We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Worth turning off the Main Road

We saw the road sign and decided to take a look. Well worth the side trip. Great hosts and the... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Armidale05
,
Armidale, Australia
Ewe need to indulge

Tranquil setting and scenery lovely family run and own business very accommodating to all ages best... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Lane S
,
Old Bar, Australia
via mobile
Read all 217 reviews
  
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
113
74
16
3
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
74
16
3
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great cheese pinot paste cheese tasting cheese maker award winning free tasting grand view sheep cheese hot chocolate lamb tasty cheeses light lunch worth a visit sheep's milk bruny island beautiful spot local produce
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

We saw the road sign and decided to take a look. Well worth the side trip. Great hosts and the sweetest lambs I've seen. Interesting tour through the dairy plus an amazing tasting session of gins and vodka. Wasn't a fan of the sheep's milk latte though ;)

Thank Armidale05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Tranquil setting and scenery lovely family run and own business very accommodating to all ages best blue cheese in Australia and then there's the vodka and Gin a must if visiting Tasmania

Thank Lane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

Driving on the B68 south of Hobart and came across a Sheep Dairy. Just a short way of the road - lots of very friendly sheep and a visit to the dairy and we were upstairs into the cafe area. Delicious cheeses to sample but the joy was finding fabulous Vodka - world award winning and very smooth. The Gin was just as good. We went away with several bottles of each - a great find!

Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

This little farm that's two miles of the main road seems to be run down and tyred.
We arrived wanting to do a little Cheese and Gin tasting as this is what they do, unfortunately The Beared gent that was only focused on a group of 4 people totally ignored us and didn't even acknowledge that we were standing right in front of him for 10 minutes .
Do Not even bother with this run down arrogant place as it will ruin your day besides there are so many other good ones in this area.

Thank Candycan053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

These guys are legends. Definitely masters of their fields. They have amazing cheese and condiments, a great venue with a view and also have recently taken out the title of worlds best vodka. The staff are entertaining, knowledgeable and truly delightful. I bought everything. This place is definitely worthy of a visit, and will keep everyone entertained.

Thank nordling5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

A great story about what to do with the waste whey from making the cheese. It is distilled and made into gin and vodka - so good it has won some very impressive awards. We had tasted and bought the gin at a previous tasting but wanted to try the cheese. We weren’t disappointed. Sheep milk cheese is a little different to cow milk cheese and the fantastic video that runs really explains how. Interesting that 98% of people who can’t tolerate cows milk can tolerate sheeps milk. The owners clearly look after the sheep which is very important to us. We found the young lady that did our tasting very informative and helpful. The cafe menu was appetising but we didn’t eat there.

Thank Mrst1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Very attentive and knowledgeable staff, tasted all the cheese and then the spirits, we also sat in the restaurant, gazing over the sheep in the paddocks and ate a very nice lunch which included quick service

Thank DebB123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Great surprise this afternoon. Walked the sculpture trail and then decided at the last minute to stop in at Grandvewe. Received a free tasting of some fabulous ewe milk cheese, as well as gin and vodka made from ewe whey. Finished with an awesome hot chocolate at the cafe.

These people are clearly passionate about their product (which is great) and committed to providing their visitors with a positive experience. Well thought out, well executed. An unexpected treat for our family and looking forward to the vodka that I took home.

And the view is grand!

Thank Mathew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

We visited this hidden gem some years ago and have longed to return ever since. Finally we arrived back to find nothing has changed..... Perfection!
The last time we visited we had the cheese toastie along with other goodies. We had to get the toastie again and we're pleased it is still the same as before. Don't be fooled by thinking this is just some toasted sandwich, it is extremely hard to do a simple dish as there is nowhere to hide, make a cheese toastie with the best cheese in the worked and you have perfection!
Thanks Grandewe, we will be back.
P.s. Try the Vodka and Gin, Tasmania at its finest !

Thank BeachBonnets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

We had picked up a leaflet about this place while in the Huon Valley so had a look on our way back to Hobart. Some really fabulous sheep's cheeses and gin as well. We had some of the gin and some cheese to and thoroughly enjoyed them, even though they were more expensive than we would normally go for.

Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews