We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
STF Abisko Mountain Station
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

It was the lure of northern lights which brought me and my friend to STF Abisko. With a beautiful view, the room was excellent for star gazing in night, waiting for the patterns. Since it was a weekend, there was no staff, hence no room service. But the kitchens were equipped enough for the stay. Although they were hostel rooms, each had a bathroom. A definite must for those looking for a budget stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    179
    73
    18
    12
See reviews for
60
161
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Me and my family had a nice week at STF Abisko. We lived in one of the separate cottages, which has 6 beds and a large combined living room and kitchen. We stayed there for the location and it's proximity to Björkliden and Riksgränsens ski resorts. We mostly went by cross country skis, but we did some high alpine tours with randonne skis as well. The view from the dining room is really spectacular and we really enjoyed this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl-Einar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gail2803
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The rooms are very hostel like, though with your own bathroom. I was only their for 1 night which was enough, but the room did the job as this is the best location to benefit from the Aurora Sky Station. However, the food was more of a revelation, I was expecting something basic from the restaurant, but I received a very nice 3 course meal, with very good service too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gail2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Had a great 5 days / 4 nights at STF Abisko.
The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable, there are lots of communal areas and little rooms by the fire to relax and get free wifi. The food is fantastic.
Would highly recommend a nightly photographic tour with Lights over Lapland

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueC1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The rooms are very basic. We stayed in the "youth hostel" building, Keron, a "Self-catering chalet". Here there were shared bathrooms, separate showers, and a shared kitchen. This place is truly a hostel, but we did get a private room. You are responsible for cleaning the room when you leave and will be charged extra if you don't clean.
There's a restaurant onsite. It is a little on the expensive side, but not ridiculous. The restaurant serves 1 meal and it is different every night - they can accommodate you if you have an allergy to what they are serving that night. You can either get a 3 course meal, or just opt for the entree.
From the turiststation, you can walk to downtown Abisko - it's about a 20 minute walk down a path. There's a small grocery store there that has more than the store at STF.
If you want to go to the Sky Station, make sure you book in advance, as they were sold out when we hoped to buy tickets when we checked in. You don't need to go the Sky Station to see the Lights. We stayed in the bar until someone said there were lights, then we went outside, saw some and following a trail down to the frozen lake. Abisko has their own microclimate, so it's a great spot to see the Northern Lights. They are surrounded by mountains, which stops the clouds, and creates a great Northern Light viewing spot!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeneralCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
162 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The main building is a crowded place and not very cosy. The bar closes early and the sauna's are separate. We stayed in one of the cabins. It was a bit dated. The surroundings definitely make up for it. The chair-lift ride to the Aurora mountain station was a blast. They fit you into a thick coverall that did come in handy. The restaurant has very good food. We did not see the Aurora then, because the skies were covered at the time. The next day we went out with Chad Blakley from 'lights over Lapland', who is a professional photographer. We had a fantastic night viewing the Aurora Borealis. Other activities are hiking the Kings Trail in the Abisko National Park, or skiing (a bit expensive though)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I have just returned from a trip to the Abisko Turistation as part of a Northern Lights/ Ice Hotel package organised by Discover The World.com.
We stayed in the main building. The room was clean, comfortable and basic, but then you cannot expect luxury halfway up a mountain in the wilderness of the arctic!
There is no point me writing a detailed report which would simply duplicate the last few reports.
This place is expensive, but if you are lucky, you get free tickets to the most spectacular light show on Earth!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrevorFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abisko
1.4 mi away
Abisko Guesthouse
Abisko Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Abisko
394 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abisko Mountain Lodge
16.5 mi away
Katterjokk
Katterjokk
#1 of 5 in Riksgransen
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Gammelgarden Ski Lodge
Gammelgarden Ski Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bjorkliden
8 reviews
17.4 mi away
STF Hostel Riksgransen
STF Hostel Riksgransen
#2 of 5 in Riksgransen
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STF Abisko Mountain Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STF Abisko Mountain Station

Property: STF Abisko Mountain Station
Address: 1 Abisko Turiststation, Abisko 981 07, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Abisko
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Abisko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — STF Abisko Mountain Station 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STFs northernmost resort, STF Abisko Mountain Station, at the heart of Abisko National Park. Guests from around the world come to experience the Northern Lights, Midnight Sun, hiking and skiing. Accommodation available in hotel, hostel, or cabins. Nearby iconic places: Kungsleden, Lapporten, Aurora Sky Station and Mount Nuolja. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your STF Abisko Mountain Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abisko Turiststation Hotel Abisko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing