We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benderloch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“stunning place”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is a wonderful traditional Scottish Spa hotel in a stunning setting by the river in Oban. We arrived in time for afternoon tea on the lawn, which was served in a silver tea service, accompanied by a bag piper playing.
Our room was large and spacious with a modern feel but with traditional Scottish tweed sofas in pinks to match the blinds and cushions. The hallway was spectacular but cosy with a roaring log fire and sofas. The restaurant food was the best of modern cuisine, served by waiters with impeccable service who's attention to detail included putting the plates down simultaneously.
The swimming pool was spacious and the Spa treatments good. We had a facial, and massage which made me so relaxed I fell asleep in the middle of it. Afterwards we sat in a resting room on chaise lounges and were served apricot sorbet and given jugs of iced lemon water to drink. Sheer luxury.
The surrounding area was stunning, peaceful and dramatic. For the first time in my life I wished I could play golf so i could soak up the scenery!
If you want to experience the best Scotland has to offer then this place is well worth the money.
It's best enjoyed by couples looking for a romantic getaway. And is also dog friendly and has cottages you can stay in as an alternative to the main house.

Room Tip: Try asking for our room - the Jura.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyB094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth0110, Marketing & Sales Assistant at Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Thank you for your kind words about Eriska which I have already passed onto our team. We are glad that you have had such a good Eriska Experience and do hope that you will come back and visit us in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    57
    27
    13
    11
See reviews for
81
292
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham UK
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Booked three nights in advance at a suite for a luxury romantic break with my wife. Took advantage of the pre-paid internet rate. Sadly two weeks before travel my father-in-law fell seriously ill and during the week prior he passed away. I spoke to the hotel and emailed them the details, hoping that we could either cancel or possibly change the date of travel. Very unsympathetically we were advised that neither was possible and that we should "claim on your travel insurance".
We won't be re-booking.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
15 Thank Pj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth0110, Marketing & Sales Assistant at Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
This potential guest booked our lowest possible rate, which is offered on a pre-paid and non-refundable basis, similar to attractively priced airline fares. We are completely explicit in our terms & conditions, and directly advise guests who have booked this rate to ensure they have taken our trip cancellation insurance independently, as a refund will not be possible. While we have every personal sympathy for someone dealing with the death of a family member, given our remote location and intimate 23-bedroom size, it is simply not generally possible for us to resell a cancelled room within 2 weeks of arrival. As a business employing 40 staff to provide a high level of luxury service, we simply cannot absorb that type of unrecoverable loss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterarder
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

A treat for my stressed out husband he is a chef so we needed somewhere with good food, we were not disappointed. Chose the spa package for 2 night which included dinner, bed, breeakfast, morning coffee, afternoon tea, 2 treatments and a spa suite with its own hot tub.
The accomodations was great, very comfortable with a huge bed, luxury bathroom and comfy lounge.
The spa was very nice and the staff very friendly and professional as we do not really do spas we were a little intimidated but put at ease very quickly and could have went back for more. The pool is a joy.
The dining experiance was great, quite formal but what you would expect from this class of establishment, the food very tasty, beautifully presented and any requests were met without any problem.
The island is a tranquil haven of Scottish nature with stunning views and with various outdoor persuits you could be as active as you dared.
Need to go back next year to challenge my hubby in the new sports hall at badminton.
Well done to all, we loved every minute!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margodeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

This is our 4th trip to the hotel & it didn't disappoint! It is a yearly eagerly awaited weekend & just ticks all the boxes! The staff are wonderful-nothing is too much bother & food & rooms are excellent.
Two downsides-----
It ruining going anywhere else & having to return home at the end of our three nights!!
Keep doing what you're doing-it's spot on!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We highly recommend this great hotel. Our trip was a really great experience through and through. The food is of a very high quality and the service would make michel roux proud. Rooms excellent and plenty of activities. It's quite remote but in a good way. Would have been nice to see more Scottish local staff but maybe they don't want the jobs. The staff they do have are excellent and the owner and his family are Scottish. The whiskeys (they do a tasting experience) decor and scenery are every bit Scottish. So are the badgers who come for supper most nights. I would go back again and again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mysteryeater14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Having stayed at this hotel many times before, we took the plunge of taking one of our best friends who is used to superb dining, first class service & the most opulent of settings (worldwide)to Eriska. This stay not only matched, but exceeded our expectations, thank you to Beppo & his team who obviously work extremely hard at making their guests feel the most special. Where to begin ? So difficult, suffice to say we ALL want to come back & the sooner the better.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candiegirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks, UK
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

This was my 3rd visit to this hotel, but my wifes first and I was pleased that she liked it as much as I do.

We stayed in Coll, which is a spacious room with an enormous bed, separate sitting area with sofa, armchair and a TV (not much used on our visit) and a large separate dressing room and bathroom. The views over the front lawn to the Morvern hills were spectacular. The room was nicely decorated in a style appropriate to the house, was very comfortable and you dont really need to bring any reading material yourself, since the house is stuffed with books for guests to borrow - in the bar, on the landings, and in the bedrooms. You really do feel like a house-guest, rather than a customer in a hotel.

The food is exquisite - 4 courses including cheese - and although the menu is short, there is always one meat, one fish and one vegetarian option for each main course. The food is locally-sourced for the most part and is beautifully cooked and presented; it was a culinary adventure to work your way around the plate trying the different accompaniments to the central ingredient, each prepared with great skill and lightness of touch. I dont think they could add too many more menu options without compromising on the freshness of the ingredients or throwing away vast quantities of food, which would be a shame.

I found the quantities of food served more than sufficient, and after an Eriska breakfast, a 2-hour walk round the island, a long swim in the pool, a sauna, a session in the steam room and a massage, I still didnt feel remotely peckish until 5pm, when greed, rather than hunger, got the better of us and we succumbed to the offer of afternoon tea.

The Spa complex has been re-done in recent years and is impeccable, and the spa staff were very friendly and attentive.

The service is uniformally excellent - attentive but discreet and friendly - I note some reviewers have taken issue with the number of non-scottish staff but the luxury hotel business is a very international one and talented youngsters will always seek to travel to broaden their experience, a number of Eriskas non-Scottish staff have been there for at least 4 years now (maybe longer - I first visited in 2006) and modern employment law makes it illegal to discriminate on grounds of nationality so, even if you did want to transform a lovely Scottish hotel into a Brigadoon Experience, I dont think the law would allow you to do that. There are still plenty of Scottish staff there to give you the benefit of their local knowledge.

All in all, this is a lovely spot to spend some time relaxing, eating well, and curling up by the log fires with a good book. If you have the energy, the surrounding countryside is incredibly beautiful and well worth exploring.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoolLounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benderloch
1.4 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
618 reviews
24.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,431 reviews
16.0 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
139 reviews
8.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,748 reviews
5.6 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island

Property: Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
Address: Isle of Eriska | Isle of Eriska, Benderloch PA37 1SD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Benderloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benderloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Golf is situated on its own island on the west coast of Scotland connected to the mainland by a small, vehicle bridge. Only 2 hours drive from Glasgow and 10 minutes from Oban, it offers the perfect location to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Eriska Hotel, Spa And Golf
Isle Of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Golf Hotel Benderloch
Isle Of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island Benderloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing