We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of The Kinmel Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kinmel Arms
Ranked #1 of 8 Abergele B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just had a fantastic lunch at the Kinmel Arms.

The owners have got it absolutely right, beautiful old building, great service and food to match. The menu was perfect for a weekday lunch, lots of light options if you just want a snack - try the homemade coronation chicken sandwich! - and bigger dishes if you're hungrier. Everything was fresh, local, extremely well cooked and tasty. The cheeseboard of welsh cheese was superb!

I could go on and on about how nice it was in there, will be back very soon

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YankeesFan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

Fantastic welcome and not what I was expecting from the outside, it's like a Tardis. The food is delightful and the wine selection a joy. My room was a calm oasis and the breakfast fairy delivered a treat. All boxes ticked, service, choice, quality. Will be back

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliec72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

All round excellence in this elegant country inn. We visited the Kinmel Arms on 5th September . Restaurant has Two Rosettes. Excellent home prepared meals to appeal to all tastes. Good quality wines and beers on offer. Very good personal service from the owners. Comfortable spacious dining room and bar, maintained to a spotless high standard in ALL areas. See also Tim`s talented artwork on display. Many other reviewing websites report the Kinmel Arms as of very high standard. As its very close to where we live we haven't tried the accommodation. Those that have stayed have reported as excellent. Parking easy at this country inn on quiet level unadopted road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I had searched for a couple of hours online to find a nice hideaway place to take my wife for a weekend away and finally chose the Kinmel Arms, I really don't want to write an outstanding review as I fear I won't ever to be able to get a room here again due to it being booked solid !! but I feel compelled to give this lovely place 5 stars. The Inn is hidden away from the road and in a lovely quiet location. We chose the Pebble Suite, a snug, clean, and incredibly homely room with a beautiful walk in shower and roll top bath. Tim and Lynn have done an amazing job with this place, Tim's artwork is a joy to the beholder, original and fits in perfectly with the modern relaxing decor. The dinner was absolutely delicious and breakfast is brought to the room the night before with an amazing array of continental and traditional fare, and in a 'wardrobe' we found a fridge (with breakfast contained within !) fresh milk, toaster, kettle, filter coffee machine, and a small and neat sink - dare I say almost like a mini kitchen (all perfectly fitting in with the decor and hidden behind what could easily have been a wardrobe !!) I love this especially so as you aren't tied to being up at a certain time of the morning.

The beds are large and extremely comfortable. We can't wait to visit again.

Thank you...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Eaten here a few times, on and off over the years. Always fabulous! Love the staff here, particularly a young waitress called Eirian, I think? Always smiling and helpful. I usually have the fish and chips, wow! Cheese board could be a little bigger though. Overall fantastic food and staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tockington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Fantastic owners, friendly staff, location is great, food was exceptional. Thoroughly deserving of all the awards and accolades it has received. As part of our honeymoon it was the perfect place to spend a couple of days unwinding after all the big day. The tranquil location was perfection, with the only noise coming from the local animals and visitors to the inn during opening time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisMewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Arriving late we were pleasantly greeted by the owner. Check in was simple, we were given a key and guided to our room which was splendid in every detail. The quality of the fittings and bed linen stood out. We were immediately asked if we would like any refreshments and being a warm day I accepted a cold Lager that went down a treat. We were booked in for an evening meal and we were not disappointed, it was excellent, with a selection on the menu so hard to choose from because I fancied everything.
Following a great nights sleep, we were not hurried out of our room in the morning by housekeeping which made our stay even more relaxing.
I will be returning here sooner rather than later and look forward to it.

Room Tip: I should think all rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergele
1.4 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
634 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,689 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
382 reviews
4.5 mi away
Black Lion
Black Lion
#1 of 1 in Llanfair Talhaiarn
66 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#3 of 8 in Abergele
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinmel Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinmel Arms

Address: The Village | St. George, Abergele LL22 9BP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Abergele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Abergele
Price Range: £92 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kinmel Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kinmel Arms North Wales offers luxury rooms and exquisite gourmet food set within the stunning scenery that is St.George, Abergele. Ideally situated along the main rambling routes of North Wales, The Kinmel Arms is located just off the A55, 15 mins from Llandudno and 25 mins from Chester. With gourmet food of the very highest quality and four luxurious bedrooms that really must be seen to be believed the Kinmel Arms is a real jewel in the North Wales coastline, perfect for romantic getaways, weekend breaks and businessmen working in the area. The AA and Visit Wales have once again awarded us with a "5 Star Accommodation" rating, while Hardens UK Restaurants in association with Remy Martin fine Champagne Cognac said of the Kinmel Arms" one of the best places to eat in North Wales." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Kinmel Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kinmel Arms Hotel Abergele
The Kinmel Arms Abergele, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing