We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous and tranquil”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Meysydd derw

cover (enjoy the sunset on the decking)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
cover (enjoy the sunset on the decking)
The cabin The cabin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
cover (enjoy the sunset on the decking)
The cabin
The cabin
Night time at the cabin
A winter view towards snowdonia
beautiful landscaped garden
Walk in shower
Walk in shower
Bedroom 1
The island looking across the land
The island looking south
The cabin from the mowed lawn
the nearby Gwyrch castle
The flower bed island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Abergele, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
phillip c
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

ok where to start .
first off we enjoyed the holiday when not at the log cabin , and picked this place based on trip adviser reviews..
make sure you read all the reviews because even though some people give it 4 to 5 rating they still say most of the things I say ..
firstly the grass was over grown every where on the property.
secondly everything in the log cabin was either broken or not very well made ..the floor is very uneven and moves when you walk on it,
the cupboards have ill fitting doors .dish washers is broken..oven top cracked . sink is way to low ..beds are very badly made , the matress hangs over the bed frame..
very noisy with the main road just metres from the cabin..
if you pay around £20 a night its ok value ......
PLEASE BE AWARE THEY HAVE A DISCLAIMER SAYING IF YOU HAVE A ACCIDENT AT THIS PROPERTY THEY ARE NOT LIABLE ..AND THE DECKING IS SO BADLY MADE YOU COULD FALL,, but if you do hurt yourself call a solicitor they will make sure your looked after....also they have a video on you tube place looks ok ,, I also made a video of the place just in case , I will put that on youtube ,,,

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
Hi Phil, thankyou for your review, we take all reviews seriously as we value our reputation and the quality of the accommodation we provide.

You stayed at the cabin for a whole week and never contacted us once about your concerns, we wish you had as we have a rapid response policy and like to make our guests feel at home and happy with their stay. it seems this review is in complete contradiction to the 4/5 grading we current have, however hopefully I can satisfy all of your points here.

1. The grass is mowed to a lawn for half an acre and the other half is left natural to match the countryside setting and the Snowdonia national park, it suits most guests.
2. The Kitchen - we have now uploaded a photo of it so people can judge for themselves. it's a two year old white gloss slab kitchen in good condition with a Belfast sink on a belfast sink unit, the two doors that were slightly out of line have been adjusted
3. The beds comes down to personal posture and taste - again they seem to be fine for everyone before your comments.
4. Everything works in the cabin, so this is not factually correct, the dishwasher had a missing on /off button and the hob has a crack on the back right corner. A new one is on order.
5. The floor has been renewed since your stay as admittedly it used to be creaky.
6. The road is a quiet road, in a recent survey one car every one and half minutes passes by in the day and falls silent after 6pm, it is classed as a low usage rd.
7. The two loose decking boards have now been replaced, as you pointed out they were potentially dangerous.

Thanks again for your review, I would suggest people read the other reviews to get a true picture and view the YouTube video





Sent from my iPhone
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous and tranquil”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the cabin for 4 nights from the 23rd of June and I have to say we had a great time. The cabin stands alone in a large field with wonderful views and peaceful surroundings with two farms nearby. The cabin is just off the A548 which gives it excellent accessibility to the whole of north wales and snowdonia which we toured everyday. The accomodation offers a great peaceful retreat and real privacy.

We utilised the Wifi which we found essential as mobile coverage was not very good in the area, the cabin itself is cosy and well kept with a rural feel to it.

We have stayed in other places nearby but we have never had such peace and privacy before, I would recommend it to anyone seeking tranquility.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRSSKP
Derby
1 review
“Cute Cabin!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a lovely little break and were pleased with the cabin. It was clean and nicely decorated as described. It wasn't quite the tranquil location we were hoping for due to it being located on a busy road but we soon got used to it and it didn't bother us. Our son loved the outdoor space and trampoline and had a great time. My only criticism is the squeaky floor, it's a bit annoying as it wakes you up if someone walks on it and it's a little broken in places. It would have been nice to have a TV that works too. Overall this is a cute cabin and it acted as a good base for exploring the surrounding areas of North Wales!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2014
Many thanks for your 4/5 reviews , since your stay we have had Freesat tv installed and replaced the squeaky floor.
The road leading to the cabin is classed as the scenic route to Snowdonia and is an area of outstanding natural beauty. There is virtually no traffic after 6pm and very little by day we feel however that the road is part of the cabins appeal as it provides excellent links to everything tourists want to see. Thanks again Patricia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary B
1 review
“lovely location”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The cabin is ideally situated for a relaxed, country break. The cabin is cosy however it would benefit from some careful diy and some garden tlc.which is a pity as the decor etc . is very tasteful. The floor is unstable and the kitchen needs attention, as cupboards and drawers do not fit properly. The dishwasher instructions said to start it using a pen as the switch was faulty, and the oven is not fixed in. Also in the bathroom, wall tiles were loose. The cabin is extremely well equipped and the owners were very helpful when we had a problem with the Internet connection. The pond dining area is a lovely romantic idea, however it was let down by the surrounding and grass approach area
needing cutting. If these things were corrected, this cabin would be perfect . I would recommend this to a friend if they check niggles have Ben corrected

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: poor fixtures
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2014
Hi Mary, thanks for your 4 out of 5 review, i am glad you enjoyed your stay. We have now renewed the floor for a second time in the kitchen and the one kitchen cupboard door under the belfast sink that was slightly out of line has now been levelled. The pond and island area are kept as natural as possible to encourage a natural environment and a pond area that fits in with the surroundings, thus we only mow a single track around the pond for people to access the island, we feel this is the right decision for nature and guests, it comes down to opinion. We still believe Meysydd Derw is a unique location and experience in that it offers 1.2 acres of land for the sole use of the occupant. Many thanks again for your stay and helpful comments

Patricia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Just back from what I can only describe as one of the most relaxing breaks I have ever had. Fantastic setting. The cabin is located on a lovely piece of land away from the holiday crowds but still within easy access to most towns and with fantastic views. There is a small pond with decking leading out into the middle with table and chairs...lovely to sit round in the evening. The cabin itself is well decorated, very clean and has all the facilities you would have in your own home. Extremely comfortable and watching the sun go down in the evening, in the garden with a glass of bubbly was heaven. Would highly recommend a stay here and will definitely be booking again soon. :):)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing :)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicola h
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely weekend”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Stayed at the cabin with a friend and our 2 girls aged 9 and 8. Lovely place and easy to find. Patricia was very helpful and quick in responding to queries before we arrived. The location was ideal and spent a lovely sunny day in Llandudno (only 20 mins drive) on the Saturday. The girls loved the grounds and had fun exploring and on the trampoline. Evenings were lovely and peaceful with the chiminea burning. Only one disappointment was BBC 1 lost signal for the England game on the Saturday night, however i'm sure this was not the fault of the owners. Would definitely stay again, Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely location. Clean and tidy.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Lovely location and the accomodation was clean and tidy. However we did not have TV reception for most evenings and my husband had to keep going outside to re-direct the TV aerial as the wind kept moving it. After a tiring day out exploring the beautiful countryside....we were both tired and all we wanted to do was relax......so it was a spoiler for us. Sorry :( Overall condition was a bit rickety and marked down facilities and amenities due to TV, but Shaun was very helpful when we contacted him.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The fact that the TV did not work
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Many thanks for your review Jane and apart from the poor TV reception im glad you enjoy your stay. We pride ourselves on cleanliness so again many thanks for your appreciation of that, the cabin is a bit rustic in character but we feel the bright modern decor and look of the place does make for a homely feel. We have uploaded a youtube video for "Meysydd Derw" so people can judge the interior for themselves. We do offer hi-speed WIFI which can enable free worldwide TV programmes and sport on websites such as Iplayer, 4OD and Feed2 which you would possibly have benefited from if you had chose to use it with a device or laptop. However to address the TV issue we have arranged for a TV engineer to look at the aerial and tuning so the freeview should get all channels in future. Thanks again

Patricia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing