We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter wonderland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lapland Hotel Pallas
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Muonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed from 22nd to 26th December 2013 and we all fell in love with Lapland. I've never seen so much snow ! The hotel was perhaps a bit dated but had everything we wanted. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere but that's what made it special. The Thomson reps, elves and hotel staff were superb and were fantastic with our two children (8 & 4). Although a very pricey holiday, the holiday and excursions were worth every penny; husky rides, reindeer rides, Ice Hotel were all great and to top it all we saw the Northern Lights on Xmas Day. We couldn't have asked for more. A must do holiday, especially for families with young (but not too young) children.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GIZ612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Well, what a fantastic trip with Thomson at this hotel, also known as Snowy Wilderness Lodge. We flew out on 29th Dec, for 4 nights with our 7 year old son. From start to finish, this was a perfect, amazing holiday. The hotel was in the most beautiful setting, and was warm and comfortable. Even though the rooms were basic, they were fine for this holiday, as you were only in them to get ready, and sleep. The elves, and elves in training, were excellent, and knew everyone by name. We even had Thomson the dog, come to our room, and made several appearances, most nights at the children's entertainment.
The food was nice, and the all inclusive drinks were fine, although, it would have been good to have spirits included in the price. New Year's Eve was the best ever. A gala dinner, which was beautiful, and because there was only 42 people in our hotel, we had 2 tables, so felt like one big family. We then experienced Santa and an elf, drive past the restaurant window, and into the hotel. Each child and family then went and had a private meeting with Santa. Amazing.
Seeing the new year in was fab. Glass of bubbly, and sparklers outside in the snow, then going down the toboggan run, with the elves and elves in training was such fun.
We also did the taster sessions on husky rides, reindeer sleigh, and snow mobiles. Everything, was so well organised, and truly magical. We were lucky enough to have a 2 day ski lift pass and free transfer to Olos ski resort, which again was fantastic. We also, had a free snow mobiling excursion there too, which was so pretty, going through the wilderness surrounded by trees.
We paid extra for the husky trail blazer trip, which was great. My husband drove our sleigh and dogs.
It wasn't as cold as expected in Lapland during our visit, but you are kitted out at the airport on arrival, with thermal suits, gloves and boots, I would recommend taking skiwear also, as you then have something to change into, if other gear is drying off.
We were lucky enough on New Year's Day, to see a reindeer in the hotel car park. I would recommend this hotel, if you want to be away from it all, as its in the middle of nowhere and such a perfect setting whilst being friendly and providing lovely food and drinks.
I would also like to thank Twilight Tyler, Misletoe Minty, and Jonny Crackers, for fab entertainment, along with the elves especially Elfie, Funky and Frosty, for making our stay a truly magical time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank miche88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed from 22nd to 26th December 2013, this was our second visit to Lapland, last year we went to Yllas Snow Elf which was great, but I can definitely say that the next time we return to Lapland it will be to the Hotel Pallas! The hotel exudes rustic charm in a perfect setting, okay the rooms are basic but they are clean, warm, comfortable and very adequate. The Thomson reps, elves and hotel staff are all fantastic and nothing was ever too much trouble for them, they all made it a personal, intimate and wonderful experience. The food was good and plentiful, the entertainment great and the whole atmosphere fantastic from start to finish!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Home H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I'm not one for writing an full report on the hotel so will try and keep it brief .
This was, without doubt the most amazing holiday we have ever had and our two kids (6&8) were just blown away with everything from the resort (sledging) to the husky trip and snowmobile ride. Also a quick note on the elves, they were excellent as were the reps and kept our two entertained for the whole holiday which was obvioulsy nice for us!!
If you are looking for a spacious room with 5* beds and 5* catering then maybe you need to look elsewhere but lets be honest, that is not what you come here for. The hotel was very clean and comfortable (apart from the sofa bed) and the food good on all meals but it's all about the outdoors here, from the stunning setting to all the outings. Yes, not the cheapest excursions we have been on but when are you going to do it again? You just have to do them and you won't be disappointed.
To conclude, a stunning location, a good hotel and a great experience. We would recommend it to anyone without a doubt. One little tip for seeing some winter wonderland sites; if you walk up the road and on the first bend, there is a track going through the fence line. Follow this path and you will see the undisturbed snowy landscape. We went at about 8.00am and it took your breath away (see some of the pictures). I don't think many families knew it was there as they didn't leave the resort but it is a must!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Noel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have never written a review but feel compelled to do so. From start to finish this holiday was truly magical and amazing. We were a party of 9 (4 adults and 5 children), on periods where there were no arranged activities, we used that opportunity to have some amazing family time and did some extra sledging and had general fun in the snow, there was no time for the gadgets and IPads that were brought with us!! It was an adventure like we have never experienced and although we said it would be a one off trip, I can see us returning when our youngest is a little older. There were so many different resorts/hotels to choose from which all offered similar activities but also had something slightly different, I feel that we definitely had the best Lapland experience due to the location!! As we passed through areas like Levi, which looked very pretty, it did not appear true Lappish style when we could see Subway and Mcdonalds there. Rooms are very basic but extremely warm and clean. Food was great, even managed to find something suitable for my very fussy 7 year old to eat. The hotel had a very relaxed atmosphere and we were at ease allowing the children to explore. The day of our activity tasters was extremely cold -37, but we still managed to enjoy the whole experience. We did however feel that the cost of having the full experiences, was rather expensive as most of the adventure would have been taken up with travelling time. So we decided, that because we could actually say that we had been on a husky, reindeer and snowmobile ride in LAPLAND, that we would do something different. This something different was a visit to The Ice Village, home to the ICE HOTEL. This in itself was worth the money just to see the sculpted bedrooms, a bar, a chapel, an ice slide all made out of ICE. There were also activities for the children - skidoos and sledging and also a trip though a little forest in a sleigh pulled by a snow mobile (magical). The Staff, Elves and Reps were absolutely fantastic at this hotel, the setting was picture perfect and we feel that we have been extremely fortunate to have experienced the Lappish Lifestyle, and the All Inclusive option was a life saver!! We were also lucky enough to see the Northern Lights from this Hotel! If you have booked this hotel - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NIA0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We arrived on Boxing day for a three night stay, and cannot praise the Hotel or the staff enough. Our children are aged 5 and 7 and loved every moment of the holiday, especially the Elves, who are just amazing. This is a very family orientated Hotel, and the kids are catered for constantly, with a whole band of elves (Woody, Splodge, Funky, Wooly Socks, and many others) never far away. We had booked our excursions (Reindeer Safari and Husky adventure) before arrival and so gave the taster session a miss as it took up several hours of the first full day. I am glad we did this, as it meant we had the hotel grounds almost entirely to ourselves for that period, to play endlessly on the toboggan runs, and just to explore undisturbed in the snow. Both of the excursions were great, but the Husky adventure was undoubtedly the best. The children loved holding Husky puppies after being pulled through the snow, and would gladly have smuggled one home under their coats.
The Winter clothing was all provided on arrival at the airport, although we had taken our own snow boots, and used these in preference. The snow suits kept us all cosy and warm in the snow. The one downside of the holiday was that we did not get to see the northern lights, as the clouds never cleared during our stay, but this is a small thing in the grand scheme of what was the best family break we have ever been on. I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone. An amazing winter wonderland.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ColinH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We were also at this resort from 22 -26th Dec and I dont want to repeat what others have said other than how fab this place is! We went as two adults only and whilst this is definately a child orientated resort there was loads for us to do and we were able to sit back and chill when we wanted to. I was a bit confused what clothes to take but as others have said all you really need for outdoors are some thermal layers, long sleeved tops, leggings etc. We also took our own snow boots - just the £30 ones from Mountain Warehouse - which was great as I knew they fitted perfectly and were really comfy. We also took our own hats & gloves in our hand luggage as it was chilly between the plane & transfer bus. Although we didn't use them the mittens provided by Thomsons looked good enough but some people put a thin pair of wooly gloves/mits to keep them extra toasy.
The hotel was in a perfect location with nothing but gorgeous scenery as far as you could see. Inside the rooms were basic but they were warm and comfy with lovely hot showers. I found the bar/reception area to be cold so I would advise to pack a couple of jumpers just in case but everywhere else was fine to wear ordinary clothes.
There was loads to do during the day for both children & adults alike. The sledging was great fun especially down the lower ski slope with the elves. All areas were really well lit with clearly marked sledge runs and access. Sledges were always available and the snow shoe walk was great fun.
The food is much as others have said but the all inclusive aspect of this hotel was definately worth it for teas, coffees, cake, beers and soft drinks alone!
We booked all of the trips and they were all excellent apart from the reindeer ride which I felt was a bit of a rip off with half the time spent waiting for the other group to return - this meant only about 25 mins trip for 172 euros pp.
The huskys were great fun and my husband really enjoyed driving our own husky team - it did involve running up the hills to help them along - so if anyone has mobility issues it might be best to get an Elf to drive your team so you can sit back & relax. We had the total bonus of getting a glimpse of the Northern Lights at the end of this trip - driving a husky team and seeing the lights on Christmas Day will be hard to beat!
We also went on the night snowmobile trip which was brilliant - going over the frozen lake at 60km/hr was great fun & won't be forgotten for a long time. This was a first for me but felt totally safe and secure with our guide Harmony the Elf. (Take the thinner wooly hat provided by Thomsons to put under your helmet if, like me, you don't like balaclavas)
Pre booking trips was cheaper than booking them in the resort.
Fair enough the photos with Santa were expensive at 40 euros and I agree it would have been nice to see him arrive but this was a one off experience for us so think that the photo pack was worth it, expecially with the ones of the elves & elves in training.
Overall this was a truly magical holiday and would definately recommend it to everyone whether you have children with you or are merely a child at heart! .

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms were similar and would all have lovely views of the surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank corky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muonio
7 mi away
Hotel Jeris
Hotel Jeris
#3 of 3 in Muonio
147 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Iso-Syote
Hotel Iso-Syote
#1 of 1 in Iso-Syote
298 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Vuontispirtti
Hotel Vuontispirtti
#4 of 4 in Enontekio
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hotel Harriniva
Hotel Harriniva
#1 of 9 in Muonio
332 reviews
11.9 mi away
Lomamaja Pekonen
Lomamaja Pekonen
#6 of 9 in Muonio
14 reviews
20.9 mi away
Northern Lights Ranch
Northern Lights Ranch
#1 of 1 in Kongas
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapland Hotel Pallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Pallas

Address: Pallastunturintie 560 | Pallas, Muonio 99330, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Muonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Muonio
Price Range: £74 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lapland Hotel Pallas 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lapland Hotel Pallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapland Hotel Muonio
Lapland Hotel Pallas Finland - Muonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing