We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the time of our lives!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lapland Hotel Pallas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lapland Hotel Pallas
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Muonio
Certificate of Excellence
mini-gem2000
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“the time of our lives!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

My 5 year old son and I stayed at this hotel just before Christmas 2011.Id read the previous reviews and I agree with everything they said. There was not one fault with this experience.Its the best thing we've ever done and I completely reccommend it to anyone, with or without children.The hotel was comfy and clean and there was plenty to eat, and very nice too.The staff were friendly, the reps and the elves excellant.The setting is in a national park so when its not dark (between about half ten and two) the view is stunning.We enjoyed sleding, snow shoe walking and skiing with the elves, as well as husky,reindeer and snomobile ride (the last three were expensive) but there is a taster session available for them.At the airport we were provided with snowsuits, boots,wool socks, hat,gloves-all were adequate enough, although we took extra gloves, hats and socks.I wore 6 layers on my legs, eg,tights,thermals,leggings,thick wool leggings,black trousers,and then the snow suit, and about 4 on top.When we were on the coach (40 mins) snowman dan (rep) gave us our room keys and itinery, which saved time wasting once at the hotel.The itinery was jam packed although there was some free time.There is nothing but beautiful hills and snow covered trees around, but on the first day before the taster sessions we were taken to a local supermarket and gift shop.this was good as there was sledging outside.The gala dinner was lovely and seeing the real santa clause was amazing.Id seen pictures on trip advisor of the santa, but i think they were quite old and these nearly put me off choosing this hotel, but the setting was just as youd imagine and the santa too.
This was totally the best thing I have ever done and everyone needs to experience this holiday.Especially at this hotel (which is the only one that has elves).
Thank you first choice, snowman dan, crackers keilly, boodolph, sarah clause, clumsy, nutcracker,pixie,sparkle, dreamer xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mini_gem2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    56
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
129
29
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

I honestly could not fault this for a holiday for anyone going with a family with children, but if your child is special needs or autistic, then it could be a problem as their needs are not catered for. I found that despite me telling everyone well in advance what my son would need. I was shrugged off and subsequently a lot of the activities he could not do as the other kids just swarmed past and he was not given the chance to have a turn and just ended up being pushed constantly to the back thus missing out on joining in or the taster sessions such as skido for children. The organised coach trips to special events sucha s sledding ec were great but once again by the time we cought up with the "crowd" we were ushered back to the coach in time to catch it backa gain, so not much time to do anything.

Leaving at the airport was nigh on impossible, despite telling everyone well ina dvance my son needed a quiet space to sit and that we would need to check in quietly as he would react to the crowds and queues, we just ended up being pushed back and back in the queue and not helped at all. We finally were last to go through checkout and by then all seats were allocated and we had to race through security etc to catch the plane. England side were more than helpful allowing early check in etc.

So all in all a super holiday but if First choice could just go that one step towards understanding special needs children and autism, then we and other special needs children would get a lot more out of this holiday and I would be going again.
Itdoesnt take much, just to let han autistic child sit in a quiet area and have their turn allocated, so he is not queing or being stressed out by over ecxcited and noisy children.

one other thing would help and that is tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank skiandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We visited the hotel between 21st & 26th December 2011 and couldn't have wished for a better holiday. The hotel was basic in accommodation but still very nice. The staff were excellent and always helpful. The best thing about the hotel was it's scenic location. The food was buffet service which had something to please everyone. For breakfast there was a choice of continental, hot dishes like eggs & bacon, and cereals. There was also different breads and pastries. Lots of fish, salad, meat, vegetarian and puds on the evening menu. You would not go hungry here! There is also a small gift shop which is cheaper than the airport shops.

We sledged every day and did a few walks, although the walking required snow shoes on occasion as the snow was thigh high in through the trees. On our holiday we also got some taster trips to the reindeer, huskies and snow mobiles. The only down side was the price of the First Choice trips - very expensive. Apparently booking the trips in the UK is cheaper.

Our rep, Dan, and the elves were fantastic and made sure all the kids had a great time which made the holiday all the better. We met and made some really good friends too, everyone was just fantastic.

Would we book this trip again - DEFINITELY!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when booking and book the trips in the UK to save some money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lapland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

I have never wrote a review before but really felt the need to write one for this holiday.

We have just returned from the most amazing holiday we have ever had and we have been to florida twice!!!

The holiday was great from the start. using the time on the coach to give you all the info usually given at the welcome meeting saved huge amounts of time and also make what is normally a very boring trip into something quite exciting.

once we arrived at the hotel you are given an hour to try on any of the clothing and change if necessary. then we had lunch and the straight out onto the toboggan run great fun.

all the first choice team were amazing (Crackers Keily, Snowman Dan, Boodoulph and Sarah Claus) without these guys and the fabulous elves i dont think we would have had such a great time.

the next day we went on the taster sessions really good fun plus a stop at the supermarket.

we did the elf adventure with the snow village all i can say is i was completly speechless this place is stunning and would definatly recommend it.

we also went on the raindeer adventure good fun although we did this in the dark would have liked to have seen it in a bit more light would still do it again.

Christmas eve the northern lights appeared we missed it!!!

Christmas day the gala dinner was lovely my favourite bit of the holiday was seeing our daughters face when she walked into see santa i was in tears.

the only negative thing i could think of was having to come home we could have stayed much longer.

so would i recommend this hotel and holiday in a heartbeat yes yes yes, we met great people, first choice staff and elves our time would not have been magical without you all.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelleyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Wow what can I say, as a couple off adults on a wedding trip without our 2 teenagers, that ranks with some of the most fun we have ever had. All the staff at the Lapland Hotel Pallas have been absolutly wonderful and the excelant team of Snowman, Crakers, Santa, the non stop dancing Boodolph and not to mention all the wonderful Elves, turned it into a truly magical time. You are all a credit to Santa and he must be proud of the work you do. We will be Back..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burkey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, from the 4th Dec, as part of First Choices Santaclusive package holiday, and from the moment we arrived the holiday fun began. We were looked after by excellent rep's and magical elves. The location is absolutely perfect (if you like the wilderness) with snow covered trees & mountains as far as the eye can see in every direction. There are a couple of Toboggan runs down one side of the Lodge, where we spent every free moment we had. Just beside that is an ice bar, where warm berry juice, hot chocolate and chilled beer are served and there are two fires with fur covered benches to rest on when you are all tobogganed out.
The tester day started off with an Artic Circle crossing ceremony, performed by a local Shaman, followed by Sleigh rides with Reindeer, Snow Bikes, Husky Sledging, snow ball fights with the Elves and more warm berry juice drinking. Later that day the Elves took us into the woods surrounding the lodge, all kitted out with snow shoes and had us back in plenty of time for our booked Husky Sleigh adventure, which was very dark, very exciting and a little smelly (depending on what the dogs had had for lunch).
The following day was filled with decoration making, cookie decorating and special visits from both Mrs & Mr Claus, which had child and adult alike screaming with excitement.
The final day is a heartbreaker, having to leave the Elves (and Elves-in-training) at the airport was emotional for the kids, the Elves and the parents, make sure you are stocked up on tissues.
All in all the holiday will remain a magical memory forever, it is the setting for the most perfect christmas you could ever have, and you couldn't hope to have more kind, caring, up for a laugh reps than Boodolph, Snowman Dan, Sara Clause & Crackers Kiely. If you've been searching for a bit of that Christmas magic then look no further, I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CrimsonMonkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We travelled to this hotel 7-11 December with First Choice, who label
the hotel as Snowy Wilderness Lodge to UK customers. We are a family of
3 (2 children aged around 40 and one aged 4). This is not a review of
the hotel as such, rather a review of the holiday as a whole. Having
said that the hotel is in a fantastic location, fairly remote (no shops
etc., to distract you from the snowy fun). The rooms are functional,
warm and very clean, but do not expect luxury. We found the beds to be
comfortable and had duvets rather than sheets (which we really liked).
The communal areas, such as reception, bar and restaurant are
comfortable and clean. The food, all buffet style, was warm and filling
and of a good standard. There are plenty of snacks available during the
morning and afternoon.

The holiday is really made by the efforts of the First Choice staff and
'the elves'. who are brilliant, and the children become quiet attached
to the elves. The range of events put on was very good, and the
enthusiasm of the reps and elves is great. The two optional excursions
that we did, being the Family Snow Mobile and Huskies, were pricey yes,
but we felt worth it. The snow suits provided, along with a little
sensible layering underneath mean that you should not get cold when
outside for an hour or two.

We were particularly impressed by the professionalism of the First
Choice reps., even when they were presented with what I could only
describe as the most difficult and rudest person I have ever witnessed.
Well done to First Choice for handling that so well.

We met some really nice people and pretty much everyone joined in the
fun. Taking into account the large number of children on the trip, they
all seemed to get on really well. If you go without children then do
expect to be surrounded by children for lots of the time when in the
hotel. However, with one or two small exceptions, the children were
ever so well behaved.

Gala night was excellent. The 'main man' himself was truly magical - we
believe!! We don't want to give a run down of all the events as you
should go and experience it all yourself.

So, all in all, this holiday was excellent. We had high expectations
before we went, and we think that these expectations were exceeded.
Looking to book for next year, if we can.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RandCChes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muonio
6.9 mi away
Hotel Jeris
Hotel Jeris
#3 of 3 in Muonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
25.0 mi away
Lapland Hotel Sirkantahti
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apartments Levi Gold
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel Vuontispirtti
Hotel Vuontispirtti
#4 of 4 in Enontekio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Harriniva
Hotel Harriniva
#1 of 9 in Muonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
7.4 mi away
Torassieppi Winter Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapland Hotel Pallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Pallas

Property: Lapland Hotel Pallas
Address: Pallastunturintie 560 | Pallas, Muonio 99330, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Muonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Muonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lapland Hotel Pallas 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lapland Hotel Pallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapland Hotel Muonio
Lapland Hotel Pallas Finland - Muonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing