We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful villa & location”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Genevieve @ Caipirinha Cabanas
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Genevieve @ Caipirinha Cabanas
Lounge with a view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Villa Genevieve @ Caipirinha Cabanas
Lounge with a view
Outdoor dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Jennings, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennifer9...
Fowey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful villa & location”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We booked Villa Genevieve for a well earned holiday, first in 10 years. We were looking for somewhere to rest and do nothing for 2 weeks and where better than Villa Genevieve. The Villa is in a lovely location. Any closer to the beach and you'd get your feet wet! We only swam in the sea by the villa once as it was a bit choppy and I am not the strongest of swimmers. However, 5 mins down the road is the beautiful Darkwood Beach. White sand and turquoise sea, supposedly the most photographed beach on the island. We were the only ones on the beach as the season was only just beginning and it was all a bit surreal when some local lads arrived at the side of the road and started playing some ( very good) music. I must mention The Boxer Shack restaurant which is just behind the villa and run by Gill and Tony. The food is fantastic and the company very welcoming.
There are only a couple of things that we feel are essential for a villa in this location and climate and that is air conditioning in the bedroom and a mosquito net over the bed.
Would we come again? Oh yes but only if the air conditioning and mosquito net have been installed in the bedroom. Other than that this is a well equipped and well maintained holiday home with excellent local management. We would fully recommend this to any first time visitors to Antigua..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked least: No air conditioning or mosquito net
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BishamBas...
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fabulous place to chill like the locals”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Two weeks of getting away from the rest of the world in Villa Genevieve. The villa had everything we needed to be self-sufficient. But when we wanted someone else to do the cooking, what better place than the Boxer Shack run by Tony and Gill which was next door to the villa. You've go to go for the lobster salad! Thanks Tony and Gill.
The No 22 bus service will get you to and from the supermarket and if you want to go further afield, the taxis are great value or hire a car for a few days.
Answering the previous comments posted on this property which worried us initially - the sound of the waves at night - we slept better in the villa than at home. Tree frogs? Didn't hear any. Mosquitos? Sensible precautions mean you reduce exposure to them.
To sum-up. A great holiday and so good to have Boxer Shack nearby.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poppyj90
1 review
“Beautiful villa”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in June 2014

Booked this beautiful villa and 3 others, a few weeks ago for Jul 16, for our wedding in Antigua. Danielle was very helpful and accomodating when we asked many questions about the villas. Her emails responses were very prompt. Unfortunately we have had to cancel the villas and again Danielle has been very accomodating.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDB-Bham
UK
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Wonderful alternative to a resort hotel”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
5
people found this review helpful

When we first booked this villa it had only just been opened so there were very few reviews and other information available. We thus took a risk on booking it but it turned out to be an excellent choice and we determined we would provide much more information here for other prospective visitors.

Firstly, it is not for you if you like to herded together with other tourists in a resort hotel, or if you are a light sleeper and would be disturbed by the crashing of the waves at night. Otherwise, this is for you.

The villa is built of wood on a beachside slope. At the immediate rear is another single storey building where the property managers live and back left is the Boxer Shack restaurant that the managers also run. That restaurant is typically open from Wednesday to Sunday, lunchtime through to dinner during the main season. The fact it is there means you are not alone and isolated, and it also means you only have to stagger 10 yards to eat if you wish to have a meal off from your self-catering. See separate review of the Boxer Shack and check it will be its open season before booking the Villa.

There is no glass in the windows, just anti fly meshes and louvres that you can open or close. Facing the sea, the full height “patio doors” open up to expose the whole kitchen/lounge to the wooden decking and sea view. There are very comfortable loungers on the decking and now a couple of patio umbrellas for shade BUT the bases aren’t really up to the task as the umbrellas really should be held upright by a table. We managed to get one up and usable by standing the bottom in one of the bases and lashing the pole to the back of a wooden chair to provide stability. It is quite windy in the whole bay and on the terrace, so make sure the umbrella is secured. Alternatively, the overhanging kitchen roof provides some shade if you pull the loungers half back into the kitchen to get shade.

The beach is just 20 or so concrete steps below you. It is between Morris Bay on the west and Carlisle Bay on the east. It hardly has anyone else on it, but the sea is English-like with white water and waves. A 10 minute walk left out of the property takes you down the hill to the other side of the Curtain Bluff Resort where there is a lovely sandy public beach with much gentler water. There is a drying rack on the villa decking but bring your own pegs.

Flies are an issue as other reviewers have mentioned BUT they can be managed by being sensible, ie closing up the villa doors before the sun goes down, always keeping the bedroom door shut like an airlock to keep that room free, and if you sit out at night cover up with long sleeves and trousers. We were there at a time of low insect activity because of regular overnight rain, but with these precautions we had many a happy evening meal out on our terrace.

There is a super king-size very comfortable bed and great walk-in shower. The kitchen is well equipped (use provided matches to light the gas hob) with fridge/freezer and efficient electric oven. There is an iron & board and a hair dryer. The infamous white leather settee in the lounge is a poor choice as not only is it not a serviceable colour and material, but it gets very hot if you sit on it for any time. Reading about it in advance, we took our own old sheet as a seat cover and that helped a bit. Power is 220v US-style sockets with several adaptors provided.

Out and about, there is no real need to hire a car. A taxi ride to most places (airport, Jolly Harbour, Nelson’s Dockyard etc) is around 33USD and the taxi drivers prefer this currency. The local buses however are more than adequate for many journeys and cost less than £1 per head for the same distance. You will need a taxi to and from the airport and one back from the Jolly Harbour supermarket to carry your heavy shopping, but otherwise use the 22 bus from outside the front door to go anywhere on the clockwise route around via several restaurants and Jolly Harbour to the capital St Johns.

The Epicurean Supermarket at Jolly Harbour (just inside the site on the right) is a full supermarket that can provide all your food and drink shopping. There is plenty of fresh meat and a comprehensive alcohol selection. Many items are from the Waitrose Essentials range. Buy 5 litre bottles of water there to use during your stay and bring several bottles back in a taxi. The welcome pack of many essentials provider by the managers was very useful.

The reception on the large TV is poor, even though it is “cable”, but the TV has an HDMI port so we watched our own UK TV programmes that we had brought on our netbook. There is a safe which is OK for passports and small items. Our netbook also just fitted in.

On our last day we were faced with a 9 hour gap between villa check-out time and airport check-in. The rental organisers were very helpful and found us somewhere to spend that time, which made the last day enjoyable rather than a chore.

In summary this is a very spacious, well appointed and affordable villa in an idyllic out-of-the way location. We had an excellent holiday there.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roodeberg...
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
560 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Fabulous place - but probably not for us next time”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

First the real plus points........

- the place really does look like the pictures, which is stunning
- it really is just over the beach
- Boxer Shack is next door and the couple who run this (and oversee the villa) are lovely and friendly

The negatives.........

- The place does need some attention, when we arrived, the fan in the living room wasn't working and a number of the window screens weren't secured properly and just fell out when there was any wind. As there was a real outbreak of Chick V virus at the time and we were really trying to prevent any bugs getting into the bedroom, having the screen continually fall out of the bathroom window didn't help!
- The information on getting there and what was going to be provided wasn't great. Being told that the place is in Old Road is OK if you know the place, but if you're flying into a country you've never been to before, a map, with the place marked on, might have been nice!

Why I wouldn't go there again?

Nothing to do with the place or the management, but we like to have a range of different options for the evening eating and drinking on our doorstep. Boxer Shack is great, but Curtain Bluff and Carlisle Bay really aren't the sort of place you can just 'pop in' and everywhere else is really a drive away, so I think we would opt for English or Jolly Harbour next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The villa itself, which is just as fabulous as the photo's
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Thank you for your kind review.

Our managing agents Tony & Gill replaced the faulty fan as soon as you made them aware of it. We are sorry for any inconvenience this caused and similarly the mosquito screens have now been secured more robustly. The clips corrode very quickly in the marine / tropical conditions and as our villa mangers are on site any minor problems can be rectified pretty quickly.

We do offer transfers from the airport and provide maps and directions for guests who make their own way if requested, we will now as per your suggestion send these to all guests.

Villa Genevieve is situated on the edge of the rainforest / national park with its own private beach. Jolly Harbour and English Harbour are 15 minutes away by car and if you do not have transport the bus stop is adjacent to the villa and many guests enjoy this 'local' means of transport.

Thanks again for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay

Regards

Pat & Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wabamik
London
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Needs attention.”
Reviewed 31 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The good first:
The villa is in a spectacular location above a perfect, almost private beach, with the push and pull of the waves lulling us to sleep every night accompanied by chirruping tree frogs. Half way almost between the good supermarket at Jolly Harbour and good restaurants at Falmouth and English Harbour and right next door to one of the best restaurants on the island, this place could be perfect. The wifi works well too.

The not so good.
The villa suffers like many rental properties from proprietor neglect. It is poorly equipped...lots of worn out pots and pans but little else to cook with. There are only two wine glasses, too few plates of the same size and camping quality assorted old cutlery. Lighting is inadequate, hopeless for cooking and the bathroom is sepulchral. Some of the furniture is in poor shape and the white leather sofas are unsuited to a hot climate. There is inadequate shade in the middle of the day on the terrace, it is simply too hot and an awning or a large umbrella is all that it needs. Would we go back...it's quite good value if you aren't fussy, the managing couple do a great job, but all in all, probably it's not for us again.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position on bluff looking over beach
Liked least: Inadequate shade, poorly equipped and poor lighting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Thank-you for your constructive but personal viewpoint. We are pleased that you loved the location / beach and Boxer Shack Restaurant.

The villa is professionally managed by the onsite managers who if notified will immediately address any minor problems.

The villa was designed / built and furnished to the owners private taste and requirements and everything was new (now 12 months old).

We apologise for the lack of wine glasses, these have now been restocked along with champagne flutes. 3 umbrellas have also been provided as per your suggestion and there is shade under the terrace canopy and palm trees.

The 'Sepulchral' bathroom is an ultra modern wet room / white walls and floors? Similarly the lounge furniture - white leather corner suite is to the owners taste. Lighting in the living area consists of 4 wall lights plus a centre light, but this will now be supplemented by under cabinet concealed lights in the kitchen area.

Cutlery has been upgraded and the kitchen pots/pans will be replaced this month when we visit.

The proprietors visit at least 5 times a year and pride themselves on the personal touch. This property is permanently in use and probably the best in this location in its price range.

Thanks again for your review.

Pat & Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldtravel...
ann arbor, mi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good & Bad, highs & lows”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This is an average vacation villa in an average Caribbean location - except for the outstanding restaurant, the Boxer Shack, next door, and it's owners who help oversee the villa. The good parts are, of course, the restaurant where we had 3 excellent experiences and the weather (brief rain daily didn't slow us up from the ziplining or boating adventures.) The villa is nice though showing some depreciation (screens, notably) and missing some normal convenience items (mugs, cooler, beach chairs.) The island has many excellent eating choices.
Bad parts would include the very high cost of the eating out choices, the loud ocean waves and tree frogs at night, the villa's open patio (too sunny during the day, brightly lit from an adjacent property spotlight at night, lots of bug bites (no-see-ums!) We went to Antigua to snorkle; turns out that's not a great adventure here due to limited sites and cloudy water in Winter.
In all, we had a good time and the villa provided an adequate headquarters. Lots of sightseeing, friendly people. One last thought: if you rent a car to reach the villa. You apparently are on your own. We arrived at night after delays by LIAT Air (common!) The airport is on the opposite island side; there are poor signing and no signing options on Antigua and no street numbers to help. If it wasn't for the Avis car rental woman who actually drove us across the island to the villa at night, we would have been screwed.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2015
Thankyou for your review Robert, we monitor all reviews to ensure that we continually provide and improve client satisfaction. Villa Genevieve is new and we think that it is amazing and most of our guests agree and remark that the photos do not do it justice. Similarly the location above the beach at Carlisle Bay facing Monsterrat is in our opinion one of the best. It is one of the most photographed beaches in Antigua - used in many promotional videos, and adjacent to the National Park. You will however hear the waves as the Villa is on the beach and the tree frogs cannot be helped.

We are pleased that you really enjoyed our restaurant The Boxer Shack at Caipirinha and say it is outstanding. Regretfully we cannot remedy what you regard as the high cost of meals at other restaurants.

The terrace furniture at Genevieve includes 2 luxurious loungers, a rattan suite and 2 adiron back chairs, on the beach underneath there are 12 loungers which can be moved under the shade of the palm trees, however we do not provide folding beach chairs / picnic mugs or cool boxes to be taken to other beaches.

Snorkelling is an all year major pastime in Antigua and the local Cades Reef if world renown.

All of our guests are offered transfers from the airport and location maps / directions if they choose to make their own way.

The villa managers are on site to deal with any requests/repairs and are most helpful!

Once again thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay in Antigua.

Regards

Pat & Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing