We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great cottage with great views the spa made the stay. As for the service it was unexceptable. Will not return on our experienc”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fernglen Forest Retreat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great cottage with great views the spa made the stay. As for the service it was unexceptable. Will not return on our experienc”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The location of the fernglen cottage and the out door spa made it a place we had to stay as there was 4 ppl and a baby we had to have a extra room opened. The extra room was a double bunk bed and single on top. As the other cottage was not available to be rented out as we rented out the first it would of made sense if we could of had the joint cottages. But still a lovely place. The privacy was out main issue as the first note in the spa we were spied on as we saw a torch late at night. The next day we were made to feel like teenages in trouble for filling the spa as there was no clear instructions in spa area. After convincing the owner for us to be able to use the spa the next night . We were spied on again and told we were to loud we said we would keep it down but we discussing how angry we were about the place. The owner had been listening came rushing up swearing at us all telling us to leave she would refund all our money will not go into details about the horrible conversation. After calming the situation down she left we stayed in the spa confused. The next day we decided we had to leave. But we noticed the owner had left we had left and received a voice mail with apologies as we had no reception at the cottage. We were not offered a full refund not even a full days refund. Extremely disappointed with the service we were shown we checked up on like little children. And no real effort was made to fix the problems. Extremely disappointed with the way we were treated. It ruined our stay. I do hope that when other people stay they are treated with more respect.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss_murphy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m1n1me, Manager at Fernglen Forest Retreat, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Raucous and undiciplined behaviour from these guests led to them being offered a partial refund, in the hope that they would depart early.

Without pemission, they topped up the spa with water destined for toilet flushing, rendering the spa unsafe for use.

Twice, late in the evening, they had to be asked to keep the noise level down, whilst flrolicking in the dirrty spa (their decision) - Noise that loud can travel up the valley and can be heard by neighbours.

As stated on our website, we offer accommodation in a beautiful, tranquil location and endeavour, on all occassions, to offer all of our guests a truly relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed for one night with our toddler at the Windmill Lodge. It is newly renovated and just a lovely space to relax in, especially with the log fire. There were plenty of toys inside and outside to keep our toddler entertained. We would have happily stayed longer. Two small issues: there was no heating in the bathroom so it was pretty cold in there, and there were no dishwashing pellets so we had to wash by hand...but if we were staying longer I would have spoken to the owners about it, they were lovely and could probably have helped in that regard.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mysgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dandenong
0.2 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#2 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retrea...
#1 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
68 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gracehill Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
1.1 mi away
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
0.8 mi away
Arnica Views
Arnica Views
#3 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernglen Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernglen Forest Retreat

Property: Fernglen Forest Retreat
Address: 10 Fern Glen Ave, Mount Dandenong, Victoria 3767, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mount Dandenong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mount Dandenong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing