We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Nearby Hotels
Costa Dulce(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Loma del Socorro(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$198
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort(San Juan del Sur)
US$49
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Encanto del Sur(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa(San Juan del Sur)
US$360
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Victoriano(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barrio Cafe Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rositas Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$33
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Estacion(San Juan del Sur)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Estrella(San Juan del Sur)
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
55
47
14
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
47
14
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful beachturtles laying eggsthe pacific oceanflorapartmentconservation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Very clean, nice apartment ( Los volcanos). Quality/price report is just perfect. Kitchen has everything you need for a small stay. Service is very good, quick. Beach is in two steps from house, beautiful, clean Small Pool is just in front of your house, equipped with a shower. Only the restaurant has disappointed us. Fortunately, breakfast was included at no additional cost, but we were waiting for almost for an hour, portions are small for Nicaragua (and pricey if you have to pay) and a lot of flies. But still complex is very nice place to stay with everything you need and good service.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mirra35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

the manager there was not honnest. the place is very nice and intresting the access is not very god because the dirt road and you have to cross a river with no bridge but all the bad expiriences you forget when you see all the beautiful turttles laying the eggs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caracter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parque_Maritimo, General Manager at Parque Maritimo el Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Dear Pablo: The staff of Parque Maritimo el Coco appreciate your review about the hotel. In our web site content or emails correspondence, none of our staff offers Umbrellas on the beach because we do not have them. I apologize if you understood there were umbrellas on the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Loved the beach! Playa El Coco is such a beautiful peaceful beach. The water was a little chilly when we visited in February, but it was refreshing after a walk or hike, we got used to the not-so-warm-water after a few minutes also. The water had small waves, not totally calm, made it more fun. It was not very crowded, we never saw more than six people at one time on the beach, with the beach's size, it felt very private. From one end of the beach, where Parque Maritimo El Coco is located to the other end would take about 20 leisurely minute to walk. During low tide, we visited two smaller beaches (other end from Parque Maritimo) hiking over the exposed rocks, it was great seeing small fishes caught in small pools of water, sea urchins etc.; and just the hike itself was great.

We stayed in Apartamento Los Cangrejos which we enjoyed. It was right on the beach, being from the city, we were not used to the sound of the waves at night, which on the first night we thought was too loud, but we slept soundly the second and subsequent nights though. The apartment was just the right size. Had a nice patio to have your Tona and wonder at the ocean. The room was not luxurious in any way, but nice in a charming rustic kind of way. It always had a breeze blowing through it, we didn't even use the AC. We were hesitant at first of staying because it didn't have hot water, but it wasn't really needed. They provide drinking water. There was a restaurant in the compound which had good food and drinks, if a little more expensive compared to Nica standards. We also tried the other restaurant on the beach (Lug's) was not crazy about their food at all, but with friendly service. There's also a basic grocery store in the compound; good for eggs, beer etc. Angelica who works on the front desk was the friendliest, most helpful and smilingest person on any of the Nicaraguan front desks we've encountered, we stayed in four different places in Nica on this trip. She also responded quickly on my questions and inquiries prior to arrival.

We experienced the added bonus of releasing baby turtles into the Pacific Ocean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WashingtonJonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parque_Maritimo, General Manager at Parque Maritimo el Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Dear Jonnan: All the staff that works at Parque Maritimo el Coco apreciate your review. We are specialy gratefull about your comments on Agenlica because this will make us all improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Parque Maritimo el Coco is a beautiful, friendly place to stay on the most beautiful beach in Nicaragua. The diversity of lodging options provide options for all kinds of families and groups. The trees and other natural growth make it unobtrusive on the beautiful landscape. The restaurant is great, and offers a pool for kids, as well as entertainment and a place to socialize. It is hiking distance from the La Flor national park where turtles come to lay their eggs, and on more than one occasion we have seen a turtle come right up on the beach at El Coco as well. It is a quiet place that is very family friendly as well as offering privacy for each condo. Staff are friendly, responsive and accomodating.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I went with a small group and we rented out a cabin- it wasn't on the beach, but you are never too far from it! It was nice to have 2 bathrooms in our cabin (3 bedroom) and each room had air-conditioning (the main room had 2 large fans) and safes to lock up personal belongings. Wifi is available and handy in the cabin. The rooms are cleaned daily but do tend to get a bit dirty- that's the life of bringing in lots of sand! Sometimes the kitchen wasn't cleaned because we used it minimally.
Breakfast at the beachfront hotel restaurant was included and offered good variety (the best is honestly the Creole breakfast- eat Nicaraguan fare!). Your order can take a long time to prepare but if you pre-order the night before for a set time they are good about being on time.
It worked well for our group and we spent more of the days out exploring and visiting the sea/beaches so we didn't really use the pool. The office staff were not always found at the desk during the state hours, but when they were they were mostly helpful and friendly.
The area is known for nesting sea turtles and surfing- watch out for stingrays, they are common and we saw many (no incidents) and the hotel is clear about warning guests about it.
I think if you are a relaxed traveler you will be happy here- it is a good place overall and I could recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DreamOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews