We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“be on your own but not alone”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Stepaside B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“be on your own but not alone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I spent a relaxing three nights here as a solo traveller. I was made to feel very welcome by the owners Dawn and Kevin. Both were attentive to guests needs and even became nurses when I sustained an injury. In the evening we were lucky enough to be entertained by Kevin singing in the bar area (requests were encouraged). A lovely home from home atmosphere. My room was comfortable with a shower and toilet enjoyed suite. It is a great place to base yourself for exploring the local area and Dawn does holistic therapies which add to relaxation. Bay view is a small, family run hotel that is perfect for a quiet break.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sk8ek8e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    6
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is the 4th time we have visited Dawn and Kevin's lovely little hotel. The rooms are all different with their own decoration and theme. My friend and I share a 3 bedded room with large windows that overlook the front of the hotel and a very distant bay view. Very comfortable new beds, lots of nice touches including in room tea, coffee, (with fresh milk), water and biscuits. Breakfast is plentiful with self serve fruit and cereal followed by cooked to order hot breakfast. Dinner is all home cooked and beautifully presented - try the liver and bacon! We have already booked our trip for next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penjen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We visited at the end of October 2012 to meet friends for a quite walking based break.
On arrival Dawn & Kevin serve you a welcoming hot drink and cookie which after a 4 hour drive was most welcome.
Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. 2 bottles of complimentary water are another nice touch.
Fresh milk is supplied every night for the following morning's hot drinks in your room.
We ate in the Bistro on our first night and would recommend it.
Breakfasts cater for most palates with the full English, sorry, Welsh with a choice of eggs, well recommended.
Large screen TV in lounge where Kevin will serve you drinks, if required, as it is Licensed.
Wi-fi pretty much non existent once you get up to your room.
There is no mobile phone coverage apart from a bit of Vodaphone, if you're lucky (according to Dawn). You get it back down on the front , by the sea.
Wisemans Bridge is a pleasant 15 minute walk down the valley (take the path through the caravan site its safer and flatter than sticking to the road).

Would we visit again..........yes.

i would recommend staying here as a quiet base to explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Bay View for three nights in July and can thoroughly recommend it. Dawn and Kevin are excellent hosts and most welcoming and helpful. We had a lovely spacious and comfortable double room on the first floor with two large windows, spotlessly clean with en suite bathroom and modern furnishings. The breakfasts were very good although we didn't try the hotel bistro as we prefer to eat out in the evenings. There's a nice walk down the valley to Wiseman's Bridge beach and an excellent pub there. From there you can walk all the way along the coastal path to Tenby if you wish and the Bay View is a good base for exploring the surrounding area. There is a swimming pool in the garden but when we were there in July the weather wasn't warm enough to venture in. Ample parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Bay-view Hotel in pleasant valley near Wisemans Bridge Saundersfoot 27th July 12-excellent place to stay,excellent breakfast,outside swimming pool in a sun spot.
Beautiful walks, quiet peaceful area with loads of walking areas and still easy to get to Tenby,Saundersfoot etc.
The hosts are really friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble.
Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank chippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We visited Bayview hotel over the Diamond jubilee weekend , with friends and cannot commend it enough.The hotel is idylically situated near the industrilal heritage park in Stepaside,backing open fields with a lmature garden and in walking distance to the stunning Pembrokeshire coast @ Wisemans Bridge & Saundersfoot
The welcome is warm from Dawn& Kevin , who literally make guests feel part of the family.
The food in the Bistro is excellent & wholesome ,the rooms are very comfortable.& the price is reasonable.An ideal spot to tour the Pembrokeshire & Camarthanshire oast.

Room Tip: We had Daisyroom which had triple aspectand was delighttful. friends had sea lavender which was equ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brummie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Its not often you find a hotel with reasonable prices, great rooms, good food and nice proprietors. The good reviews the hotel already has are well earned and Dawn & Kevin are very welcoming hosts. As a bonus its in a lovely spot near to Saundersfoot and Tenby. Great for walking as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrummieJazzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stepaside
1.5 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
1.7 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saundersfoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pleasant Valley House
Pleasant Valley House
#3 of 3 in Stepaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pen Coed B&B
Pen Coed B&B
#1 of 3 in Stepaside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Hotel

Property: Bay View Hotel
Address: Pleasant Valley, Stepaside SA67 8LR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Stepaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stepaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View Hotel Stepaside, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing