We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5* all the way, a lovely treat!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kinmel Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kinmel Arms
Ranked #1 of 8 Abergele B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abergele, North Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5* all the way, a lovely treat!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

My boyfriend took me for one night stay on my 30th birthday, the rooms were fab, the food was amazing and the hospitality form the owners Tim and Lynne was second to none!!!!!! Definitely recommend and worth every penny.
I would also have to point out that we were a 'little' out of their league when it came to the food and wine, it is exquisite and definitely for the ‘professional’ wine and foodies!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratchit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    25
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
117
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Looking for somewhere to dine, impress with a romantic ambience? Look no further! I've been visiting this restaurant since I first stepped foot on the soils of North Wales and no matter where I go from then on, My heart always leads me back to this place. The service, the food, the overall experience, in fact, everything about this place leaves you wanting more. If you are looking for attention to detail with Michelin quality, without having to pay Michelin style price tag, then this is your place. There's something to suit most budgets from snapping cod and chips to the succulent steak which is the highest priced on the menu. Try the kinmel arms and you won't regret it

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dandy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2,459 reviews
370 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,282 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Wales produces more staggering beauty then anywhere on the globe. Opinions may differ and that's swell, but this abode is a winner. It resides in a wonderfully peaceful spot, surrounded by stunning countryside, yet close enough to get to the coast, mountains and the remarkable north Wales.
We loved this 17th- Century inn which entreats the visitor into its truly luxurious hideaway. Ponder a few seconds on the term "hideaway". Its a winning magnet in all senses of the word, isn't it?
The interior has art everywhere, alluding to the passion, or frenzy of our host,Tim's eclectic collection.. Its wonderful. Our room boasts a super king-size oak & maple bed, porcelain bathroom and balcony. The abode's location puts us within easy reach of Bodnant Gardens and Snoolonia National Park.
Secreted within the amply furnished 'hideaway', is an excellent restaurant which serves buzzy brasserie-style lunches and super relaxing evening meals.
Our complements to Tim and staff for furnishing the 'stuff of dreams'.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Having just returned from an overnight stay and evening meal at the Kinmel Arms I wanted to write a review whilst this amazing place was fresh in my mind.

Within minutes of booking (through laterooms) I received an email from Lynn (the owner) to offer a dinner reservation and let us know that they were happy to have the opportunity to look after us - and look after us they did!!

We arrived an hour or so before check in - happy to sit in the bar and enjoy the wine selection and draught ales. The staff were very attentive and seem genuinely happy to have you as their guest!! The room (driftwood) was amazing!! It was spotlessly clean - with a huge bed, wonderful bathroom, high quality linens, robes, slippers, an outdoor balcony area (where we enjoyed a few drinks in the welsh sunshine) and decorated to a very high standard in natural tones and real wood furniture. Tim's artwork adds to the driftwood theme and is wonderfully original and personal. Everything about the room was explained by a lovely gentleman from behind the bar and we were informed that 'the breakfast fairy' would arrive whilst we were at dinner!

Dinner was to die for! Delicious flavours and textures, beautiful presentation and excellent service. Satisfied, we returned to the bar whilst my partner excitedly sampled more than his share of the whiskey selection - and both Lynn and Tim took the time to say hello and chat to us about our stay!! They are great hosts and this place is clearly their passion and a real credit to them!

On returning to our room (and yes the breakfast fairy had visited and thought of ABSOLUTELY everything - most sourced locally) we had a fab nights sleep and I took another dip in the tub before checking out in the morning! A truly wonderful stay - can't wait to return! Thank you so much Lynn and Tim for your hospitality!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidayhunter1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Recently met with a group of friends for lunch, and was very impressed! Lovely warm friendly welcome from staff. Service was very good and food was even better! Very yummy!!! Especially the pudding! Simple but modern and delicious food, Couldn't fault it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MAIR E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I booked after seeing this restaurant in the good food guides.
The food was very nice, however when your main course arrives 5 min before your vegetables, and paying top prices this is not acceptable. If this had happened at Pizza Hut or Wetherspoons I could understand but not in a top hotel.
I wrote to the manager who replied by only saying sorry, We hope to see you again.
It is the measure of professionalism by how a complaint is addressed and dealt with, not whether you receive one or not.
I was not impressed.
Swim Inns, CH8 8BA.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We visited Abergele last weekend as a treat to celebrate our anniversary. The Kinmel Arms was recommended to us when we booked our accommodation, so we decided to pay a visit on Friday evening. We arrived without a reservation, but the staff were so helpful and accommodating even though it was quite busy. We had ordered drinks and were seated at a lovely table at the bar, by the time we had finished our drink, our order had been taken and we had been seated in the restaurant. The food was excellent. Amazing flavours, quality and lovely presentation. We both especially loved how it was all spruced locally and how suppliers were detailed on the menu. The bar was lovely and cosy and we enjoyed a couple of drinks after the meal. The staff were very friendly and chatty which is always nice! It was the perfect start to a lovely weekend and we will definitely be returning! Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Reillybody82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergele
1.4 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
4.3 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
12.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#3 of 8 in Abergele
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kinmel Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kinmel Arms

Property: The Kinmel Arms
Address: The Village | St. George, Abergele LL22 9BP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Abergele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Abergele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kinmel Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kinmel Arms North Wales offers luxury rooms and exquisite gourmet food set within the stunning scenery that is St.George, Abergele. Ideally situated along the main rambling routes of North Wales, The Kinmel Arms is located just off the A55, 15 mins from Llandudno and 25 mins from Chester. With gourmet food of the very highest quality and four luxurious bedrooms that really must be seen to be believed the Kinmel Arms is a real jewel in the North Wales coastline, perfect for romantic getaways, weekend breaks and businessmen working in the area. The AA and Visit Wales have once again awarded us with a "5 Star Accommodation" rating, while Hardens UK Restaurants in association with Remy Martin fine Champagne Cognac said of the Kinmel Arms" one of the best places to eat in North Wales." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kinmel Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kinmel Arms Hotel Abergele
The Kinmel Arms Abergele, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing