We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lunch”
Review of The Kinmel Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kinmel Arms
Ranked #1 of 8 Abergele B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
rhyl
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Myself and my friend visited for a weekday lunch. As per, the service was second to none. I had the wonderful Welsh rarebit and my friend had fish goujons. I have eaten in this beautiful restaurant for 20 years and I've never had a bad meal. The food is always sublime and the attention to detail is superb.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeymagic333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    25
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
118
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the area on business and will definitely return. The rooms are furnished to a very high standard and it was a shame that I only stayed the one evening and had to shoot off early in the morning. Would have loved to spent a couple of days taking in the local hills and enjoying the hospitality of this fantastic little gem of a hotel.
The food served up in the restaurant was very good quality and, although not cheap, was not overly expensive. There is also a fine selection of whiskies to wash it down with. I recommend the Talisker and Laphroaig.
Breakfast is placed in the fridge in your room the night before. I was a little skeptical about this but was more than happy once I had it. A range of cold meats, cheese, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, bread etc and ground coffee, not the dreadful instant coffee. Breakfast in your room in the morning is a real treat.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We have ate at The Kinmel Arms many times over the years and have never been disappointed. Small menu, but the food is always excellent. Not cheap. But you get what you pay for. We have never been disappointed. Staff very friendly and helpful. Owners hands on and very welcoming. Building very old but beautifully and respectfully maintained. Highly recommended if your in the area.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Santessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Well kept ale, quality food, interesting and fairly-priced wine list, attractive building and decor, friendly and efficient staff, engaged owners.

I never bother eating anywhere else when I'm in the area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My partner and I stayed here on the 13th; the first time for either of us. From the outside, the hotel looks small and really quite unassuming BUT, when we went inside it quickly became apparent that first impressions can be quite misleading.

We already knew that the hotel was beautiful from the many terrific reviews from satisfied guests and pictures of the rooms, restaurant and atmospheric exterior... think the TV adaptation of Agatha Christie's "Pale Horse" - without the murders!

This was FAB:
* Parking - easy and in a safe area.
* Beautiful, private, 'suite' rooms with plenty of space to move around and enough storage.
* Room accessories; fridge (stocked with fresh milk - and later, breakfast). There was even an iron and ironing board should you feel the urge to remove those creases (we didn't).
* Personal (but non-intrusive), excellent service from everybody.
* Beautiful restaurant with Tiffany-style lighting and tables thoughtfully spaced for privacy.
* Wide selection of locally-produced drinks - we tried many!
* Perfectly cooked dishes from a great menu selection, definitely something for everybody and as the food is freshly cooked, personal tastes were cheerfully accommodated.
* Breakfast table laid when we got back with continental-style platters in the fridge - ham, cheese, sliced fruit, yoghurt, cereals and handmade bread and croissant.
* ... but the 'Pièce de résistance' was the most comfortable bed EVER. We were very reluctant to get up in the morning, leaving it till the last possible minute... I wish I was still in it!

If I could think of one thing that could be improved upon, it would be the lighting on the stairs outside. If it's wet, they are slippery - and dark - so be careful. Just one other thing, the shower area in the bathroom can get very wet (it's a wet room/walk in style arrangement; take caution walking on the floor afterwards.

I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again; we had 'The Pebble Suite' and it was truly outstanding. The hotel and restaurant is rated 5 Stars ***** and the cost is in line with that classification. However, the accommodation and food absolutely represents value for money; it's sublime.

Delivery of the whole experience was exquisitely executed, with style and panache. We'll remember it always and hope to return someday...

Room Tip: Ask for advice about access because there are stairs whichever room you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just had a fantastic lunch at the Kinmel Arms.

The owners have got it absolutely right, beautiful old building, great service and food to match. The menu was perfect for a weekday lunch, lots of light options if you just want a snack - try the homemade coronation chicken sandwich! - and bigger dishes if you're hungrier. Everything was fresh, local, extremely well cooked and tasty. The cheeseboard of welsh cheese was superb!

I could go on and on about how nice it was in there, will be back very soon

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YankeesFan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Fantastic welcome and not what I was expecting from the outside, it's like a Tardis. The food is delightful and the wine selection a joy. My room was a calm oasis and the breakfast fairy delivered a treat. All boxes ticked, service, choice, quality. Will be back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliec72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergele
1.4 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
4.3 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
12.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#3 of 8 in Abergele
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinmel Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinmel Arms

Property: The Kinmel Arms
Address: The Village | St. George, Abergele LL22 9BP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Abergele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Abergele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kinmel Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kinmel Arms North Wales offers luxury rooms and exquisite gourmet food set within the stunning scenery that is St.George, Abergele. Ideally situated along the main rambling routes of North Wales, The Kinmel Arms is located just off the A55, 15 mins from Llandudno and 25 mins from Chester. With gourmet food of the very highest quality and four luxurious bedrooms that really must be seen to be believed the Kinmel Arms is a real jewel in the North Wales coastline, perfect for romantic getaways, weekend breaks and businessmen working in the area. The AA and Visit Wales have once again awarded us with a "5 Star Accommodation" rating, while Hardens UK Restaurants in association with Remy Martin fine Champagne Cognac said of the Kinmel Arms" one of the best places to eat in North Wales." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Kinmel Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kinmel Arms Hotel Abergele
The Kinmel Arms Abergele, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing