We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bee hotel”
Review of The Bee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bee Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Abergele B&B and Inns
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
“bee hotel”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Period hotel, in centre of town. Easy to find.Somewhat dated. Needs decorating.
Welcoming and friendly but could do with a few more staff as the "guvnor" is virtually a one man band. How he manages to stay so cheerful is one of life's mysteries.
Limited menu but food well cooked and tasty.
Rooms basic but comfortable.
Make sure when booking in about payment. Some online booking sites take your card details and give you the impression they have forwarded payment but haven't.
Good value. Would go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms at front are "quieter". Parking better than at first looks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    14
    10
    11
    8
See reviews for
8
20
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Nothing wrong with the room (quite nice actually) and helpful staff.

Place itself probably needs a bit of renovation, but so what? Recommended if you just need somewhere quite basic. No complaints and would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Stopped here for work commitments its a tired run down place our first night caused problems straight away our room was freezing the central heating wasn't working & the window had no casement stays on so it was constantly ajar there was also a damp fusty smell we complained and a friendly & sympathetic girl who seemed to be doing everything moved us to another room which was a family room slightly warmer the best things in the rooms was the showers same damp fusty we didn't have breakfast due to it not starting till 8.30am the manager left us cereal etc but after going downstairs & about breaking our necks as the place was in complete darkness at 7am I was put off by a particularly dirty bowl I was about to use needless to say I won't be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reddevil81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abergele hotels

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Felt so sorry for the manager. Obviously under a lot of stress, but the place needs one or two more staff and a good lick of paint. Manager constantly chasing his tail ( I found his keys left outside in the smoking area but when I returned them to him asking if they were his, he just said yes and rushed back to the bar never even said thank you vearing in mind I could have helped myself to stuff had I been so inclined). I would say the brewery need to support him much more before he has a breakdown. Nice man doing his best. For example:
It was a last minute booking therefore I telephoned to book but manager was serving behind the bar and just booked me in without discussing price or what I was paying for which meant I had to rely on the website for info. Wasn't expecting to stay over so needed to use credit card. Website stated accepted Mastercard but they didn't have the facility when I came to book out which caused me a few difficulteis. That's not the manager's fault and he could do without that sort of error to deal with.
However, for the price, apart from the pervading smell of damp it was okay. Compared to similarly priced establishments good service from the girls. reasonable breakfast but wouldn't go back as it is.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlynHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Basic accomodation, friendly staff, rooms okay, top covers on bed dirty but actual bedding smelt clean, very accomodating staff though nothing too much trouble. Probably okay for lads night out but i think the ladies would be a bit pickier.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Fantastic middle of the road really nice owner and staff nothing to much trouble made very welcome will defiantly return and tell others x
Room basic food great who needs a shower cap ?
Harry and Bruce great hosts x

Room Tip: Don't miss the Saturday night disco. Not for the faint hearted !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

While it was a central location the hotel was very basic. The bed, the bathroom etc was not clean at all, the milk you go with the room was year out of date. It is next to a chuch and the bells rang every hour and half hour, though the night. People were lovely though.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma1073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergele
4.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
361 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
584 reviews
4.7 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
507 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
618 reviews
5.6 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bee Hotel

Property: The Bee Hotel
Address: 44 Market Street, Abergele LL22 7AA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Abergele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Abergele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bee Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bee Hotel Abergele, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing