We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Horse and Jockey
Nearby Hotels
Sudbury House(Faringdon)
US$134
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bell Hotel(Faringdon)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Star Inn(Wantage)
US$136
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bear Hotel(Wantage)
US$129
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$75
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel(Abingdon)(Great Value!)
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
43
23
11
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
23
11
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening mealthe pubsunday lunchlarge car parkthe sticky toffee puddingice creambeefcooked to perfectionbottled waternice atmospherefantastic foodstayed for one nightfish and chipshigh standardvery friendly servicewonderful dinnermenu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We think this pub has had a thorough refurbish but the food does not match up. We were greeted well at the bar and our drinks brought outside quickly. The food was well presented but the tzaitziki was a thin enough to drink with a few tiny bits of cucumber, the quacamole was brownish and tasteless, the humous was fine. The chips were soggy, the beef burger fair though the bun a bit stale. Overall a disappointing visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 43butcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHorseandJockey, Owner at Horse and Jockey, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We're so sorry you were disappointed by the food, next time you come and visit please tell us if anything is not to your satisfaction at the time and we'll fix things straight away, we'd never knowingly let any of our customers walk away disappointed. We hope to make it up to you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The recent fire left many wondering what would happen to the place and it's been done beautifully. There's still bar stools to sit and chat at the bar. A friendly welcome, happy staff and still in keeping with the tradition of the place. It's now gorgeous inside. Could do with rails in the loos for disabled and possibly a disabled parking space or two. Really well done to the team

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Scarlet-Sammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

A group of us were camping near by and arrived about 8:30pm on the Friday night. Some of us had some food which was awesome. Portion sizes were good and the specials were also good. Popped in in again for dinner on Saturday but they were too busy to feed us. Instead they suggested somewhere down the road and went out of their way to book us in there. Top marks all round.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonFitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

we stayed on a short trip to stanford using the pub as it was near to a function we wera attending it was a warm and friendly initial greeting which always bodes well the acommodation was good very clean plenty of hot water in shower which is always a boon to travellers and had hot and cold refreshments to hand in our room and tv on wall,we had full English the following morning which was excellent and plentiful and most of all we were not hurried at all and left at own pace.It was all very nice and the bed was comfy!easy access and plenty of car parking and quiet

Room Tip: we thought it may be noisy whilst pub open but we were wrong it was quiet all the rooms were at the back in a small converted period building
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60Daisy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We visited the Horse and Jockey as we wanted an evening to ourselves over the bank holiday weekend whilst visiting various relatives in the south of England. Tempted by the price of the rooms and the good reviews on trip advisor. The rooms are in a small annexe at the back of the pub and were clean comfortable and ideal for a nights stay and a good full-nights sleep. We phoned before hand to book a table for our evening meal to find out that Sunday evening is the only time meals are not served, we asked if there was anywhere else to eat near by within walking distance and was told to less it with them and they would get back to us. To cut a long story short they arranged for the chef to come in and cook for us and we had a fantastic meal three course meal with a fantastic fish sharing platter to start, a ribeye steak cooked to perfection for me and a chicken pie for my wife. As other reviews have stated the homemade ice creams are gorgeous, particularly the fudge ice cream which came the excellent sticky toffee pudding. The next morning the breakfast was a good full english with sausages that were really tasty. We couldn't fault the service and we would like to thank the staff in going the extra mile, particularly the chef coming in on her evening off. Now I'm not saying that you will get the same if you were to book on a Sunday as the horse and jockey will be updating their website etc, to let people know that the kitchen is not open on a Sunday evening.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank rick1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews