We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$650
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hawthorn Cottages(Benderloch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
71
20
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
20
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadfresh eggsstayed for one nightwonderful breakfastsitting roomyogurtgarychickensoban
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2017

This is a delightful home in Benderloch, which is about 10 minutes from Oban and about half the cost. Gary is very friendly and helpful. His home is very comfortable and welcoming. He greeted us with tea and pastries in his sitting room. The breakfast was delicious, especially his homemade bread. So glad we stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garrett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed when attending job interview could not have asked for warmer welcome. Very comfortable stay and breakfast very tasty with fresh eggs and bread. Great value for money and will be back in the very near future.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

I stayed for one night in August and had a very comfortable bed. The shower room was good sized with adequate water pressure and hot water. Breakfast was very nice with home made bread. I was on foot when staying and so the choices for dinner were either the cafe across the road which closes early or a half mile walk to the Hawthorn Tree restaurant, which may not suit everyone.

Room Tip: My room was at the back away from the road and so very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

An Struan is situated in a quiet location within easy driving from Oban and beyond.

Gary is a great host who was helpful and informative.

My room was larger than I had expected with a dressing/sitting room and a good sized bathroom. A fridge was a useful addition to the facilities. Everything is kept spotlessly clean.

The breakfast menu offers a good choice and together with Gary's homemade bread every morning was wonderful.

Gary kindly booked a table for me at a local restaurant one evening.

I have no hesitation in recommending an Struan as a great B and B. Thank you Gary for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CatherRineR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We have just returned from an 8 week trip around UK & Ireland using 41 different B&Bs and found An-Struan in Benderloch near Oban a very good place to stay.

It is located in a small village with several eateries nearby. Upon our arrival we received a warm welcome from Gary. The room we were allocated was very clean and comfortable with separate sitting area and good en suite. Parking was available in front of the house.

Breakfast was great with lovely fresh fruit salad and excellent smoked salmon with scrambled eggs made from eggs laid by Gary’s hens.

We enjoyed our stay at An Struan and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Many thanks Gary. Best wishes for the future.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarilynNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews