We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hideaway on a rainy weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A lovely hideaway on a rainy weekend”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent 2 nights here in early May and absolutely loved it. We were unfortunate enough to pick a weekend with the heaviest rainfall in a long time but it just meant more time to enjoy the retreat! The Cottage was beautiful inside and really cosy since it has a fireplace for the cold nights. It was a nice treat to have breakfast brought to our room each morning and the service was excellent. The staff are very discreet and have a very simple check-in procedure if you arrive after their office is closed. We also booked a couples massage which was super convenient as they set up in your room! Absolutely loved this place, really relaxing and will definitely stay there again in future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youandiboth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights over Easter and from the moment we got there we loved it even with the rain, it felt so warm and welcoming we will definitely go back!! We loved the rainforest atmosphere and the breakfast included in the package..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhi1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Had a fantastic time staying at the Linden Gardens, from the get go! Great robes to snuggle down in, beautiful fireplace and lovely cooked breakfast. Will definitely return! This is definitely a hidden pleasure, but cannot keep it my secret hideaway

Room Tip: Book thebest one you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My partner and I have stayed in many places in the Dandenong ranges. Overall, this retreat was fantastic value for money and provided the romantic and secluded atmosphere we all wish to experience when booking weekend getaways. We resided in the Sanctuary Tower, three levels of well thought out living and relaxation areas. Not only did the cottage have free WI-FI and the complete Foxtel package, it also had had gas heating (on all 3 levels), a spa, large open shower and sauna. Each day you can also select your breakfast for the following morning. The following morning it is delivered to your cottage at the time requested. We will be back.

I have only one criticism, the only toilet in the cottage is on the bottom floor. The bedroom is on the top floor (third level), it's a rather long way if you need to go to the toilet during the night.

Room Tip: Sanctuary Tower is great but only has one toilet and this is on the bottom floor, your bedroom is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tysonheit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

What a stunning garden B&B!

We stayed here for an anniversary celebration and it was gorgeously romantic!
The gardens were beautiful, and the exterior of the hotel was stunning also.

The rooms are lovely with a spa bath right in the lounge! Loved the included board games and movies.

To put it simply, defiantly worth a stay! It is expensive, but well worth it.

Would still recommend having a car with you as everything in Mt Dandenong is quite a distance apart,

Room Tip: Defiantly a spa suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiearcticlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We took a week off to explore Mt Dandenong and chose Linden Gardens based on photos, location and other Trip Adviser reviewers. We were not disappointed. We stayed in the gorgeous Garden Retreat - the bedroom was such a beautiful retreat to come back to at the end of a day exploring, with a huge comfortable bed and gorgeous high ceiling with fireplace and 180degree view outside. Breakfast is brought in at your specified time, cooked and ready. You are a very short drive away from Olinda and its lovely little shops, I recommend visiting the National Rhododenron Gardens there and the Cloudhill Gardens. Miss Marple's Tea Rooms in Sassafras is also a must. The wineries in the Yarra Valley are only a 30min drive away too. Mt Dandenong is such a special place, the scenery and trees are just spectacular. If you are seeking a special place to relax and unwind, look no further.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmine300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Linden Gardens thought of everything. We didnt have to leave our room. We stayed in the sanctuary tower, LOVED the little path way to our room. And our private entry. Entrance is on bottom floor which is the bathroom with a Huge room with deep spa bath with rain shower overhead (big shower room) , separate shower and infra red sauna and gas wood fire. Up the spiral staircase to the next level which is living room. Super comfy couches with soft blankets and plenty of cushions. Foxtel , board games , DVD and videos to keep you entertained. Well stocked cupboards and mini fridge and awesome coffee machine. Up the spiral staircase again to the top level. The bedroom and what a beautiful bedroom with a Huge King bed with awesome forest views. From an amazing DVD collection to cosy bathrobes. We Enjoy our weekend and will be coming back and trying a different room type. With not so many stairs.

Room Tip: If you dont like stairs dotn stay in sanctuary tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dandenong
0.2 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#2 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arnica Views
Arnica Views
#3 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adeline Bed & Breakfast
Adeline Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Valley Ranges Getaways
Valley Ranges Getaways
#2 of 13 in Olinda
96 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
1.5 mi away
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat

Property: Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat
Address: 1383 Mt Dandenong Tourist Rd, Mount Dandenong, Victoria 3767, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mount Dandenong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dandenong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Linden Gardens is pure indulgence in four unique and elegant, designer spaces. Set on 3 acres of rainforest and woodland gardens, Linden has an artistic combination of designer contemporary and antique furnishings. Warm and inviting with all the luxury extras you'd expect and attentive but discreet service. The perfect getaway for a honeymoon, special occasion or to treat yourselves. FOUR UNIQUE RETREATS Sanctuary Tower :: 3 levels with a beautiful spiral staircase and sauna (due to spiral staircase we recommend booking a different retreat if an infant (1 x infant aged 0-2 maximum) included on your booking) Garden Retreat :: 2 levels with a spa in the lounge Linden Cottage :: Single level in romantic reds with an indoor garden Gallery Suite :: Single level in the converted Linden Gallery. Contemporary colours and design. (Please note due to the Gallery conversion there is plenty of light from skylights but limited garden views from Gallery Suite) ALL SUITES FEATURE / INCLUSIONS: :: Fully Cooked Breakfast for 2 delivered to your suite each morning :: Daily Servicing - come back to a clean suite with fresh towels :: Private entrances :: Gas log fires :: King size beds :: 2 person spas :: Lavazza Coffee Machines - with both espresso & decaf pods :: Free WiFi Internet :: NEW HUGE 55" inch LED LCD TVs with large in suite DVD libraries :: NEW BluRay DVD players in all suites with USB connections for BYO media for compatible USB devices :: Foxtel with 9 Movie Channels - huge choice of channels :: Soft Plush Linden Gardens Bathrobes to use during your stay :: Mini bar with wine, beer, soft drinks and snacks :: Full selection of Twinings teas and hot chocolate :: Complimentary Linden Gardens slippers :: Complimentary choc-chip muffins from the Linden kitchen on arrival :: Kitchenettes with microwave, kettle, toaster EXTRAS AVAILABLE :: A La Carte breakfast delivered to your Retreat (breakfast is included in your rate) :: Extensive range of massage and spa treatments to have in the privacy of your suite (enquire for options & prices) :: Pre order a cheese platter or dips platter and curl up in front of the fire (enquire for options & prices) :: We can also organise rose petals on your bed, around the spa or birthday cake for two (enquire for options & prices) LOCATION Opposite William Ricketts Sanctuary, Linden Gardens is only a stones throw away from the villages of Mt Dandenong, Olinda and Sassafras with their great range of shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing