sarah & Gary pull out all the stops to make you feel comfortable, and at home.
The house and rooms are very comfortable, and very clean. We were welcomed with coffee and home baking (delicious), and made welcome in their lounge.
We were visiting Benderloch as we had a gig in the nearby North Connel Village Hall. This meant a late evening return for us, but this posed no problem for the owners.
Breakfast was fantastic, with a wide range of choices available, and cooked to perfection.

Overall first class!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuckleFlugga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

After making a late decision to visit Oban and only booking the B & B the night before we were delighted with our choice and enjoyed our 4 night stay, coming and going as and when we pleased. Sarah and Gary were warm, friendly and very welcoming. Nothing was a trouble to them, even making space in their shed to accommodate our bikes. The room was clean, comfortable and contained everything we needed (even warm comfy dressing gowns).
The breakfasts were a delight, with an excellent choice and more than ample portions. Our hosts were more than happy to cater for our personal choices even if they varied from the menu.
We enjoyed our morning chats with Sarah and Gary, who were able to provide information on local events and attractions.
We would thoroughly recommend An Struan to anybody holidaying in this area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Had a fab time staying here, room was excellent and so was the breakfast! whiskey sauce mmmm
We were welcomed with a glass of wine and a bit of a chat of where to go and what to see.
Sarah was really nice and offered to pick us up after we decided to walk about 3 miles up the road, which was beyond the call of duty for a b n b hostess!
All in all room was excellent and i highly reccommend a stay there!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brsgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benderloch
2.6 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
448 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
792 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
1.3 mi away
Shenavallie Farm
Shenavallie Farm
#3 of 6 in Benderloch
69 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#1 of 8 in Connel
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An-Struan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An-Struan

Property: An-Struan
Address: An-Struan Ceum Dhun Righ, Benderloch PA37 1ST, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Benderloch
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Benderloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — An-Struan 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior bungalow situated in the village of Benderloch, 7 miles North of Oban. All rooms En-suite. Four Star grading from the Scottish Tourist board. Guest Sitting room (with Log Fire). Dining room and large garden with picnic tables. Yummy breakfasts served between 0800-0900. There is also a restaurant within walking distance. Close to nearby beaches and forest walks. An ideal base for touring the Highlands and Islands of Scotland. Friendly hosts. Relaxed atmosphere. Home made bread and preserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your An-Struan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An-Struan Benderloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing