We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If the Walls could Talk”
Review of Barcaldine Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barcaldine Castle
Ranked #1 of 6 Benderloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Following a trip from Australia, my wife and I stayed at Barcaldine in early August 2014.

Sitting in the sumptuous lounge of Barcaldine Castle surrounded by the vestiges of Campbell history whilst listening to our host Ronnie recount story after story of this enigmatic place just adds to the wonderful experience that is Barcaldine Castle. Add to this the wonderful meals prepared and served by his partner Liz and you have a recipe for a truly unforgettable experience. Each room is as unique as the castle. Each room is impeccably presented. While the castle is not exactly in a central location, the experience more than makes up for that.

Do yourself a favour and book a room for several nights.

Room Tip: Engage Ronnie in conversation about the history of the castle. You'll be amazed about is history...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AFCB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent months looking for a venue for our wedding, and both loved barcaldine castle from the moment we first saw it. We wanted a venue that was both different and suitable for a small intimate wedding. I believe the maximum number of guests is 35 (we had 19). The main hall was beautifully decorated with our ceremony taking place in front of the fireplace.


Liz and Ronnie who run the venue are lovely.

We stayed at the castle on our wedding night and chose breachaldine room (the four poster bed room) which is beautiful. However, all rooms are individual and are I am sure just as nice as this one. Almost all of the other possible wedding venues we considered insisted we take exclusive use of all the bedrooms. Barcaldine castle didn't which we considered a huge bonus. This meant we were the only couple to stay at the castle on our wedding night and we enjoyed an intimate breakfast in the hall, just the two of us the following morning.

Barcaldine castle is beautiful, small and intimate. A fantastic venue for a small, intimate wedding or a special place to stay when visiting Scotland.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were driving through the Scottish coutryside when our tire blew out near this castle. We were a car full of people and luggage in the middle of a very hot afternoon. Ronnie, the manager, helped us in contacting the car company and then by letting us sit inside while we waited. He was so kind and generous and the Castle looked like such a fabulous place that we would recommend it most whole heartedly and will certainly stay here when we visit Scotland next.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank 4Love15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Barcaldine Castle is a great old castle residence, built by Sir Duncan Campbell in 1609 - it's the real deal as an old castle. It's about 15 minutes outside of Oban, sort of in the countryside. The owner has updated the rooms to first rate spec, very comfortable beds, great bedding, excellent sizable bathrooms with first rate fixtures and bath products. Our room had a TV and DVD, and the castle had a small but good video library. Upon arrival, the room had a tray of complementary nibbles, water, lemonade, tea, etc., though no G&T, whisky, or sherry on hand. Ronnie and Liz are very able innkeepers, friendly and accommodating, and run a tight ship, including a good breakfast. As of this writing, summer 2014, Barcaldine Castle is building a cottage to double the staff, and they appear to continue to invest into improving the property, so Barcaldine Castle is sure to continue to improve to a really first rate place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank douglasrathbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Barcaldine Castle in the Caithness room. The catle is fairly isolated, so driving there we weren't quite sure what we had gotten ourselves in for. But it was the best place we stayed on our trip around the UK! Liz and Ronnie were very friendly hosts, and our room was beautiful - we had a bathroom complete with bath overlooking the loch, bathrobes were provided, the bed was incredibly comfortable. It has all been done in a very beautiful yet warm and comfortable way.

We had an early dinner in Oban on our first night so we could come home early and watch a dvd in our bathrobes (they do have a library of books and dvds you can borrow), the room was just so comfortable we were a bit reluctant to go out!

Breakfast was also delicious, and as other reviewers have mentioned, the Hawthorn is well worth a visit for dinner.

Compared to our other accommodation, Barcaldine was at the more expensive end of the scale, however for a night or two of luxury it's money well spent. And stay 2 nights, at least.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are lovely, but Caithness has beautiful views, a full bath and a dressing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Annalies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It's a castle with secret passageways and a dungeon, but renovated with modern amenities in a beautiful setting. If you are looking for a castle experience, I'm not sure you will find a better one. The room - Breadalbane - was large and comfortable with a huge bath. Ronnie and Liz had good recomendations for things to do in the area and places to eat. Our first night, Ronnie sent us to a local pub to eat and watch the World Cup. It was a ton of fun watching with locals, and I'm sure we would not have found this place without his suggestion. Be sure to take the short, but steep hike in nearby Benderloch. The views are worth the effort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Samuel_Hanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Ronnie, manager of Barcaldine Castle on the shores on Loch Creran, was a great host, greeting and talking with us in the lounge, sort of a Knights’ Hall. The master painting paid homage to “Black” Duncan Campbell who built the castle in 1609, since renovated. Ronnie calls it a tower hotel, but it met all our expectations, complete with dungeon placed near the kitchen for extra torment. We stayed in the Argyle Room, which was clean and comfortable. Our room cost BPS 180, which puts it at the high end of our B&B accommodations. Liz served an excellent breakfast as we conversed with some world-wise fellow guests. Keep in mind this is a BYOB establishment. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oesy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benderloch
1.6 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
16.8 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
355 reviews
4.0 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
7.3 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
159 reviews
6.9 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcaldine Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcaldine Castle

Address: Benderloch | By Oban, Benderloch PA37 1SA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Benderloch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Benderloch
Price Range: £115 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcaldine Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcaldine Castle offers something truly beautiful. A Scottish Castle set on the shores of Loch Creran with breathtaking views of the snow-capped mountains of Glencoe in early Spring to the golden colours of Autumn - a memorable experience awaits you.The sumptuous interiors are carefully designed to encourage our guests to immerse themselves in the atmosphere of relaxation. Unobtrusive and calm, we aim to make your stay as memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Barcaldine Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcaldine Castle Hotel Benderloch
Barcaldine Castle Benderloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing