We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil retreat.”
Review of The Kinmel Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kinmel Arms
Ranked #1 of 8 Abergele B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Driftwood Suite for a birthday treat and it was everything we'd hoped for..pure relaxation in wonderful surroundings. The room itself was luxurious yet homely, beautifully styled with everything you'd need. We had boiling hot water throughout our stay and breakfast was placed in the room by magic whilst we were dining! The food in the restaurant was lovely and plenty of choice of food and drinks.. What a lovely stay!! Although not cheap, you get what you pay for. Hopefully we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRoberts316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2012

Stayed here the evening of 15 th December . We stayed in Grace room which was beautifully appointed. The whole ambience of the establishment is friendly and relaxed. The staff are courteous and helpful. The starters were superb the main course good and the cheese board which we had for dessert was fantastic. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We've submitted two separate reviews for the hotel and the restaurant, this one is for the hotel only.

The reason for the separate reviews is that the restaurant blew us away but the hotel definitely did not, thought it only fair not to let one review affect the other. The Kinmel Arms hotel came highly recommended from a number of colleagues, and at £175 per night, our expectations were very high. Things did not start well when we arrived at the hotel at around 5pm to find all doors locked and no answer! In the end, we walked around to the back of the hotel and found an entrance to the kitchen that was unlocked. After finding someone to check us in (the owners son, very polite and helpful) we headed for our room and some relaxation. At first glance, the rooms appear very comfortable and well appointed, but it's not long before the niggles start stacking up. A tiny (15 inch?) television in one corner of the room with a remote that does not work, no telephone in the room, bathroom toiletries in dispensers screwed to the wall (that you can't reach from the tub!), very patchy WiFi, dirty windows, no plug next to mirror (for hair dryer)....I know that these are only minor niggles, but when considered together...just not good enough for the price point. Last, but by no means least, there was no hot water in the room when we tried to have a bath....complained twice but were told that everything was working fine and it had just "run out"!

We made a point of raising some of these issues with the owners, who were very polite, but did not seem surprised or concerned? Such a shame, because it would be easy to fix all of these niggles, and make the experience first class. In summary, if your expectations are not too high then go for it...but if you demand VFM, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Driftwood is on the upper level, but don't expect fantastic views, it looks out onto the neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin_Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Booked for a weekend break, was very pleased and would recommend if you want to relax away from it all. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with quality fittings. The food is second to none the bar has a good range of beers wines and spirits. The staff ate very welcoming and efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 954031Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed here for an overnight break and was delighted with everything. From the quality of the food to the great service and the luxuriously furnished rooms everything was perfect. This is a great place to recharge the batteries and we were made to feel relaxed and at home from the moment we arrived.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kev-Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Just returned from our first experience at the Kinmel arms. Absolutely fabulous! Brilliant retreat hidden away.The room was very relaxing and immaculate with a wonderfully comfortable kingsize bed. Great nights sleep!
The meals served in the pub offer lots of good choices at a reasonable price. Very good selection of wines and fine cognac, which helped with the good nights sleep.
The staff behind the bar are very attentive and helpful, especially James, always good humoured and great smile.
We will definitely come back again!
Teresa and Kev

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We visit regularly for a night or weekend away as the food and service are amazing. The rooms are beautifully furnished and very relaxing. It's a brilliant get away from a hectic life. I have always really enjoyed the dishes served, they always have an interesting twist that tastes great instead of being faffy for the sake of it. Lynne and Tim are wonderful hosts, as is James behind the bar and the well trained and attentive waiting staff. All in all a great romantic and relaxing get away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyeashmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergele
1.4 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
645 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,720 reviews
4.5 mi away
Black Lion
Black Lion
#1 of 1 in Llanfair Talhaiarn
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#3 of 8 in Abergele
35 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Bee Hotel
The Bee Hotel
#7 of 8 in Abergele
66 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tan Rallt Luxury Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinmel Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinmel Arms

Address: The Village | St. George, Abergele LL22 9BP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Abergele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Abergele
Price Range: £97 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kinmel Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kinmel Arms North Wales offers luxury rooms and exquisite gourmet food set within the stunning scenery that is St.George, Abergele. Ideally situated along the main rambling routes of North Wales, The Kinmel Arms is located just off the A55, 15 mins from Llandudno and 25 mins from Chester. With gourmet food of the very highest quality and four luxurious bedrooms that really must be seen to be believed the Kinmel Arms is a real jewel in the North Wales coastline, perfect for romantic getaways, weekend breaks and businessmen working in the area. The AA and Visit Wales have once again awarded us with a "5 Star Accommodation" rating, while Hardens UK Restaurants in association with Remy Martin fine Champagne Cognac said of the Kinmel Arms" one of the best places to eat in North Wales." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Kinmel Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kinmel Arms Hotel Abergele
The Kinmel Arms Abergele, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing