We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Drumcovitt”
Review of Drumcovitt House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Feeny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Drumcovitt House
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have just returned from 2 weeks in Foyle Cottage with our dog. What a wonderful place to stay. We were in Ireland to attend a family wedding and chose Drumcovitt as it was recommended to us and was close to Roe Park Resort, Limavady where the reception was held.
Our dog was welcome at Foyle cottage - very important to us - and he got on well with the 2 resident dogs Tara and Molly. We were able to book Seamus - our dog - into the local kennels - PAWS, Limavady - whilst we attended the wedding.

Drumcovitt Barn cottages are surrounded by the most beautiful landscaped gardens. I walked Seamus down the front drive - as it was often raining. He enjoyed seeing the occasional baby rabbit and being a gardener I could not resist pulling the very odd weed out of the driveway - made me feel part of the scene. It was nice to chat to the gentleman who tended to the gardens.
You are spoiled for choice with local food shops in the area - Limavady for the big TESCO and cheap fuel – Dungiven (4 miles away) has many food shops - and maybe best of all is Feeny - a village just 1 km away with a well stocked SPAR - we were able to order a newspaper and get our daily bread and milk including wheaten bread, soda bread & scones - staff in all these shops are very helpful.
Across the road from Drumcovitt the farm sells FREE RANGE FRESH FARM EGGS - laid 1 day earlier - and very cheap.

The barn was so very comfortable – and the log fire added to the charm. We had many cousins who came in the evenings to visit us and were so impressed with the whole lay-out. Our neighbours in the other 2 barns were Dutch and French.

Sarah and Chris were great hosts – we would like to thank them for their hospitality.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ouismes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Drumcovitt House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Chris and Sarah are excellent hosts, they provided a 'welcome pack' to get us started of bread and milk and such. Chris provided us with information on the area and places we may want to go. It was a great base to explore the area-we took several different day trips including Londonderry, Belfast and the coast/Giants Causeway. The accommodation was very comfortable and quiet, the grounds and house are really pretty. The dogs were lovely visitors and there is plenty of room for kids to run and play. There were a few spiders in the house, but they are not dangerous. Very lovely and welcoming place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyncakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We arrives just after lunch, the first impressions where stunning. Well set back from the main road. Gardens where superb and well thought out. The cottage itself is well equipped with a toasty log fire. Comfy beds and a nicely sized bathroom. We we're meet by Sarah later on on the day. Who give is the low down of the area. We've came over from England for the NW200. An easy 1 hour drive into portstewart. Will defo be booking for next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steko03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We regularly come back to the area to visit family who live locally and normally stay at Drumcovitt. On this occasion we stayed in the Faughen cottage. The cottage is comfortable, has everything you need and has great views. As we have young kids it is great there are cats, dogs, playroom, gardens and grounds to explore.

Chris, Sarah and their kids are the perfect hosts

The location is good for access to Derry, Donegal and the Causeway coast. There is also Banager Glen close by for a quiet walk.

It is the perfect place for a relaxing break and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMCGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We spent half-term break in Roe Lodge - found it to have plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 kids. Accommodation very clean and well laid out - this is an upstairs Loft but very private and everything you need to self-cater. Owner was very helpful - provided board games for kids, maps of local walks - and even brand new Welles for me as I'd forgotten mine.

Location is superb to explore local walks - we enjoyed Banagher old church and Banagher dam (quite a steep incline) and in particular walks at Roe Valley. Also well suited for 3 or 4 trips in Derry city. We parked for free just beside Ebrington barracks and then walked across Peace bridge. We timed it well for city of culture events, Halloween fireworks, Turner prize 2013 - but these aside there's lots to do in Derry.

Special mentioned Fitzroys in Derry (city side) - we ate there twice - Mons and Tues are 50% off - rest of week 30%. For food at Drumcovitt I'd booked a Tesco delivery and this worked really well. Overall, we had a great time - the accommodation was very comfy and we felt fairly priced - would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: The 2 cottages with log burning stoves weren't available when we booked - I'd really wanted...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sootyboy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just back from a stay in Foyle Cottage & had an absolutely fab time! Cottage was perfect for us and had everything we needed & more. Gardens were great & couldn't get our son out of the sandpit! Dogs & cat were so friendly & came running to great us. Place even had a games room. Plenty to do if you don't fancy driving but if you want to stray a little further you'll need a car. Loads of places nearby....Roe Valley Country Park & 5 mins drive away there's the beautiful Banagher Glen & of course you're right in the middle of the Sperrins! Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have just returned from a great, relaxing long weekend at Drumcovitt House. We stayed in Faughan Cottage, which was exceptionally comfortable, clean with all mod cons one would need. The setting is spectacular- beautiful gardens, great views of the Sperrin mountains and very, very peaceful. Sarah and Chris give you a warm Irish welcome and are very happy to advise on the many things to see in the local area. Derry city is a 20-25 minute drive from here, and it is looking great as the European capital of culture... Definitely worth a visit.
We would definitely return and will be recommending Drumcovitt to friends looking for an easy going, relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PabloMac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Drumcovitt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumcovitt House

Address: 704 Feeny Road, Feeny BT47 4SU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Feeny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Feeny
Price Range: £50 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Georgian B&B and self-catering cottages located in the Sperrin Mountains in northwest Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Drumcovitt House Feeny, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing