We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Break”
Review of Barcaldine Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barcaldine Castle
Ranked #1 of 6 Benderloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Break”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The castle was hired by our friend for her husbands 50th birthday so we had the entire castle to ourselves. Ronnie and Liz made us welcome from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, nothing was too much trouble for them and the attention to detail in the rooms and the whole castle was flawless. We stayed in the Argyll room and it was absolutely gorgeous, the bed was so comfortable and you just did not want to get out of it. The wet room was great too, everything you needed was to hand even down to the cotton wool in jars along with cotton buds. The food was faultless and absolutely delicious, a fantastic selection and good size portions, not too big and not too small. I will certainly be going back there again and cannot wait until our next visit. Thank you so much Ronnie and Liz we take our hats off to you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing and I could not choose one that I would not have stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    19
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
209
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just spent the most amazing weekend with friends at this stunning castle. From the moment we arrived we had the best service I have experienced so far :) ronnie and liz are amazing, nothing is too much trouble , the attention to detail is second to none. We had the whole castle to ourselves and we had the most amazing weekend with our friends ! We had the Caithness suite on the top floor one word to describe it really and that's WOW!!! So beautiful.the most amazing views of the loch and
mountains,room beautifully furnished , bed so comfortable,amazing little touches,tray with snacks which is replenished every day,luxury toiletries included and the turret room is stunning.
Ronnie and liz are wonderful hosts and looked after us all very well, nothing was too much trouble , they even lit the fire for us on 2 evenings which was fantastic!!!
Highly recommend staying here!! Would definitely love to return here , best experience ever :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moggie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Spend 2 night with my wife in the Barcaldine room. Luxury in every detail. A quiet place to spend a weekend. Don't forget to spend some time with your favorite whisky bottle in the small reception room (Campbell room) where a fire is waiting for you. Many thanks to Liz and Ronnie for their hospitality. I will be back and hopefully to enjoy a diner in the castle.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Following a trip from Australia, my wife and I stayed at Barcaldine in early August 2014.

Sitting in the sumptuous lounge of Barcaldine Castle surrounded by the vestiges of Campbell history whilst listening to our host Ronnie recount story after story of this enigmatic place just adds to the wonderful experience that is Barcaldine Castle. Add to this the wonderful meals prepared and served by his partner Liz and you have a recipe for a truly unforgettable experience. Each room is as unique as the castle. Each room is impeccably presented. While the castle is not exactly in a central location, the experience more than makes up for that.

Do yourself a favour and book a room for several nights.

Room Tip: Engage Ronnie in conversation about the history of the castle. You'll be amazed about is history...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFCB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent months looking for a venue for our wedding, and both loved barcaldine castle from the moment we first saw it. We wanted a venue that was both different and suitable for a small intimate wedding. I believe the maximum number of guests is 35 (we had 19). The main hall was beautifully decorated with our ceremony taking place in front of the fireplace.


Liz and Ronnie who run the venue are lovely.

We stayed at the castle on our wedding night and chose breachaldine room (the four poster bed room) which is beautiful. However, all rooms are individual and are I am sure just as nice as this one. Almost all of the other possible wedding venues we considered insisted we take exclusive use of all the bedrooms. Barcaldine castle didn't which we considered a huge bonus. This meant we were the only couple to stay at the castle on our wedding night and we enjoyed an intimate breakfast in the hall, just the two of us the following morning.

Barcaldine castle is beautiful, small and intimate. A fantastic venue for a small, intimate wedding or a special place to stay when visiting Scotland.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were driving through the Scottish coutryside when our tire blew out near this castle. We were a car full of people and luggage in the middle of a very hot afternoon. Ronnie, the manager, helped us in contacting the car company and then by letting us sit inside while we waited. He was so kind and generous and the Castle looked like such a fabulous place that we would recommend it most whole heartedly and will certainly stay here when we visit Scotland next.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Love15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Barcaldine Castle is a great old castle residence, built by Sir Duncan Campbell in 1609 - it's the real deal as an old castle. It's about 15 minutes outside of Oban, sort of in the countryside. The owner has updated the rooms to first rate spec, very comfortable beds, great bedding, excellent sizable bathrooms with first rate fixtures and bath products. Our room had a TV and DVD, and the castle had a small but good video library. Upon arrival, the room had a tray of complementary nibbles, water, lemonade, tea, etc., though no G&T, whisky, or sherry on hand. Ronnie and Liz are very able innkeepers, friendly and accommodating, and run a tight ship, including a good breakfast. As of this writing, summer 2014, Barcaldine Castle is building a cottage to double the staff, and they appear to continue to invest into improving the property, so Barcaldine Castle is sure to continue to improve to a really first rate place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank douglasrathbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benderloch
1.6 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
7.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
428 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
508 reviews
4.0 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
461 reviews
14.6 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcaldine Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcaldine Castle

Property: Barcaldine Castle
Address: Benderloch | By Oban, Benderloch PA37 1SA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Benderloch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Benderloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcaldine Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcaldine Castle offers something truly beautiful. A Scottish Castle set on the shores of Loch Creran with breathtaking views of the snow-capped mountains of Glencoe in early Spring to the golden colours of Autumn - a memorable experience awaits you.The sumptuous interiors are carefully designed to encourage our guests to immerse themselves in the atmosphere of relaxation. Unobtrusive and calm, we aim to make your stay as memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcaldine Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcaldine Castle Hotel Benderloch
Barcaldine Castle Benderloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing