We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location, not as secluded as photo' suggest.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Benderloch, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kenneth W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brochure very missleading”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
4
people found this review helpful

Very large boat belonging to owner blocking view of the loch,bed starts as a double and ends as a single.chipped plates, filthy oven trays, slippery steps when wet,shed offered for storage was damp and full of spiders,property smaller than pictured, kitchen has no storage space,human hairs in the draws,tea and coffee stains down the draws and on the ends of the sofa.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie O
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slightly misleading”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This property is small, but that is clear from the photos. It is very well set out and the bed was comfy. Could have done with more pots than the ones supplied, as we had to wash up every time we wanted a drink.
The parking is across the road, which wasn't a major problem, until it came to packing the car to come home in the pouring rain.
There is a quarry a few miles down the road, so even though the property is off the beaten track, we did have lorries thundering past the cottage from 5.30am.
There is a jetty and a slipway, which is why we booked it, so we could use our dinghy. However, the slipway is currently occupied by the owners large boat, which he is working on, so the slipway can't be used. This was a disappointment, as although the jetty can still be used once the boat is in the water, we did have to manhandle our boat over the wall to get it in. The owner was very kind, and did offer to help, but was away half of the week.
Also, the owners boat on the slipway did impede the view from the sitting area in the cottage.
The position of this property on the edge of the loch is fabulous, but the issues listed above did affect our enjoyment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice T
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location, not as secluded as photo' suggest.”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from our time at Dundonald Landing in May 2017.
Previous holidays have been spent in secluded and isolated cottages which is why we were drawn to Dubndonald Landing. The photo' seemed to offer an ideal location, privacy and a place to relax and forget about the world.
Unfortunately the chalet is only a few feet away from the single track road which has HGV' and Quarry vehicles rumbling down at quite a fair pace which spoils the tranquillity and would worry me if I had my dog with me.
There are also houses all along the road to the back of the chalet and to the right of the chalet. The owners house is behind the chalet on the opposite side of the road. The photo' do not show it' location accurately, nor do they include the owner' boat which now spoils the ambience and the view that other' have found absolutely stunning and seem to have had a peaceful and private time.
As stated the view is spoilt by the owner' boat which requires work doing to it which means the owner and others need access to it, which, again, means any thought of privacy is lost as you are never sure when someone may arrive, or the owner' caretaker who was busy painting the fence when we were there - in addition to the neighbour who is allowed to use the owner' jetty to land his craft.
The car park is on the opposite side of the road which we didn't find too much of a problem.
We thought a Visitor' book would be a good idea as the cottages we have stayed in have all had such a book which we have found useful in terms of suggestions where to visit/what to see as well as telling you what wildlife is about to look out for. With that in mind we had a an American Mink which arrived daily to be fed, as did a swan - we also fed the crabs which were easily seen in the clear waters...we had regular trips to Tesco (Oban) to buy food for every one :)
We did find it surprising that there is no life saver despite being right on the water - all other cottages we have stayed in which have been near the water have had this.
We also felt a welcome pack would be helpful - although there are leaflets as to what you can do, but a welcome pack feels more personal and usually has emergency numbers etc on - particularly useful for foreign visitors.
And, just like another review, we have always arrived and have found milk and biscuits left for us - at Christmas there is usually milk, a bottle of wine and lovely home cooked scones or cake - which we feel is a very thoughtful touch that is missing at Dundonald Landing.
Unfortunately the TV lost its signal on day 3 - we did not highlight this to the owner as we had downloaded films to our computer so this did not affect us and feel sure had we highlighted this the owner would have done his best to rectify the matter. There are about 8/9 DVD' supplied but if this is your only form of entertainment when you return after a day' exploring this would not be sufficient.
Much like another review we would have preferred a full bed rather than one cut to allow more access, but we found the bed comfortable, but agree, it is hard.
We felt that the sofa should be on the other wall so that you have a better view - particularly as the view you have where it is currently situated is obliterated by the owners huge boat.
The owner is very friendly, as is his caretaker and his neighbour...the location is stunning....we loved seeing and feeding the American Mink and the swan and enjoyed sitting out when the weather allowed..we just expected privacy and seclusion which while it did not spoil our time it did detract from the overall experience.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSM51
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Bit mislead. ”
Reviewed 11 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Booked this as a late availability break ( but not discounted) that allowed dogs. Was attracted by the words "secluded" and "terrific views" needing a break from the rat race.
The cabin is within feet of a single track road which runs directly behind the cabin where the local bus and a lot of construction traffic was running throughout our stay, inc early mornings. ( Road 6 ~8 feet from bed head!)
The owner of the cabin has now berthed his large 'Naval looking' boat on the jetty which totally obscures the once panoramic view from the patio doors. This is going to be a permanent feature for some time whilst it is fitted out at weekends by owner and friend, which is also a bit of an invasion of privacy as its so close. The tethering ropes, cables and hoses pass around the area of the cabin !
You have to park your car the opposite side of the road to the cabin and make several trips to unload/load it, which we did in the pouring rain.
The property is fenced but there is a big gap under the double gates where a dog could get out onto the road, so our dog had to stay tethered between walks when outside as he would have gone to explore !.
Didn't have high expectations, but cabin does need maintenance as :- kitchen lights did not work (owner provided small lamp to cook by inlieu) and bed space/dining space lights overheated after about 10 mins and left us eating in the dark ( owner about to change) shower extract fan does not work leading to very steamy cabin each morning, cooker supply was repaired the day after we arrived and when had no cooking facilities on first night the owner graciously cooked our food for us.
Bed is 'unique' being a piece of memory foam-- double bed size at the top and tapering towards the foot to allow space for the small table and chairs. Located against the sloping roof its not possible to sit up on one side of the bed. Memory foam is not that comfortable in comparison to a sprung mattress. Bed head is opposite to fridge in kitchen cupboard!
Everything is that close you can turn on kettle when in bed!
Stayed in a few wooden cabins and they have all had smoke alarms, but none fitted here!
Although 'allows dogs' there is a patronising notice stating "not to allow dogs on settee or bed and to take all dog hair home with you! "
Found that the general area is not that dog friendly with few places allowing dogs in, Oyster Bar at Connel Ferry and Creagan Inn at Apen allowed dogs in and had good food. Benderloch beach is 10 mins in a car, then 10 min walk but a pebble beach on one side leading to sandy beach otherside of Bay..

Take dog away every spring and usually find facilities are well maintained and as described, but not in this instance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moors_201...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent Chalet at Brilliant Location”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Dundonald Landing is an excellent chalet located on the shores of Loch Etive. The views from the chalet across the loch were magnificent and watching the wildlife was a treat. The location is absolutely brilliant to use either as a base to tour the highlands or stay more local because there is so much to do or see in nearby Oban and the immediate surrounding area. Whether you want to visit a castle, take a trip to the Isle of Mull, take a wildlife tour, visit the Whisky Distillery or just chill out on the lochside in the evening with a glass of wine this is a great place to visit.

The chalet itself, although on the small side, has everything you need. The grounds were perfect for our labrador puppy to roam freely. The owners were very friendly and when we had a small problem they immediately sorted it.

Nearby is a wonderful beach at Benderloch which was great for our puppy. Each morning we took him to this fairly secluded beach and he had a fantastic time.

Dundonald Landing is a genuine retreat and we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed a relaxing retreat at Dundonald Landing, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. It sounds like you had a fun filled holiday, taking in all that the area had to offer - and it sounds like there was something for everyone there! We hope you return for another holiday soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dogmother...
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Charming Retreat”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed here over Christmas and had a lovely stay. The chalet is warm and cosy and in a fabulous location, even though the weather was extremely stormy! We slept really well and enjoyed the fact we were overlooking Loch Etive and had lovely views of the mountains too. We enjoyed great walks nearby, We revisited Port Appin where we stayed in September and also Glencoe. We enjoyed Christmas dinner at the nearby Hawthorn Restaurant which is excellent. Dundonald Landing is a great place to relax and explore the stunning scenery with your dog. We would happily return anytime of year to enjoy it's lovely facilities.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share such a thoroughly lovely review with us, we are so pleased that you had a great holiday! It is wonderful that you didn't let the weather stop you from getting out and about to enjoy the area, and I bet your dog loved every minute of it! We certainly hope that you come back again soon, you are welcome any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra G
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Location Location Location, it was perfect. The views were amazing and you have a feeling of peace and tranquility. Not too far away was the beach and some great scenic walks around Benderloch. We were lucky we had great weather on our week and indeed like an earlier reviewer we came home looking relaxed and tanned. I do have a couple of gripes though, and one of them could have easily ruined our stay if it were not that we are a hardy pair and compromised our sleeping arrangements. The bed has been 'cut to shape' with the bottom right hand corner lopped off to fit it into the tiny tiny space between us and the kitchen, i would have rather struggled with a smaller walkway and had a proper full size adult bed that we could both comfortably sleep in. to accommodate this customisation the owners had used some sort of 'memory foam' as a mattress which was incredibly hard and uncomfortable. After a few nights i was missing my bed at home and indeed had to sleep on the settee in order to get a diecent nights sleep. There is room for improvement and more attention is needed for storage, in such a 'tiny' space you must utilise everywhere but there was precious little and we ended up keeping everything in our cases. there is a wet room which opens up directly to the kitchen and its deadly as there are no bathmats so again we had to compromise and lay down kitchen roll before we went into the shower or made sure we wore flip flops. a couple of personal touches would have been nice also, like 'welcome' information, there was nothing and it took an age to work out the oven, we found the wifi password on a post it note crumpled up in the drawer. and i dont think i have ever stayed anywhere like this were there hasnt been at least a pint of milk and a few teabags on arrival, like i saw a few touches would make all the difference but overall the views and the location would sell the place to anyone.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing