We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Other-worldly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merrow Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Merrow Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Other-worldly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We only had the opportunity to spend one night in the Forest Edge cottage, but loved every second. Thank you for thoughtfully providing sufficient wood to keep that amazing fireplace glowing all night; For the breakfast provisions and most importantly for allowing us to wake early and to explore your hauntingly beautiful, foggy, forest-backyard. It was also a pleasure to meet the not shy by any means, pair of kookaburras who sat by the back door all morning. Thanks again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HUNTER313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    8
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The cottage is lovely the furnishing a mix of vintage chic with some ikea cushions and throws. The breakfast provisions were as described bacon eggs bread juice and milk, the jams were not new and the spread in the fridge from previous guests.
The log fire was great plenty of logs and a carafe of port on the fireplace and fresh flowers a nice touch. I was disappointed with the toiletries - the advertising I'd read clearly stated locataine French brand and the bathroom was full of Aldi's own brand. Plus if you are going to have the spa feature ensure all the jets are working and provide some big towels. Of the four towels none could be described as bath sheets. The previous guests recycling of pizza boxes filled the bin.
In 2014 no one travels with c'ds or cassettes it wouldn't cost much to replace the 1990's music centre with a radio/iPod Dock. You don't come to the country for the internet and it's not advertised as having it so don't complain when it doesn't have it.
It's a lovely romantic cottage but a bit overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FitzyHels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Me and my partner spent a night there and had a beautiful time. It was very peaceful and the serene forest backdrop just adds the beautiful peaceful experience. Breakfast was also awesome.
Thankyou so much!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The Seraphim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at Merrow Cottages during the Easter break, a charming and delightful place full of character and homely feel. The owners Maj and Daniel are very nice, make you feel welcome straight away and have an attention to detail that makes the entire stay very pleasant, cozy and comfortable. We've stayed in many hotels in Australia but this one stands out by far. The location is very peaceful and quiet yet very close to the main attractions of the region and a very short drive to the local villages and restaurants. The rooms are beautifully decorated, clean and have a European charm that we missed a lot in Australia. Breakfast is made to order and there is a choice of cooked Ozzy style bacon and eggs and lighter continental options and also pastries, jams and great coffee. I highly recommend it to anyone looking to escape the city and looking for a quiet getaway!

Room Tip: We did not see the separate cottages on the inside but the room in the main house was terrific. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreWeyher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

It's old fashioned and over priced. Absolutely no reception and no Internet connection. Given barely any brekie provisions got half a loaf of bread, small cup of milk and juice , old veggie jar and jams, pathetic biscuit and bit of cake. So under whelming and old fashioned. The lady seems as though she is a bit stuck up and if they didn't have the spa then this place would not be in business.... run far away ppl you would get a better experience camping than staying here

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank Zoe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrowcottages666, Owner at Merrow Cottages, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hi, Disappointing that you found our Gatehouse cottage not to your standard, Our many guests and brides who have had their honey moon here have nothing but great comments and fond memories of their stay. Probably one of the most beautiful cottages in the Dandenongs.
We understand you are upset, when we had charged you a $50 dollars to replace the item that you broke, without mentioning it. First time we ever had to do such a thing. It also took our staff more than one extra hour, to get the cottage back to its normal state, after the mess left. The sheet used to remove , I assume your make up needed to be disposed, and the spa was so stained with oil??? That we had to call a specialist to clean it, as our normal products couldn’t do it.
The breakfast provided, which also included bacon and eggs, it is more than sufficient for two guests, but we believe that an extra guest stayed in the cottage, when we make it very clear that due to the size of the spa, decorations, the 10 acres of forest, and other guests, no children could be accommodated in the cottage.
Our reviews in other websites are a testimony that your host is a very polite lad, who goes the extra mile to make her guests stay special. Please don't come back.... Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the pristine spa room at Merrow Cottages in Mt Dandenong. The actual room was beautifully appointed with a very comfortable and wide bed, an open fire, a little balcony overlooking the forest, fridge etc. The separate bathroom was huge with a spa, shower and toilet. The layout of the bathroom was spacious and the little touches that Maj had added were amazing. Most bed and breakfasts are clean but Merrow Cottages was meticulous. We enjoyed the little homey touches such as a beautiful cake on arrival, lollies, candy canes in the shape of a heart, body lotion and perfume. A very friendly and luxurious place to stay!

Room Tip: The rooms all seemed to be quiet with relaxing sounds of bird life but we didn't see the other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Had a wonderful one night stay in the Gatehouse Cottage. The cottage has been beautifully appointed and is very charming. The spa with candle lights was magical. The cottage was clean and we had a very comfortable stay. Maj was a great in giving us recommendations where to eat etc which was very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ach_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dandenong
0.2 mi away
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retrea...
#1 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arnica Views
Arnica Views
#3 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Gracehill Accommodation
0.9 mi away
Olinda Country Cottages
Olinda Country Cottages
#6 of 13 in Olinda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.1 mi away
Valley Ranges Getaways
Valley Ranges Getaways
#4 of 13 in Olinda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrow Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrow Cottages

Property: Merrow Cottages
Address: 21-23 Hume Lane, Mount Dandenong, Victoria 3767, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mount Dandenong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dandenong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merrow Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merrow Cottages and B&B, is a luxury romantic hideaway located in the heart of the picturesque Dandenong Ranges National Park. Just 45 minutes from Melbourne’s CBD. Merrow is nestled on the edge of a 10 acres private forest amongst the colourful camellia trees, rhododendrons, century old mountain ash trees and majestic tree ferns. Merrow offers 2 elegant and romantic self-contained cottages: the “Gatehouse” and “Forest Edge” as well 3 cosy and elegantly decorated B&B suites: the “Deluxe Spa suite” the “Lyrebird Suite” and “Mon Amour Suite”, located in the main family house. The classic old world charm of French toiletries (”L’occitane en Provence”), beautiful French style toile drapes and antique European furniture, combined with modern luxury of our spacious cottages will make your romantic getaway an intimate experience to cherish. Dive in the sumptuous carved mahogany four-poster-bed, enjoy a complimentary port relaxing in front of a crackling open fire or simply soak beneath the bubbles of a beautiful spa by candle-light. Daniel and Maj owners of Merrow will offer you their kind welcome as well as little attentions to make your stay in one of Mount Dandenong’s best kept secrets, unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Merrow Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing