We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kinmel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kinmel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abergele
Certificate of Excellence
wiltshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

I stayed at the Kinmel Manor for two weeks during February 2010, along with two work colleagues (.V.O.S.A. ) We all found the hotel to be excellent for our needs. The staff were very friendly and courteous. The food was excellent and the chefs went out of their way to cook meals of our choice. The rooms were clean and tidy and serviced every day.
In fact, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the customer service was also excellent. I would have no hesitation in reccomending this hotel to somebody else, as I enjoyed my stay there and will visit again for a short break.
There are excellent swimming and fitness facilities available free.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilts_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    142
    51
    40
    26
See reviews for
102
228
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

After staying at the kinmel manor hotel for over 2 weeks to attend the advanced driving course with North Wales police, I must say that the rooms were fantastic, and included heated flooring in the very modern and posh shower areas, an executive stylish living area with a 32” lcd television attached to the wall. What more could you want! The food was also great, plus may I add the chef ‘Andy’ would make anything we requested when ever we asked, and also Jason who was also extremely helpful. Really nice guys with a great sense of humar.All the staff were great and the service also. There patience and tolerance with two unreasonable guests also on the course was amazing to observe.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

After a long travel, my wife and I arrived to this hotel exhausted however immediately cheared by the warm welcome we received from the hotel staff. We were escorted to our room by an young gentleman in good old British manner. The room we stayed in was comfortable. The surroundings of the hotel we especially attractive and allowed for a very nice quiet get-away. We really enjoyed the hikes and the friendliness of the people in the village. This is a typical traditional hotel that I would recommend to anyone who is looking for a comfortable stay at a decent rate. Service was especially excellent. We will definitely go again!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

My girlfriend and I were travelling through the UK towards the end of last summer, Wales was on our "to do list", after a great stay in Liverpool we headed towards Colwyn bay and being the adventuress types came off the A55, as we have found many hidden gems on the back roads in the UK. We wanted to find a snug B&B as we had done in Cornwall. We noticed the sign for the Hotel, which could have done with a lick of paint... but we drove up to find an idyllic hideaway hotel! we were welcomed by the receptionist who breezed through the room options, we picked a superior room. As we were settling the paper work, a youngish gentleman appeared, he offered to take the luggage and showed us to the room. Turned out he was the manager, refused my tip and made us feel very welcome.
Great spacious room, clean and had the sports on the tv! My girlfriend wanted to have a adaptor, the receptionist brought it within a few minutes. We donned our trunks and headed to the pool, had a great swim and sauna. Were were late for dinner, but the chef stayed on and we had one of our better meals of the trip! i'm a sucker for a big fire place. There was a big wedding in full swing next door, the band were actually good! we went through to the bar and the manager introduced us around, good few IPA's later we headed back to the room. The following morning the receptionist helped us out with some attractions and a great ramble up "Moelfre Isaf", cant pronounce it but we conquered it! My girlfriend and I stayed an extra night, she's now my fiancé and we talk about heading to the Kinmel Manor for our wedding! Wales watch out for the American invasion next June 2011!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caliking500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugobinsingh
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

Couldn't fault this hotel at all. I was there for a friend's wedding reception and enjoyed every minute of it! Great location for holding a big event. Enjoyed the friendly staff and dining, as well as making full use of the swimming pool and spa. Great Weekend and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurugobinsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIDLANDS
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2009

Overall experience was horrendous; I would never stay at the Kinmel Manor again. The whole experience was ‘hit and miss’; one night the food would be of a good standard and the next it would be dire. The rooms we were put in initially were horrible – looks like they haven’t been touched since 1970! The gym was absolutely filthy; it wasn’t properly cleaned once in the 3 weeks that I used it – there were dead moths and loads of cobwebs on the windowsills – the place made my skin crawl. The management were rude and argumentative, for example when I told them that my radiator was cold they felt it and argued it was hot; it clearly wasn’t and I was shivering as a result. I would never stay there for leisure purposes and I would refuse to stay there if work tried to use it again. I would steer clear unless you want a stressful break.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsReview_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
red522147, Owner at The Kinmel, responded to this review, 28 December 2009
It is very disappointing to read that your experience wasn't what you were hoping for. As a hotel we make every attempt to appease our guests. This led to our team changing the menus to accommodate your requirements on a daily basis. The evening menu was substantially changed to meet your requirements, without hesitation to adapt to your preferred tastes.
We served breakfast on certain days up to 11.30 as it was more convenient for you to eat at this time.

Considering the points that have been raised with the aspect of the radiators not being hot enough: The response from the guest, that we found slightly alarming was that the radiators should be too hot too touch! We proceeded to check numerous other rooms in order to find one that was to the level of heat that you required.
It has also been the first time that we have been dealt with the unfortunate task of ensuring that evening drinks needed to be settled, upon this response we were informed that the drinks should have been included and therefore refusal to pay led. Very disappointing considering the nature of the business with which you were on.
Overall, we try to accommodate everyone who is staying as best we can. Unfortunately, this hasn't happened on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2009

managed by a horribly rude young man with a argumentative attitude, raised points to which he stated each and every one was not the case and the famous words "NOBODY ELSE HAS HAD A PROBLEM WITH IT" well by the looks of these reviews i beg to differ. bad food, dirty old rooms and facilities. overall avoid or you will be dissapointed.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergele
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
4.5 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
15.7 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
16.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinmel

Property: The Kinmel
Address: St. George Road, Abergele LL22 9AS, Wales (Formerly Kinmel Manor)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Abergele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abergele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kinmel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kinmel Hotel & Kinspa is a luxury Spa Hotel set in the beautiful Welsh countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kinmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinmel Manor Hotel Abergele
The Kinmel Abergele, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing