We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gougane Barra Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Seaview House Hotel(Ballylickey)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$647
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casey's Hotel(Glengarriff)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
319
57
15
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
57
15
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerdining roomnational parkbeautiful lakegreat foodwest corkfishbeautiful hotelhidden gemvagabond tourattention to detailday tripwonderful placevery special placestayed longerhis wifesteak
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This is an excellent location if you want peace and quiet. Panoramic view out over Lake Gougane Barra from hotel. Excellent facilities available here including Hill Trekking - walking - or just meditation if you wish this type of stay. Fare also excellent with very friendly and professional management and staff. Enjoy.

Room Tip: From what I have seen there is no distinction - all excellent. Front rooms panoramic view over Lake Gougane Barra and church nestled almost in the middle of the lake. Very picturesque.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pat1Co_Limerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

After a great day hill walking we decided to stay here when our walk finished.
We couldn't say enough great things about this hotel and the owners were friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent and the view onto the lake and surrounding mountains from the dining room was one of the most peaceful and relaxing I've ever seen.
We will definitely go back and stay for longer as this was the most relaxing stay of our week long holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ft1Kildare_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel has an old world charm which was matched by the staff. All were courteous and helpful without overdoing it. The food for both dinner and breakfast was delicious.

The location is simply stunning over looking the lake.

We will definately be back soon !

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cupcake05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Beautiful situation. Rooms standard. Some with beautiful views.
Extraordinary breakfast choice.

Most helpful staff.

One understands its a popular wedding venue. Atmosphere might be different at such times.

A gem.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrumpyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

A few years ago a client gave me a business card from the Gougane Barra Hotel. I am most thankful that I had not lost it. When it came time to plan our family (19 to start with 3 others joining later in the week) I contacted Katy and Ned to see if they could handle such a crowd. We had an unforgettable two days at the Gougane Barra. Katy, Ned and Ned's mother were wounderful, treating each one of us as if we were family and the only guest to attend to. The meals were first class. When one of our group asked what was on the menu for the second night's dinner, Katy came to the table with pad and pencil in hand and asked what it is that we wanted. The family is well rooted in West Cork and were generous with their time answering questions about the history of the area. The geography of the area is spectacular, actually breathtaking. I am planning on returning as soon as I can. All 18 others in the group agree! Book the Gougane Barra Hotel - you will not be disappointed. Fran Small - Milford Mass.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Small_Fitzpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews