We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely romantic getaway!”
Review of Arnica Views

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arnica Views
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic getaway!”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

we have had a wonderful 2 night stay at Arnica views. We were originally running later than the planned time of arrival and the management called us up to confirm our arrival time - and as they were unable to greet us at the new time they then gave us a complimentary upgrade.
Once arriving the ambiance of our 18month anniversary was set, there was unexpectedly lovely music playing and many candles lit. the decor is fabulous in the room, its definitely a place for relaxation and romance.
its in a great location if you want a city escape, without the pressure to do many activities - if you dont want! we have spent the days exploring local quaint towns and having loads of fun watching the provided movies in the very comfortable 4 poster bed.
we stayed in the sunset suite and the setting of the room - spa bath and bed both in comfortable range of the television, and the view towards the city is absoultely top notch.
There isnt really any staff around to help with any questions about the accomodation or the surroundings. The current advertising of the rooms arent really accurate either, for example the lack of bath salts, or fresh fruits. The price, not sure if its worth the amount we paid!
However we did get an upgrade, it is a very romantic environment, and it was exactly what we were looking for - a place to sleep in (thanks to their late check out!), be able to experience local produce, discover walking tracks and support local buisnessesits perfect for a weekend away from the hectiness of life!

Room Tip: be aware the standard room is below the sunset suite so noise can be an issue if the spa bath is goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PippaKate711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    24
    3
    2
    7
See reviews for
7
64
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

The location of Arnica Views B&B is ideal. About a 3/4 hour drive from Melbourne CBD and right on top of Mt Dandenong, an easy stroll from the Observatory Restaurant. The apartments are surrounded by dense, exotic gardens, with a well established upper canopy sheltering a wide variety of plants including azaleas, rhododendrons and ferns. We stayed at the Arnica Loft and, as the name implies, the bedroom and bathroom are situated in the renovated loft. When we arrived, the gas fire was heating the separate lounge and candles were lit throughout the unit, which was very welcoming. The separate kitchen has complete cooking facilities and breakfast is supplied, which includes a range of cereals, fresk milk and free range eggs.
Access to the loft is via a steep staircase, making it unsuitable for elderly guests. The loft itself has low vaulted ceilings, so you have to be careful you don't bump your head getting into bed. We understand the other Arnica Views units have different configurations, so it is likely there is one to suit most requirements. It is also close to the quaint villages of Olinda and Sassafrass, where good quality restaurants and some unique gift shops can be found. Our hostess, Tania, was friendly, welcoming and helpful. In this environment it is difficult not to relax and we can recommend Arnica as a good place to do it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjen183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

i purchased a two nights at arnica views through ourdeal in sept of 2011. I paid 250. unfortunately i suffer chronic illness and was unwell for the rest of most of 2011. when i remembered the vouchers in april 2012, i printed them out and realised they expired in feb. despite phone calls and emails explaining my situation and asking if they could at least honour one night, i recieved no response. i was really disapointed

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjbrooks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnicaViews, Manager at Arnica Views, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
We use special promotions at times which is a wonderful opportunity for people to experience beautiful accommodation at a value packed price! However on this occasion the purchaser wanted to redeem a voucher over 18 months after it had expired. We have always been very flexible and fair and looked after dozens of guests who have gone several months past the expiry date of their voucher however circumstances unfortunately did not allow for us to honor this voucher some 21/2 years after the promotion was run and the customer was advised of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Had a lovely one night stay in the gorgeous Arnica Loft (only wish we could have stayed longer!!).The music, candles and fire were such a cute surprise on arrival - very romantic...the perfect place to spend a cold, rainy night in the Dandenongs! The Loft was very well appointed - had everything we needed. Super cushy couch, telly with a small selection of DVDs, cozy gas(?) fireplace, convenient kitchen with an excellent range of breakfast foods, spacious spa bath (bubble bath & robes provided!) and comfy King size bed (with doona, blanket & sheets - this is a huge point for me, as I freeze at night time)! We'll definitely be back....hopefully sooner, rather than later! Thanks for a great stay!
PS. Certainly not somewhere I'd advise bringing children, rather, a perfect couples retreat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank l_ben88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We don't get away much as a couple, so booked a night for something special. And it was! Great location, thoughtful provisioning and a gorgeous environment.

Agree strongly with Arnica's many fans - you will be very well looked after here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My wife and I stayed there for two nights at the Coorabell Cottage in late June. On the 2nd night we were joined by our 2 yr old boy to make it a brief family stay as well. This was a great place to stay but with some reservations especially if someone was considering bringing a toddler.

The Coorabell Cottage is a spacious two storey cottage slightly removed from the other accomodation with even a separate approach from a different road(although lalong a dirt road with two steep turns) so its very private!

The furnishings are quite good. Fully equipped kitchen with the included breakfast provisions being very generous. Plenty of coffee and tea and there is complimentary port and chocolates. Large TV which can be angled to be viewed from the two person spa. A large collection of DVD's and a surround sound system with speakers in the upstairs bedroom and bathroom. The upstairs bedroom with its Queen Bed is spacious and the large windows on both levels give you views of green trees and forest. There's heating upstairs and a wood fire downstairs. Robes, slippers and plenty of towels were provided.

The service we received was fine, before our arrival there was a flurry of emails between myself and Tania requesting a variety of changes to our booking and all of which were accomodated with no issues and in a timely manner. I booked my wife a massage which she enjoyed immensely.

However I do have some quibbles and I'll be honest some of them are personal and only to be considered if you have similar tastes - if not you can disregard! These quibbles include:

-A concrete floor on the ground floor level which only had a couple of carpets to cover. I would've preferred more rugs or fully carpeted or hardwood floor. I just found that this aspect gave it a slightly unfinished quality to this floor. It should be noted that my wife disagreed with me totally on this. So this can be considered a matter of taste only.
- Being a spacious cottage it did take a while to warm up in the mornings or after we had been out and we did use the portable heater that was provided pretty much all the time. Having said that it was very cold weather and when we were warm we were very snug.
- The cottage wasn't suitable for a toddler. Our boy needed constant supervising to prevent him from climbing the stairs and his rough and tumble play on the ground floor concrete kept his overprotective parents on guard, which is not what was wanted. However let's be honest there is nothing in Arnica View's publicity to suggest that they are marketing this venue to families so bear this in mind - its a couple's place.

Two more quibbles were an issue that, while not taking away from our overall stay, were things that could've been prevented.
- Right outside of the cottage and in open view was a pile of what appeared to be a large pile of discarded banners. It was out of place to say the least and was a disconcerting first impression.
- The cold water tap in the bathroom came off in my hand on the 2nd day. It was easily reattached and we didn't report until check out as we didn't want to deal with the hassle of it being fixed during our stay. On check out I reported it and I was told it was a known issue "and that it could be screwed back on". If its happened before and its happened again therefore its going to keep happening and it needs a permanent resolution - and basically it shouldn't have happened in the first place.

Look, even with the quibbles this was a lovely place to spend some quality time with my wife and we both appreciated it. It was comfortable and well located. Mt Dandenong with a spectacular view of Melbourne is a very easy amble up the road.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonGov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My partner and I absolutely loved our stay at Arnica Views in early May. It was a cold, rainy day in Melbourne and I had doubts about even going at all! We arrived at about 5pm so it was the end of the day and not much day light was left. It was drizzling and a thick fog had set in but when we opened the door to our room it was a magical experience - we felt like we were walking into doll's house in wonderland! The room was cosy and warm, soft music was playing and several tea candles werre burning, adding so much ambience. We walked to the Mt Dandenong Observatory in the drizzle with the umbrellas provided and couldn't see the end of the carpark, but we enjoyed the exercise! We ended up watching a couple of good DVDs from a large selection on offer and went out to dinner and just had a thoroughly enjoyable, romantic getaway that we still talk about passionately. We didn't see the owners - apart from a quick wave through the office window on leaving but our instructions were clearly written on the reception window and even that added to the mystique of it all.
Thankyou Tania and Paul - it was tops!!
PS. I was just browsing your website as I have been recommending Arnica Views to everyone I come across. When I saw some of the other comments I felt compelled to put what we consider our magical experience, forth for everyone to read!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnicaViews, Manager at Arnica Views, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you so much. We are ever so grateful people such as yourself take the time to "tell everyone" about your wonderful stay and not just go away and tell only friends and family. Thank you once again SO MUCH for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back. Warm regards, Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dandenong
0.6 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#2 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retrea...
#1 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adeline Bed & Breakfast
Adeline Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Valley Ranges Getaways
Valley Ranges Getaways
#4 of 13 in Olinda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gracehill Accommodation
1.8 mi away
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnica Views? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnica Views

Property: Arnica Views
Address: 10 Observatory Rd, Mount Dandenong, Victoria 3767, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mount Dandenong
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dandenong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arnica Views 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arnica Views is one of the few extraordinary places where timeless elegance and sophisticated style are vibrantly alive. Quite different from a hotel, Arnica Views offers boutique style accommodation with magnificently appointed private suites, exceptional service and true comfort that is perfect all year around for special occasions and to escape the everyday. Guests can expect to rediscover romance whilst they relax the body, refresh the mind and rejuvenate the soul. Located on the summit of the beautiful Dandenong Ranges, less than an hour's drive from Melbourne and away from the noise of the main road, Arnica Views is set amidst two acres of magnificent 75 year old English gardens, offering splendour throughout every season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arnica Views reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing