We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was a very last minute decision by my partner and I to escape our busy lives and just spend a precious 24 hours together. There was only the one suite available "The Gallery" so we booked it and we could not have been happier. The room was gorgeous with so many little extras, the spa was fabulous and the bed comfy. The cooked breakfast delivered to the suite was just perfect as it saved having to get out of the very cosy robes. We would highly recommend this retreat to anyone and we will definitely be back to sample the other suites.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed in the Linden Cottage for our wedding anniversary. The suite is massive, with a large lounge/dining room with a gas fire and huge TV, board games and DVDs, a bedroom and a vast bathroom with a spa bath, double shower etc. The room was clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast delivered to the suite was excellent. The dressing gowns were very comfortable.

Linden is an expensive place to stay. The rack rate is $360, it’s cheaper to book through an agency. When a place is expensive, you do expect everything to be 100% right. When we arrived, there was no promised welcome pack for us, no keys for the self-check in, no signs that we were expected at all. We rang the reception number which went to voicemail. Eventually I got hold of the owner, who was interstate. He explained that there had been an admin problem with our booking, and he would send his local manager to let us in. Unfortunately she wasn’t that local, and took 45 minutes to arrive, during which time we sat in the car outside. When she finally arrived, it was clear that the room was not expecting guests that night, it was very cold inside and the promised “home made muffins” were nowhere to be seen. We accept that all hotels can have occasional problems, and we accepted the offer of wine by way of compensation. But I do believe that if accommodation is to be provided with unattended reception, someone should be considerably nearer than 45 minutes away in case of problems.

Our only other gripe was that despite instructions on how to use the electric blankets, there were none, and we woke up cold in the night and had to put the heating on.

In short, this place is OK, but they do need to have immediately local staff on call in case of problems. Also do note that this place is currently up for sale.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneAnglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindengardens, Owner at Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Thank you for your feedback on Linden Gardens, we are glad that you were happy with the Linden Cottage, the facilities and the breakfast provided. We work very hard to make sure things are right for our guests and take it very personally when something goes wrong.

As we said to you many times on the phone we are truly sorry for what occurred, it is the first time is has ever happened. As we mentioned we had a hard drive failure on the night your booking came in and along with another booking, it didn't sync to our database. Therefore when our manager prepared all the suites for check in that day she wasn't aware that you were checking in, hence the suite not being 'guest' ready. We apologise that this happened while we were interstate for a few days, but we are a small family business who also need a break from time to time.

Our manager is local, in fact she lives just over the road but as we mentioned, she was off the mountain when you called and was back there within half an hour of being contacted. The missing muffins were an oversight as you were clearly upset when she arrived and she wanted to get you into the cottage as soon as possible.

Thank you for highlighting that the electric blanket instructions are still in our guest folder. They were removed from the suites in accordance with safety guidelines and replaced by a temperature controlled gas space heater that keeps the Cottage toasty all night when on. There is also a gas log fire in the lounge for effect.

Yes, Linden Gardens is for sale and has been for over a year now but this in no way affects how we run the business and the level of care that we take to ensure that our guests have a great time.

A quick correction - our rack rate mid week is $290 not $360 and any discounts apply to people booking direct as well an any agency or third party booking site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed only a night (last Saturday) in the Garden Room at Linden Gardens and LOVED it. Its beautifully appointed, very private (with the venetian blinds open) and allows you to feel very comfortable very quickly. It just seemed that everything had been thought-of, from a great range of DVD's (and large TV), Board-games, plenty of air-con and Gas-fires, a well-stocked and very reasonably-priced fridge, iPhone compatible stereo and very comfy dressing gowns. Nothing in the room appeared to have been 'bought on the cheap'. The breakfast served in the room was perfectly cooked (and hot!) and the complimentary pick-up from and to the door by the Wild Oak restaurant (the night before) was brilliant: no designated driver required.
Locked-in as preferred accommodation when we next visit the beautiful Dandenongs (but we'll stay longer next time).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

First time stay, this place is awesome! so tranquill, so relaxing could be in another world!
stayed in the Linden cottage, Dined at Wild Oak which was great, and they picked us up and dropped us home free of charge! breakfast was fantastic hot and homecooked, just what a B&B should be. The homebaked bread for toast was delicious. I sooo cant wait to return...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hillybilly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I can only agree with all the great reports written on this site.
We had the Garden suite and found it really 5 star with all the luxuries mentioned on the website, true. The muffins and wine fantastic,
The heavens opened for us this weekend with flash flooding etc, the rain on the roof was loud for us but slept well, we enjoyed a spa and had extra towels delivered. The stairs were a little hard for us at night down to the toilet, but glad of it being there during the day. The gas fires were really strong and we had to turn them off after awhile they were so good.
All the amenities you would need. Bed was large and comfortable too.

We loved our breakfast, the full menu for us, my poached eggs were cooked to perfection and bacon and sausages too, we wondered how it could be so hot when they had so much rain!

We were picked up by Ben to go to the Wild Oaks restuarant, see that positive advise from us as well.
Also wrote about the William Ricketts sanctuary Sky High restuarant and Rhododendrum gardens.
Thank you Alex and Lisa for a memorable weekend!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Is pretty much all I could say as I walked round our room with my mouth ajar from excitment. A beautiful quiet place to stay with all the little things that you dont even think about. You feel like your a million miles away from anything but everything you need is so close. Also went to wild Oak which was recomended by Lisa and Alex it the food was simply stunning. I Highliy recomend this retreat and will defnitely be back again!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in linden cottage was beautiful and homely will try out other rooms next
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ange G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My wife and I decided to go back to Linden Gardens for our anniversay, as this was the place we had honeymooned 11 years ago. Comparing to when we first stayed at Linden Gardens till now, both my wife and I felt that the service had gone down hill dramatically.

Sure the property has had a fantastic facelift, but that is not the only thing that contributes to your stay. Whilst we enjoyed our new surroundings, everything else was much to be desired. It's the little things that make your stay count, like having the correct breakfast delivered to your door. Both my wife and I were frustrated that while we were there for the weekend, each of us had missing items from our breakfast tray.

Also whoever they have contracted to clean the place don't do a every good job. My wife and I noticed that the shower wasn't cleaned properly and that mold was starting to form at the bottom of the shower in the Gallery suite. The mirrors in the suite could do with a good wipe over and the rest of the suite needed dusting. Also when servicing a suite not everything was cleaned or replaced or emptied ( rubbish bins).
If I had to give this a rating out of 5 I would say that it would definately be a 2.

Also it was frustrating to find that things that were promised in the suite were missing which was a shame, as when we were there previously both owners went above and beyond the call if duty to make our stay wonderful and relaxed.

All in all we definatley won't be back. Both my wife and I needed a break from our kids and was hoping to unwind, but I think we both came back more stressed. We could have saved our money and stayed home, at least the our house would have been clean and the food would definately been better than what we were serviced.

Would I recommend this place, in my honest opinion NO! but it's really up to you to decide.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mum_to_4_terrors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindengardens, Owner at Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

My husband and I, as the owners, are mortified after reading your review. I had a baby 3 weeks ago and we had a relief manager looking after Linden for a couple of weeks whilst we made the adjustment to a newborn and a 2 year old. We thought they had a good grip on what was required to meet our usual high standards and that the business was in good hands, but after reading your review, this is obviously not the case.

We can't apologise enough to you and we are sorry that your stay was during this time of our absence. We are at this moment going through all the feedback forms for the period to catch any other disappointed guests so we can rectify any bad experiences as soon as possible.

We hope that potential guests will see our other recent reviews from guests who thoroughly enjoyed their stay and all the extras that we provide and would recommend us, and that this experience is not indicative of a stay at Linden Gardens. We work very hard and take great pride in maintaining our reputation as a high level, quality accommodation business and you can be assured that all the problems you encountered during your stay have been dealt with swiftly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dandenong
0.2 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#3 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arnica Views
Arnica Views
#2 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
85 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Valley Ranges Getaways
Valley Ranges Getaways
#1 of 13 in Olinda
109 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
0.5 mi away
Adeline Bed & Breakfast
Adeline Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat

Address: 1383 Mt Dandenong Tourist Rd, Mount Dandenong, Victoria 3767, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mount Dandenong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dandenong
Price Range: £159 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Linden Gardens is pure indulgence in four unique and elegant, designer spaces. Set on 3 acres of rainforest and woodland gardens, Linden has an artistic combination of designer contemporary and antique furnishings. Warm and inviting with all the luxury extras you'd expect and attentive but discreet service. The perfect getaway for a honeymoon, special occasion or to treat yourselves. FOUR UNIQUE RETREATS Sanctuary Tower :: 3 levels with a beautiful spiral staircase and sauna (due to spiral staircase we recommend booking a different retreat if an infant (1 x infant aged 0-2 maximum) included on your booking) Garden Retreat :: 2 levels with a spa in the lounge Linden Cottage :: Single level in romantic reds with an indoor garden Gallery Suite :: Single level in the converted Linden Gallery. Contemporary colours and design. (Please note due to the Gallery conversion there is plenty of light from skylights but limited garden views from Gallery Suite) ALL SUITES FEATURE / INCLUSIONS: :: Fully Cooked Breakfast for 2 delivered to your suite each morning :: Daily Servicing - come back to a clean suite with fresh towels :: Private entrances :: Gas log fires :: King size beds :: 2 person spas :: Lavazza Coffee Machines - with both espresso & decaf pods :: Free WiFi Internet :: NEW HUGE 55" inch LED LCD TVs with large in suite DVD libraries :: NEW BluRay DVD players in all suites with USB connections for BYO media for compatible USB devices :: Foxtel with 9 Movie Channels - huge choice of channels :: Soft Plush Linden Gardens Bathrobes to use during your stay :: Mini bar with wine, beer, soft drinks and snacks :: Full selection of Twinings teas and hot chocolate :: Complimentary Linden Gardens slippers :: Complimentary choc-chip muffins from the Linden kitchen on arrival :: Kitchenettes with microwave, kettle, toaster EXTRAS AVAILABLE :: A La Carte breakfast delivered to your Retreat (breakfast is included in your rate) :: Extensive range of massage and spa treatments to have in the privacy of your suite (enquire for options & prices) :: Pre order a cheese platter or dips platter and curl up in front of the fire (enquire for options & prices) :: We can also organise rose petals on your bed, around the spa or birthday cake for two (enquire for options & prices) LOCATION Opposite William Ricketts Sanctuary, Linden Gardens is only a stones throw away from the villages of Mt Dandenong, Olinda and Sassafras with their great range of shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing