We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
Nearby Hotels
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Muthu Alexandra Hotel(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
381
72
33
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
72
33
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscheese trolleygolf coursemichelin starafternoon teahot tubtasting menudeck restaurantmain buildingcheese boardhalibuthilltop reservebig housedeluxe roomboth nightslarge bathroomamuse boucheindoor sports
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 514 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Excellent staff and a most enjoyable experience. Very good food and a delightful setting.
I do wonder why the entire length of the drive is lined with unattractive sharp stones which cannot serve any purpose except to damage vehicles.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alastair26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel and feel that whilst the room, the staff and overall ambience are all good, the experiences we had in the dining room were very definately BAD.
On the first night our wine was not chilled when brought to the table, which the hotel manageress agreed, and so she put it in a bucket of ice. The starter course then arrived with the wine still not chilled so we sent it back until the wine was chilled; which eventually appeared and the starters were brought back (cold). When the main course arrived plated and in my opinion a small portion, however I noticed one of the other tables being served veg/potatoes with their main course, When I asked why we were not given the same I was told that one had to ask for this, and since we were not offered this we had not ordered it.

We determined to try again on the second night and to be fair the head waitress/manageress said for us to order our wine well in advance to give them a chance to chill it. My wife is a pescatarian, so although she ordered the halibut asked that it be served without the bacon accompaniment. The chilled wine duly arrived at the table however after we said we would wait a few minutes while we finished what we had, no-one came back to pour it. When we eventually asked for it to be poured we were not asked to try it- it was just poured into the glass. My wife's halibut arrived and, yes, with the bacon. My own main course had been served so we ended up on this night dining seperately at the same table.

Ugly the island is not- a lovaly tranquil place-just a shame the dining experience is not the same. That part of the visit is certainly not what one would expect from a hotel of this standing

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bepp, Owner at Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to highlight our short comings during your recent stay. Eriska has now been operating for nearly 40 years and throughout that time we have tried to continually evolve and change to meet our clients needs and only by listening and reacting do we believe that we can insure we improve and deliver our guests expectations. Therefore your feedback and comments are invaluable and will be taken on board. However there are a couple of points I would like to raise in our defence.

Firstly you ordered your wine directly before your meal and we keep all our white wines at a temperature of 7' had we been aware that you preferred your wine more chilled we would have endeavored- as we did on the second evening- to serve it at your preferred temperature.

Secondly the offer of vegetables is made in writing on the menu asking that should guests wish additional vegetables they should request them hence the reason some guest had and other did not, and finally on the second evening your wife specifically asked for her dish to be served "without bacon", however we were not aware that she was pescatarian until you mentioned it directly to myself- in conversation- and I immediately stopped the dish being served and had it returned to the kitchen to be recooked without any meat on the dish. We did offer to remove your main course and reserve it later and explained that your wifes dish would be 4 minutes but you asked for it to be left. I am sorry you felt that your wife and you did not dine together but we did not set out for this to be the case.

Clearly your experience tainted your view of Eriska and for that we are sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The place is special by all means: secluded, exclusive and luxurious but at the same time cosy and intimate. We felt like home, staff was very nice without being too friendly, the owner has a true passion for his hotel and the family run atmosphere takes you back centuries ago when people had lots of guests come to their castles and enjoy good dining, wine and relaxation.
It may seem expensive but it is worth every penny and overall it is better value for money than other 5* ranked hotels in Scotland. The food could've been better but, again, at UK standards it was quite good! We'll mostly remember the numerous fire places lit on demand, the silent night we enjoyed, the jacuzzi after running a 7k under poring rain and the time the owner spent with us discussing our potential wedding venue in Eriska. We can't make a decision yet as our "venue tour" is not yet over but whatever the decision on the wedding we will come back!!

Room Tip: Room "Shuna" was quiet and enjoyed a nice view on the garden.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jofisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
UK
3
Reviewed 7 May 2013

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Our family has visited the Isle of Eriska six times, and we've loved the experience every time. Not only is the hotel beautiful and very relaxing, but the trails all over the island are so much fun to explore. Badgers visit the library steps every night, and herons nest at the far end of the island. The food is delicious, and the afternoon tea includes wonderful treats. The beds are very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with young children, consider booking the cottage as a family. We did this once when our son was a baby, and it worked beautifully for us and the hotel, which provided a babysitter.
Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Paige W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews