We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
52
15
4
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
15
4
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute walk san juan del sur nicaragua town hill accommodations beers beaches
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2018

Nice hotel on the hill. happy hour drinks $2 dls each,beers $1 dl each closed to several beautiful beaches like Maderas,Mahajual, Yankee,Playa El Coco,Maderas,Playones,there is also a pretty nice small town I recommend
San Juan Del Sur where you can swim and eat good food

.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank navarrol43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

If you want a peaceful and relaxing get away near San Juan Del Sur, this is the place to stay! The nicest staff, a beautiful property, nooks and crannies everywhere to relax and enjoy the gorgeous view...this is a wonderful hotel on the quiet coast of Nica. Vicky will make sure your stay is exactly what you want. Patios, hammocks, bar, restaurant, 2 minute walk to the beach, surf lessons...everything you need is right here.
We booked the family room, which is two guest hotel rooms joined by a bathroom. Plenty of room, windows, and air conditioners. Clean and comfortable.
If you read about people disappointed with this location, they likely weren’t coming to this area for the quiet spot that it is. If you want to see tons of Americans and party late into the night then you really should stay in San Juan Del Sur.
The beach at the end of the road is shore break, always empty, with two restaurants on the sand. Watch out for the fresh water crocs!!
We will be back! Enjoy your time in this sweet castle on the hill!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

The best part about this hotel is when you drive up as it looks really impressive sitting on top of the hill. It was also very empty so it may be nice for a couple trying to relax and get away. Its about a 5 minute walk to the local beach which is OK but not as nice as neighboring beach in Playa Madera. Also the free breakfast was solid (pancakes especially). Downsides are the fact that it is very isolated, requiring a 30 minute drive on rocky roads to get into San Juan Del Sur. Not much worth seeing between this hotel and the town. The hotel itself isn't very nice, seemed like a 2 star hotel in terms of accommodations and cleanliness. There were so many bugs. I got all bitten up in my bed while sleeping. This was the most expensive hotel of the trip and the least impressive of the 3. Staff was OK but not very friendly except for the main manager who was nice. Overall, I'd recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Casa Bahia. The most friendly staff and the most beautiful views. The owner Greg, made us feel at home like we were part of the family. We cannot wait to come back. It was also nice practically having the whole beach to ourselves.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Yon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregW589, Owner at Casa Bahia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

We are very lucky, we seem to get the nicest guest that stay at our resort Casa Bahia Hotel. We are so happy here in Nicaragua, it helps that we in a beautiful and friendly country!

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

Terrible experience. The resort was under construction when we arrived, they were jack hammering the empty pool & there were no guests there. We had a reservation to stay for 4 nights but had to go on Expedia to find another place. They had no explanation for why they did not email us but they did give us a bottle of wine & a ride back to town for our inconvenience. We wound up staying at a lovely place closer to town called Villas de Palermo.

Casa Bahia is a 30 min drive on a dirt road from town. Just make sure they are open before you go.

Stayed: January 2017
4  Thank ANNA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews