We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fernglen Forest Retreat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
CountryPlace(Kalorama)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linley Estate(Kilsyth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
York on Lilydale(Mount Evelyn)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ferntree Gully Motel(Ferntree Gully)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
45
5
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
5
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa lodgeoutdoor spathe owneramazing weekendhighly recommend to everyonebeautiful lodgeopen firea great stayking parrotsbeautiful birdssit outsidebreakfast suppliesmillion milesplenty of spacewindmillclivetoys
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 53 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2012

my husband ai i along with 7 other family members stayed at the fernglen reteat in january 2012 we stayed in the windmill and spa lodge ,clive and alex made us feel extremely welcome and the seclusion and peacefullness of the retreat was fantastic plenty of wildlife to enjoy and the fantastic sounds of the bush ,we travelled from perth to attend a wedding in the dandenongs and found this perfectly located to poets lane where we had a short drive to get there ,i loved the kookaburras which greeted us every morning as we got up to cycle mount dandenong doing the 1 in 20 ride .i cant wait to be able to come back and stay again,its perfect for cyclists as you can do your riding and come back to cycle aginand have a relaxing spa and bbq at the retreat..

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed in the Windmill Lodge for two nights in January for my nieces wedding. We came over from Perth. My niece had her wedding at Poets Lane. Ferglen Forest Retreat was close enough for us to drive to the wedding. We are so happy and glad we stayed here. This has to be the best place in the Dandenong Ranges, it is a hidden gem. We ended up booking the whole lodge as my sister and her husband and a few more family members stayed here too. There was so much space for all 9 of us.

We also have two small children, there was so many toys inside and out for them to play with they loved it.

The lodges has fireplaces which are pre set up with wood paper etc for you to light the fire and plenty of firewood to keep you going. The lounge room in the Windmill lodge has a large window which overlooks the amazing big old tress and ferns. You really do feel like you are in the middle of the forest, very secluded and private.

There are also plenty of wildlife to see, we seen deer, Kookaburras and chickens, watch out for those cheeky chickens in the morning they will try and nic your breakfast.

The spa was really nice too. espeically on a cold night

The hosts Alix and Clive were really friendly and made us feel very welcome

We would just love to stay here again. If my mum had her way she would not have left :)

Room Tip: get a group together and rent the whole lodge, you will love it :)
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The location of the fernglen cottage and the out door spa made it a place we had to stay as there was 4 ppl and a baby we had to have a extra room opened. The extra room was a double bunk bed and single on top. As the other cottage was not available to be rented out as we rented out the first it would of made sense if we could of had the joint cottages. But still a lovely place. The privacy was out main issue as the first note in the spa we were spied on as we saw a torch late at night. The next day we were made to feel like teenages in trouble for filling the spa as there was no clear instructions in spa area. After convincing the owner for us to be able to use the spa the next night . We were spied on again and told we were to loud we said we would keep it down but we discussing how angry we were about the place. The owner had been listening came rushing up swearing at us all telling us to leave she would refund all our money will not go into details about the horrible conversation. After calming the situation down she left we stayed in the spa confused. The next day we decided we had to leave. But we noticed the owner had left we had left and received a voice mail with apologies as we had no reception at the cottage. We were not offered a full refund not even a full days refund. Extremely disappointed with the service we were shown we checked up on like little children. And no real effort was made to fix the problems. Extremely disappointed with the way we were treated. It ruined our stay. I do hope that when other people stay they are treated with more respect.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Miss_murphy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m1n1me, Manager at Fernglen Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Raucous and undiciplined behaviour from these guests led to them being offered a partial refund, in the hope that they would depart early.

Without pemission, they topped up the spa with water destined for toilet flushing, rendering the spa unsafe for use.

Twice, late in the evening, they had to be asked to keep the noise level down, whilst flrolicking in the dirrty spa (their decision) - Noise that loud can travel up the valley and can be heard by neighbours.

As stated on our website, we offer accommodation in a beautiful, tranquil location and endeavour, on all occassions, to offer all of our guests a truly relaxing stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed for one night with our toddler at the Windmill Lodge. It is newly renovated and just a lovely space to relax in, especially with the log fire. There were plenty of toys inside and outside to keep our toddler entertained. We would have happily stayed longer. Two small issues: there was no heating in the bathroom so it was pretty cold in there, and there were no dishwashing pellets so we had to wash by hand...but if we were staying longer I would have spoken to the owners about it, they were lovely and could probably have helped in that regard.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank mysgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews