We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kinmel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kinmel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abergele
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stopped here for a fill week and found it to be very good. Staff were friendly and efficient. Room(premium) nice clean and modern décor and comfy bed. It was clean and tidy and generally well maintained though slight moulding to the mastic in the shower could do with attention. TV was fine and free Wifi worked in the room with reasonable speed. Food is excellent and not too pricey. Location is lovely nice and quiet but handy for the coast and local area. The leisure facilities included - a gym with weight machines, two of each Cardio machine (treadmill, rowing,cycles and steppers), Pool with steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. The facilities are due for refurbishment, the steam room wasn't operational by the looks of things but the pool was clean and everything worked fine. Just the fabric and décor are in need of attention (all lockers in the changing rooms were broken or bashed. Will be going back next year though and looking forward to seeing the planned improvements.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DADDYONTHEROAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    142
    51
    40
    26
See reviews for
102
228
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We came to Kinmel Manor for a 2 night stay for a wedding, it was a fantastic place to stay. The gardens are lovely to sit in and are well maintained.They was alot of family staying and we was all treated well by friendly and helpful staff especially Adrian and Tom. The rooms were all spotless and comfortable and had everything you needed. The food was good especially the full english breakfast which you help yourself to in the morning. We would go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We came to stay at Kinmel Manor for 1 night with our 2 children. We had an absolutely fantastic time. The room was beautiful, large and clean. The leisure facilities are soon to be refurbished but we enjoyed having the pool and Jacuzzi to ourselves. Our evening meal and breakfast were both first class and the staff were helpful and accommodating. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deanlucy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Another stay in Kinmel, another pleasant experience.
This time in Room 51, huge room very well appoitned, light and airy.
Check in fast and efficient as was check out.
All staff very friendly and helpful,
Didn't eat in restaurant in evening but menu looked very interesting,
Breakfast was fine, help yourself, all typical items for "Full English Breakfast", with scramled egg offered, but no problem to get fried eggs if you ask for them.
This is a very quite hotel as it is off the main road and a long drive way with plenty of free parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torbay
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

My wife and I, along with 2 Family members, stayed at this hotel for 2 nights to attend a Family funeral in Old Conway.
The location was perfect, being set back from the busy road in peaceful countryside with farm land surroundings.
Our rooms were spotlessly clean and seemed newly decorated. Although some areas of the hotel did seem 'tired' in appearance, our rooms were certainly of a high standard .. along with the en suite bathrooms.

We had to dine in the brasserie on our first evening as the main restaurant was closed to entertain a coach party of Germans!
Although the menu was extensive and looked promising - sadly it failed to deliver.
Service was not good as the lady serving behind the bar was also doubling up as order taker & waitress, so although she did her best .....!

We firstly had to move two tables together and relay them ourselves to allow all 4 of us to sit together. When our starters arrived, both leek & potato soups had to be returned as they had a burnt flavour to them - these were replaced with a vegetable/butternut soup which was fine.
Presentation of the main course was poor with the food being somewhat overcooked. My wife and I had risotto which was 'gluey' to say the least and the locally made steak pie was very close to being cremated.
We passed on the sweets and felt that the whole meal was very overpriced for what we had .. costing over £120 to include a bottle of house red wine.

Maybe the chef/staff were hard pushed to fulfill the orders of a full coach party of Germans plus other residents - but provision should have been made for this as all bookings were obviously made in advance.
Comparing the value of this meal to the one we had the following night at Maenan Abbey, which cost half the price ... there is no comparison!!
We certainly would not have dined there on our second night.

Breakfast was, however, okay on both mornings with everything being freshly prepared to order - but we all felt very let down by the quality and standard of the evening meal which reflected badly on our overall opinion of this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 25 & 26 were quiet & clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank One_Devonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I got married here in August 2012. Our wedding day ran so smoothly. Thank you too all the staff. The kinmel manor is value for money with outstanding service. We had a 3 course menu for the wedding buffet and a spread later on in the evening. They adapted throughout the day to meet our needs. They truly made mine and my husbands wedding a perfect day.
Our room was gorgeous, with a lovely breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Make sure you upgrade the rooms are gorgeous :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parry1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

beautiful location. The room was comfortable and clean, very comfortable bed, the food was very good and the staff friendly and attentive. Considering that on both occasions I stayed here with a coach party, a wedding was going on, and we were still given full attention and great food. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: rooms to the far left will be quieter if a wedding party are in residence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddyanne190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergele
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
4.5 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
15.7 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
16.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinmel

Property: The Kinmel
Address: St. George Road, Abergele LL22 9AS, Wales (Formerly Kinmel Manor)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Abergele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abergele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kinmel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kinmel Hotel & Kinspa is a luxury Spa Hotel set in the beautiful Welsh countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kinmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinmel Manor Hotel Abergele
The Kinmel Abergele, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing