We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful large house at the side of pond with...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Wadworth, Doncaster, South Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
valma55
england
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Location good , but improvements needed in property”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a short break at the Watermill. The location by the Mill Pond is lovely and the small town of Tickhill offers all amenities. The property was adequate but needs several improvements to bring up to the standard expected of holiday rentals . The ground floor bedroom although sold as a double has a bed next to a wall , somewhat difficult for the older couple . The single bedroom has a put you up type of bed and also houses the central heating boiler which is noisy. Lighting in the downstairs dining area is dismal , and depressive . The kitchen is poorly equipped, teapot with cracked lid , no can opener , mismatch of wine glasses , shelf missing from refrigerator , poor selection of bowls , no handle for grill pan etc Very poor towels supplied , would have preferred to have taken my own . The bathrooms were very good and appeared to have been recently refurbished.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueH9
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Beautiful large house at the side of pond with ducks”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Fab house for a break with family or friends. Five bedrooms and many rooms to sit and chat. Outside decking area with water trickling under. No actual garden other than this but fab scenery, grass, pond, walks for dogs.

Village great with every shop, pub, restaurant you need. Try Roccos Italian as delicious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House itself and lovely village.
Liked least: If sunny a garden would be better, particularly if you took a dog.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula7Not...
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

i've just returned from a two night break at the Watermill Cottage, Tickhill. Th watermill is on the side of a village pond, which is as quaint as you could possibly get.

The House boasts five bedrooms 3 doubles upstairs one ensure and a bathroom, one double and a single downstairs. I was staying in the middle bedroom the bed was comfy and cosy, however a curtain at the window would have been nice, but I improvised with a throw so that wasn't too much of a problem. The house is unique and artefacts from the old mill remain in the house which adds to the character. The outside seating area is nice but could do with a sweep and tidy up and remove the old candles.

The rooms are very functional and plenty of different areas to relax. My only criticism would be that as this is an old building and has lots of ornaments and pictures etc., these are hard to,clean and do collect dust, having said that the bed linen and bathrooms were clean, as was the kitchen area.

The village of Tickhill is lovely and some nice shops and restaurants for a short break this base is ideal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: The finer detail - cleanliness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonOx
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect place for us”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I booked this as a surprise short stay to Celebrate our twin sons 30th birthday. There were 8 of us and we had a fabulous time. Don't know how I managed to keep it secret until the day before we left and only gave out a few hints during the course of the previous day. Only one couple worked out the clues! The area suited us all as we each had about the same distance to travel.
Definitely worth a trip and would definitely go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ideal location and propert quirkiness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joanne J
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We have just stayed at The Watermill Cottage for 1 week over the New Year period and we had an excellent time. We were kept fully informed of key collection, cottage was clean and warm on arrival, any queries were addressed with the key holder leading up to the holiday. Only recommendation would be for 10 people one more shower needed - would definitely go back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markusand...
WA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“TICKed all the Boxes”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were so lucky to find this 10-berth facility, when everything similar was already booked. What a find. It was beautiful, quaint, quirky and ticked all our boxes, except maybe one. The addition of at least one other bathroom with genuine shower would have helped, but otherwise the Mill had everything, very well appointed and provided for. We filled the house with our full quota of bodies, plus two friends staying in B&B closeby hung-out with us. all good friends, singles, couples and including children we never felt overcrowded, even at mealtimes, around the table where we tended to leisurely congregated and made merry. Perhaps a little less clutter (football trophies in Kitchen?), whilst not reducing its country charm, could be an extra virtue. Beware the Watermill with its numerous rooms and cosy living areas it is easy to forget where you left the keys, cameras, phones, iPads etc etc. the lounge included a large (though little used by us) TV, and other rooms had TVs and DVDs etc alike. Kitchen was well stocked, and catered for the large group. External appearance and location was great. Very quaint location with pond and original water mill features was very appealing, and Tickhill was a nice understated town/village, with all the amenities we required.
We only had two cars within the group, but a 3rd or 4th vehicle may have presented a problem, but that is an observation made almost apologetically in looking for negatives...otherwise we only had positive comments to make. The property appears to be on the market, so it would be a shame if this building is lost to the holiday lettings market.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Olde world charm compromising well with modern living for a large group
Liked least: Only one room with genuine shower. Even good friends of mixed sex have to work together to manage a morning shower rota!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing