We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUSTIC CHARM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lapland Hotel Pallas
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Muonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed from 22nd to 26th December 2013, this was our second visit to Lapland, last year we went to Yllas Snow Elf which was great, but I can definitely say that the next time we return to Lapland it will be to the Hotel Pallas! The hotel exudes rustic charm in a perfect setting, okay the rooms are basic but they are clean, warm, comfortable and very adequate. The Thomson reps, elves and hotel staff are all fantastic and nothing was ever too much trouble for them, they all made it a personal, intimate and wonderful experience. The food was good and plentiful, the entertainment great and the whole atmosphere fantastic from start to finish!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Home H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

I'm not one for writing an full report on the hotel so will try and keep it brief .
This was, without doubt the most amazing holiday we have ever had and our two kids (6&8) were just blown away with everything from the resort (sledging) to the husky trip and snowmobile ride. Also a quick note on the elves, they were excellent as were the reps and kept our two entertained for the whole holiday which was obvioulsy nice for us!!
If you are looking for a spacious room with 5* beds and 5* catering then maybe you need to look elsewhere but lets be honest, that is not what you come here for. The hotel was very clean and comfortable (apart from the sofa bed) and the food good on all meals but it's all about the outdoors here, from the stunning setting to all the outings. Yes, not the cheapest excursions we have been on but when are you going to do it again? You just have to do them and you won't be disappointed.
To conclude, a stunning location, a good hotel and a great experience. We would recommend it to anyone without a doubt. One little tip for seeing some winter wonderland sites; if you walk up the road and on the first bend, there is a track going through the fence line. Follow this path and you will see the undisturbed snowy landscape. We went at about 8.00am and it took your breath away (see some of the pictures). I don't think many families knew it was there as they didn't leave the resort but it is a must!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Noel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have never written a review but feel compelled to do so. From start to finish this holiday was truly magical and amazing. We were a party of 9 (4 adults and 5 children), on periods where there were no arranged activities, we used that opportunity to have some amazing family time and did some extra sledging and had general fun in the snow, there was no time for the gadgets and IPads that were brought with us!! It was an adventure like we have never experienced and although we said it would be a one off trip, I can see us returning when our youngest is a little older. There were so many different resorts/hotels to choose from which all offered similar activities but also had something slightly different, I feel that we definitely had the best Lapland experience due to the location!! As we passed through areas like Levi, which looked very pretty, it did not appear true Lappish style when we could see Subway and Mcdonalds there. Rooms are very basic but extremely warm and clean. Food was great, even managed to find something suitable for my very fussy 7 year old to eat. The hotel had a very relaxed atmosphere and we were at ease allowing the children to explore. The day of our activity tasters was extremely cold -37, but we still managed to enjoy the whole experience. We did however feel that the cost of having the full experiences, was rather expensive as most of the adventure would have been taken up with travelling time. So we decided, that because we could actually say that we had been on a husky, reindeer and snowmobile ride in LAPLAND, that we would do something different. This something different was a visit to The Ice Village, home to the ICE HOTEL. This in itself was worth the money just to see the sculpted bedrooms, a bar, a chapel, an ice slide all made out of ICE. There were also activities for the children - skidoos and sledging and also a trip though a little forest in a sleigh pulled by a snow mobile (magical). The Staff, Elves and Reps were absolutely fantastic at this hotel, the setting was picture perfect and we feel that we have been extremely fortunate to have experienced the Lappish Lifestyle, and the All Inclusive option was a life saver!! We were also lucky enough to see the Northern Lights from this Hotel! If you have booked this hotel - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NIA0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We arrived on Boxing day for a three night stay, and cannot praise the Hotel or the staff enough. Our children are aged 5 and 7 and loved every moment of the holiday, especially the Elves, who are just amazing. This is a very family orientated Hotel, and the kids are catered for constantly, with a whole band of elves (Woody, Splodge, Funky, Wooly Socks, and many others) never far away. We had booked our excursions (Reindeer Safari and Husky adventure) before arrival and so gave the taster session a miss as it took up several hours of the first full day. I am glad we did this, as it meant we had the hotel grounds almost entirely to ourselves for that period, to play endlessly on the toboggan runs, and just to explore undisturbed in the snow. Both of the excursions were great, but the Husky adventure was undoubtedly the best. The children loved holding Husky puppies after being pulled through the snow, and would gladly have smuggled one home under their coats.
The Winter clothing was all provided on arrival at the airport, although we had taken our own snow boots, and used these in preference. The snow suits kept us all cosy and warm in the snow. The one downside of the holiday was that we did not get to see the northern lights, as the clouds never cleared during our stay, but this is a small thing in the grand scheme of what was the best family break we have ever been on. I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone. An amazing winter wonderland.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ColinH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We were also at this resort from 22 -26th Dec and I dont want to repeat what others have said other than how fab this place is! We went as two adults only and whilst this is definately a child orientated resort there was loads for us to do and we were able to sit back and chill when we wanted to. I was a bit confused what clothes to take but as others have said all you really need for outdoors are some thermal layers, long sleeved tops, leggings etc. We also took our own snow boots - just the £30 ones from Mountain Warehouse - which was great as I knew they fitted perfectly and were really comfy. We also took our own hats & gloves in our hand luggage as it was chilly between the plane & transfer bus. Although we didn't use them the mittens provided by Thomsons looked good enough but some people put a thin pair of wooly gloves/mits to keep them extra toasy.
The hotel was in a perfect location with nothing but gorgeous scenery as far as you could see. Inside the rooms were basic but they were warm and comfy with lovely hot showers. I found the bar/reception area to be cold so I would advise to pack a couple of jumpers just in case but everywhere else was fine to wear ordinary clothes.
There was loads to do during the day for both children & adults alike. The sledging was great fun especially down the lower ski slope with the elves. All areas were really well lit with clearly marked sledge runs and access. Sledges were always available and the snow shoe walk was great fun.
The food is much as others have said but the all inclusive aspect of this hotel was definately worth it for teas, coffees, cake, beers and soft drinks alone!
We booked all of the trips and they were all excellent apart from the reindeer ride which I felt was a bit of a rip off with half the time spent waiting for the other group to return - this meant only about 25 mins trip for 172 euros pp.
The huskys were great fun and my husband really enjoyed driving our own husky team - it did involve running up the hills to help them along - so if anyone has mobility issues it might be best to get an Elf to drive your team so you can sit back & relax. We had the total bonus of getting a glimpse of the Northern Lights at the end of this trip - driving a husky team and seeing the lights on Christmas Day will be hard to beat!
We also went on the night snowmobile trip which was brilliant - going over the frozen lake at 60km/hr was great fun & won't be forgotten for a long time. This was a first for me but felt totally safe and secure with our guide Harmony the Elf. (Take the thinner wooly hat provided by Thomsons to put under your helmet if, like me, you don't like balaclavas)
Pre booking trips was cheaper than booking them in the resort.
Fair enough the photos with Santa were expensive at 40 euros and I agree it would have been nice to see him arrive but this was a one off experience for us so think that the photo pack was worth it, expecially with the ones of the elves & elves in training.
Overall this was a truly magical holiday and would definately recommend it to everyone whether you have children with you or are merely a child at heart! .

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms were similar and would all have lovely views of the surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank corky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I have never previously booked a package holiday and looked at all the independent and small operator options for Lapland but could never justify the £5k+ price tag for 3-5 days in the country. When I saw this hotel on offer with Thomson 3 weeks before Christmas for less than half that price we booked it and hoped for the best after reading some promising reviews. The all inclusive food and drink was a big selling point, anyone who has travelled in Scandinavia will know that a €5 coke is not out of the ordinary and a basic restaurant meal for 4 can easily cost €100. With that in mind having beer and wine in the price seemed like a good deal. There are no small child friendly soft drinks if your children don't drink fizzy drinks. We could have done with a bottle of squash in the suitcase.

The location is stunning, surrounded by miles of thin pine trees laden with snow. We didn't have clear weather for the trip so didn't see the northern lights and couldn't make the most of the picture perfect location. But in clear weather I can see it would be even more incredible. The location is both a blessing and a curse as while it is stunning there is no option but to take the Thomson excursions from the hotel which leaves you with a £300-400 price tag for a family of 4 to spend 30mins on a husky ride. Not something we were prepared to pay. In nearby Levi you can independently hire a husky sled for €60 for 90mins so the premium prices at Snowy Wilderness should be factored in if you are making price comparisons.

The rooms are disappointing, more like a hostel in appearance than a hotel. They are small and lack any decor whatsoever. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms clean. The showers are hot and good. The rest of the hotel has more character, with nice nooks and crannies. But overall this is a basic ski lodge.

On board the coach from the airport we were handed a packed itinerary which panicked me a little. All very holiday camp-esque with family discos and quizzes. We were also told about the optional excursions all with an incredibly hefty price tag. Once we arrived the magic took over, our children were wowed by the wonderful elves, especially Elfy and Funky who were firm favourites. The on tap tobogganing was a hit, as were the tasters of husky rides, snowmobiling, reindeer sleigh ride and a morning of cross country skiing in the hotel car park. It snowed almost constantly which added more magic. Our children were constantly entertained, while we watched on and joined in, exhausted by all the effort.

Meals are hearty, much like school dinner style mass catering. I didn't expect anything wonderful, it is hot, plentiful and edible. There are passable vegetarian options like cauliflower cheese and nice soups at lunchtime.

The main event is the meeting with Santa. This was a bit of an anticlimax. I have taken my children to see Santa every year in various UK locations and I can't honestly say this surpassed any of those. It was quick and basic. I objected to the €40 charge for a photo. Thomson would do better to add this to the price of the holiday and give you a photo included. Having a elf charge your parents for a picture kills the magic a little. My son wanted to know where Santa's sleigh was, a good question.

Overall it was a cheap but lovely Lapland experience. The snow play and activities were great and the elves made the holiday. The entertainment by the reps was great and I couldn't fault them but I didn't expect full on resort style entertainment and could've lived without it. My kids loved it though. I'd definitely go back to Lapland.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Fantastic hotel, staff amazing and Thomson reps/kids reps just brilliant!

All started with tinsel and christmas songs at Manchester aiport, singing on the plane and singling whenever you are on a coach!!! Just brilliant.

We have come back from this hotel on Boxing Day after spending a snowy Christmas here.

Just brilliant, from the way you are looked after by the reps and the elves. 'Kids' of all ages will love the friendly and laid back atmosphere with the picture perfect Christmas Card setting.

Rooms are basic, but clean, roomy (we were 2 adults and 1 child) and lovely views over the front (we were in an even numbered room).

Food is basic, but is fine for what you need and there is plenty of it, the all inc beer and wine is of good quality and there is no end of hot drinks (not hot chocolate so take your own instant if your kids will want it or its nearly 4 euros a go!), and ginger biscuits galore!!!

Entertainment for all ages indoor and sledges, playground for kids, or just play in the snow.

Won't give too much away but it was fab!

Can't wait to go back :-)

Tips - take plenty of crisps/sweets/chocolates with you as they are expensive from the bar
Clothes - no need to dress up, very chilled, so you'll end up wearing the same thing all the time!!! We dressed up on Christmas day only!!
Clothes supplied from Thomson - are fab, just take thermals/leggings/socks to layer up with, and your own hats, and use their gloves and socks to go over yours. Boots are great too.
Trips - pre book in UK as more expensive there. All good though from what we heared. We dod the huskie and dads did the evening snowmobile experience.

Enjoy as its just brilliant x

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyMarston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muonio
7.0 mi away
Hotel Jeris
Hotel Jeris
#2 of 3 in Muonio
137 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Vuontispirtti
Hotel Vuontispirtti
#4 of 4 in Enontekio
4 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Harriniva
Hotel Harriniva
#1 of 9 in Muonio
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Torassieppi Winter Village
11.9 mi away
Lomamaja Pekonen
Lomamaja Pekonen
#5 of 9 in Muonio
13 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sarkijarven Majat
Sarkijarven Majat
#4 of 9 in Muonio
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapland Hotel Pallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Pallas

Address: Pallastunturintie 560 | Pallas, Muonio 99330, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Muonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Muonio
Price Range: £74 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lapland Hotel Pallas 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lapland Hotel Pallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapland Hotel Muonio
Lapland Hotel Pallas Finland - Muonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing