We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Struan in Benderloch: recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of An-Struan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
An-Struan
Ranked #2 of 6 Benderloch B&B and Inns
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An Struan in Benderloch: recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We were 2 couples and the 4 of us agreed that the welcome from Sarah and Gary is great: The rooms are very comfortable,the breakfast a feast and both Sarah and Gary provide you with efficient information on anything you would like to do or see in the area. Easy to reach(close to Oban) yet quiet location.
Would certainly return.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
64
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

My Husband & I stayed for 6 nights at the An-Struan & i have to say that it was the first holiday we have had when we did not want to go back home. A warm welcome from Sarah & Gary, comfortable room, delicious breakfasts including home made bread, what more can you ask for. The location was excellent & we were also blessed with good weather. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANSTRUAN, Owner at An-Struan, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about our Bed and Breakfast, it makes it all worthwhile, when we get guests that respect our home. Glad you enjoyed the homemade bread, I love making cakes,bread,jams and marmalades.
I`ll leave the serious breakfasts to Gary, thank you once again, Sarah & Gary.xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Lovely B&B. Very clean and welcoming. Breakfast was great, a traditional Scottish breakfast. Rooms were very nice. Location was good, close to beach and Oban. Sarah and Gary were delightful and so accomodating. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25thAnniversary2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We only stayed one night in An-Struan as we were in Benderloch for a wedding but this is definitely somewhere we will return to. When we arrived Sarah made tea & cakes for us and had time for a chat before showing us our lovely room for the night. Gary cooked a beautiful breakfast the next morning & we were made to feel very welcome throughout our stay. Everything was spotless & nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed here for one night, and were extremely impressed with this B&B. We were met by Sarah, the owner, on arrival and she could not have been more welcoming, offering us tea and freshly baked scones and traybakes. The room was comfortable, spacious and tastefully decorated. The bathroom in particular was as good as any we have seen in any hotel or B&B. The breakfast was excellent, with a wide choice available, including a list of "specials" alongside the usual options. Sarah and Gary clearly enjoy putting extra effort into their business, and it really shows.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at An-Struan, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you very much for your great report of our house. It was a pleasure having you both here. We try and make the house as comfortable as possible for guests. Hope to see you again in the future. Sarah & Gary Knowles,Anstruan,Benderloch, near Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Homey, comfortable with very welcoming, thoughtful hosts is how I would describe our stay at An-Struan. Benderloch is not a traditional, historic village, but rather more of a small suburban development just outside of Oban. It is well located for seeing the sites and having access to the ferries which travel to the Isles of Mull, Iona, Staffa and Linsmore.

Sarah and Gary provide immaculate en suite rooms with comfortable beds and fresh, cooked to order breakfasts. Sarah's homemade breads are a real treat. Their home is decorated with family photos and personal memorabilia.

For a quick lunch or dinner, there is a restaurant right across the street from An-Struan that has good food and a cute little bookshop. Be sure and tell the owner that you are staying at An-Struan and you might get a small treat when you pay your bill.

From the moment you enter, you are guests in Sarah and Gary's home, quite different from a guesthouse or hotel. This bed and breakfast is more than just a business to Sarah and Gary. It is their passion to satisfy and assist their guests. My favorite part of our three-day stay was meeting Alfie and Evie, their two well-behaved and entertaining dogs.

We highly recommend having lunch or dinner at the Pierhouse Hotel and Seafood Restaurant which is right in front of where you catch the small ferry to Linsmore. It has indoor and outdoor seating with a lovely view of the water.

We also enjoyed sitting beside the shores of the Loch Creran for dinner at The Creagan Inn, all just minutes from An-Struan by car. I do advise that you always have your midge repellent handy since it can get pretty buggy. Without fail we put it on daily before venturing out to explore the area. The midges damp, shady areas and invade in force at dusk, so I always had Skin Soft on to keep them at bay! It worked.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstandena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

This is a great place to stay, the welcome is very warm. Sarah and Gary go out of their way to make their guests comfortable and welcome and nothing is too much trouble. We will be sure to go back again the next time we are in the area and would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benderloch
3.0 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
2.6 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
4.5 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shenavallie Farm
Shenavallie Farm
#3 of 6 in Benderloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An-Struan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An-Struan

Property: An-Struan
Address: An-Struan Ceum Dhun Righ, Benderloch PA37 1ST, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Benderloch
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Benderloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — An-Struan 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior bungalow situated in the village of Benderloch, 7 miles North of Oban. All rooms En-suite. Four Star grading from the Scottish Tourist board. Guest Sitting room (with Log Fire). Dining room and large garden with picnic tables. Yummy breakfasts served between 0800-0900. There is also a restaurant within walking distance. Close to nearby beaches and forest walks. An ideal base for touring the Highlands and Islands of Scotland. Friendly hosts. Relaxed atmosphere. Home made bread and preserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your An-Struan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An-Struan Benderloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing