We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab stay!”
Review of Drumcovitt House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Feeny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Drumcovitt House
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just back from a stay in Foyle Cottage & had an absolutely fab time! Cottage was perfect for us and had everything we needed & more. Gardens were great & couldn't get our son out of the sandpit! Dogs & cat were so friendly & came running to great us. Place even had a games room. Plenty to do if you don't fancy driving but if you want to stray a little further you'll need a car. Loads of places nearby....Roe Valley Country Park & 5 mins drive away there's the beautiful Banagher Glen & of course you're right in the middle of the Sperrins! Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have just returned from a great, relaxing long weekend at Drumcovitt House. We stayed in Faughan Cottage, which was exceptionally comfortable, clean with all mod cons one would need. The setting is spectacular- beautiful gardens, great views of the Sperrin mountains and very, very peaceful. Sarah and Chris give you a warm Irish welcome and are very happy to advise on the many things to see in the local area. Derry city is a 20-25 minute drive from here, and it is looking great as the European capital of culture... Definitely worth a visit.
We would definitely return and will be recommending Drumcovitt to friends looking for an easy going, relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PabloMac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We came to Roe Loft for a long weekend away. It is a lovely place to stay, the cottage is very cosy, clean and comfortable.

It’s set in the beautiful area of Feeny which is very peaceful and there are some lovely walks to go on. I would recommend you hire a car though. Feeny is quite remote and there isn’t really anywhere in close walking distance except for a spar. If you want to explore Derry or any of the surrounding villages I think you’d be a bit stuck without a car.

I really did love the cottage; it has a lovely seating area out the front where you can look out onto the gardens. There was some milk, bread, butter and jam supplied for your breakfast. The beds are comfortable and the living area is really cosy with a fire. The cottage is finished beautifully, it feels quite modern yet still warm and inviting.

If you want a peaceful retreat in a lovely setting a cosy cottage then Roe Croft is a great choice. I would say there were only two of us staying and I think Roe is the smallest of all the cottages. If you’re a family of four you might want to go for one of the bigger ones.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cerys J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed in Foyle cottage for a week in May. It was just perfect - cosy and comfortable, and the log burning stove was much appreciated given the cooler weather. The owners, Chris and Sarah, were welcoming and helpful. Sarah had provided a welcome pack of bread, butter, biscuits, jam, tea, coffee and milk or we could have arranged a Tesco home delivery prior to our arrival. Drumcovitt is ideally situated for visiting most of Northern Ireland - we travelled in all directions, even exploring the beautiful Co Donegal in The Republic. The cottage was well equipped with everything we needed, even down to providing cling film, foil and washing powder - a bonus when flying with only limited baggage allowance. What more can I say? Just perfect! Thank you for everything Chris and Sarah!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bornagainrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights with husband and 2 dogs in Faughan Cottage. It was good to be able to book by the day rather than a whole week, which would have been an expensive waste, and to be able to bring the dogs at no extra cost. Our cottage- one of 3 in the old outbuildings of a beautiful manor house- had an open plan living area downstairs, with a small but well equiped kitchen area, dining table, and lounge with 2 comfortable settees and a log burner with plentiful supply of free logs. In the hall under the stairs they even managed to fit in a washer drier and fridge freezer. Upstairs were a bathroom with shower over, a twin bedroom, and double with en-suite shower. Both bedrooms were well decorated, with suffficient wardrobe space and chests of drawers. My only complaint was that the mattreses were rather thin- with everything else in the cottage being good quality it seemed a shame to have cheap mattresses.
40u of electricity were provided free, and we didn't need to top it up. All bedding and towels were also provided, and a lovely welcome pack of bread butter jam and milk tea and coffee.We were welcomed by the friendly owner who helpfully showed us how everything worked.
Our cottage was the only one of the three that that had a door on to the courtyard where the cars are parked, and on to the gardens. We found that very useful with the dogs, and I would think families with children would like this feature too. You are allowed free access to all of the extensive gardens, and maps are provided of walks over the larger estate. Sadly we weren't able to do much walking- being Ireland it rained every day, so it was too muddy
As well as the usual North Antrim coast sights we would highly recommend the Ulster American Folk Park near Omagh- a very interesting way to stay out of the rain!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Levoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drumc0vitt, Owner at Drumcovitt House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Thank you for taking the comment on your recent stay with us, your positive comments are greatly appreciated as we seek to ensure that everyone who stays in our cottages has an enjoyable and comfortable experience. Although I’m afraid we can’t do much about the weather (if only!), we were disappointed to read your comments regarding the quality of the mattress in the cottage and the impact this had on your stay. Each year we reinvest in new equipment for the cottages, including mattresses, and while we haven’t received any other complaints about the mattresses we use, we do welcome feedback and recognise that ‘comfort’ is very personal to each individual. We would like to have had the opportunity to resolve this problem during your stay as we could have offered an alternative mattress that we hope would have addressed the problem. We hope that you will choose to revisit us at some point so that we can earn a 5 star review! Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We had a week's stay in the delightful Foyle Cottage which was perfect for us. We had two teenagers and a toddler with us and all were happy. The garden's delightful, the cottage has a homely feel to it with everything we could need. My husband particularly liked the wood burning stove and the ample supply of logs across the yard. The rooms were all clean and appropriately furnished with plenty of storage and a well-resourced kitchen. The family who own the cottages were very welcoming and friendly and were more like neighbours. We were in the area to watch a football tournament based around Derry so we travelled to various locations in the area. We also visited places such as the Giant's Causeway, Portrush and Benone beach; all are within a reasonable drive of Drumcovitt House. It was always nice to return to the cottage for a peaceful evening. The countryside is beautiful and we are looking for an excuse to return some time in the future. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cas94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We stayed in Roe Loft for 3 nights at the end of March. We were warmly welcomed by Sarah and the dogs - I am a bit nervous of dogs but they were lovely friendly tail wagging pets! We were visiting relations in the area so were not around the farm much but we did walk up to the "glen" and made friends with the sheep and wee lambs. The setting of the house is beautiful and from Roe we could watch the birds and rabbits and the snow falling! We had a quite exciting stay really with blizzard conditions on one of the days. The power was off next morning and Sarah appeared with a flask of boiling water for our morning tea! The apartment is warm, comfortable and peaceful and has every thing you need including tea, coffee, washing up liquid etc. You just need to bring yourselves! The bread, milk, butter, jam that Sarah provided was very welcome and a nice touch. All in all a great place to stay. We would definitely return and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernhill80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Drumcovitt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumcovitt House

Address: 704 Feeny Road, Feeny BT47 4SU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Feeny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Feeny
Price Range: £50 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Georgian B&B and self-catering cottages located in the Sperrin Mountains in northwest Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Drumcovitt House Feeny, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing