We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service”
Review of Arnica Views

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arnica Views
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We booked one of their cottages for a family member who was travelling on business. Unfortunately due to our late arrival after business hours, we accidentally checked him into the wrong cottage. This was an honest mistake, however when we requested to check into the correct one the next day, it was refused on the basis that it was our fault and it would take them too much time to clean the rooms. This attitude took us by surprise not to mention that we paid more to stay in the other cottage.

The accommodation available and surrounds were beautiful, but the poor customer service has tarnished the experience. We won't be going back and will not be recommending them to any of our family and friends.

Room Tip: Make sure you check into the right cottage otherwise you're stuck with it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnicaViews, Manager at Arnica Views, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
We offer a system for self check-in to our guests so there are no restrictions as to arrival time. We contacted and spoke with this guest by telephone shortly before closing reception at 6pm to ascertain their ETA. They advised an arrival time of 8-9pm therefore we explained how they could access their cottage and that there would be signage directing them to the cottage and their name would be on the door. We also emailed a map with directions and notes to ensure they would be able to check-in with ease. Unfortunately the person that booked the accommodation that I spoke with did not alert me to the fact that their friend who was checking in would have a language barrier. Consequently when they arrived around midnight they accidentally checked into the wrong cottage which then forced honeymooners that arrived around 1am to check in to an alternate cottage - effectively doing a swap! Whilst we recognize errors occur we have in fact taken every measure to ensure a smooth check-in and felt it was unfair to uproot honeymooners at no fault of their own. As this guest pointed out, all of the cottages are beautiful and they were in fact very comfortable in the new cottage. It was unfortunate their expectation was for us to ask the newly weds to move which would cause us to halt our existing room services which would result in delaying guest check-ins for that day, and the newly weds would then need to go out for a couple of hours whilst we serviced the cottage rather than relaxing in front of the fire or in the spa together. We go over and above to ensure a wonderful experience for all of our guests however we were not able to oblige this guest on this occasion under the circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    24
    3
    2
    7
See reviews for
7
65
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed at the sunset suite at Arnica views on the weekend 17/18 May.
We loved the welcoming walking into our room with candles and music playing it was very beautiful!

The breakfast hamper was delicious ( minus the yoghurt being expired ) and surplus.

The spa bath was great and relaxing and did not take long to fill at all ( however we were not giving bath salts )

Over all we had a good stay but there are some things i would like to point out for others as these are not obvious on their websites.

1. The sunset Suite is above another accommodation options and we were woken to the couple downstairs yelling, and their spa bath going on in the middle of the night and loud thumping.

2. I emailed the owners of the Arnica Suites and asked about the privacy of the suites and was told that ALL the suites were private and secluded yet being on the second level of another couples suite is not secluded or private in my personal opinion

3. The tv was too small for the space of the room and the remote didn't work on half of the buttons

Other than what i outlined we had a good stay at the Arnica suites, however we feel the website was quite misleading as i would not say that the Sunset suites are Modern either

Room Tip: Perhaps enquire with management about if your room is attached to another room as this is the case f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicknMish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnicaViews, Owner at Arnica Views, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The Sunset Suite is designed for romance, incredible views and elegance with a four poster bed and canopy, chesterfield lounge and classic furnishings and decor but does have modern facilities in the kitchen etc. Our property is unique in that each of the retreats are quite different offering varying features. We do have newly renovated retreats to select from and one in particular with modern decor.
It is rare in this suite to be disturbed by other guests given its location on the top level however given the stillness of the country night air, yelling by inconsiderate guests close by in the middle of the night could do it! Our apologies for this. Please feel free to telephone me prior to your next stay so I can assist you choosing a modern, free standing retreat with super huge television. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Arnica Views.
We stayed stayed for one night in the Arnica Loft room and loved spacious room and cosy welcome. Loved arriving to lit candles and a blazing fireplace, was a perfect mood setter.

Room Tip: Arnica Loft room is very spacious but the stairs to the room are quite steep and the ceiling in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maysa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnicaViews, Manager at Arnica Views, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know about our beautiful romantic getaway. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My husband and I stayed in The Barn when we visited Arnica Views and highly recommend it to all couples. From the moment we walked into the barn, it was so warm and welcoming with the fireplace going, candles lit and relaxing jazz music playing that we felt like the barn was giving us a big loving hug. The breakfast provisions were more than adequate and we loved the decanted port. The bed was comfy and the barn was clean (something some places don't do very well). I read that some complained about the water running hot then cold when filling the spa. This is normal with tank water. It can be temperamental, but it isn't hard to get it right. It's obvious that Tania puts a lot of love into the small details and we greatly appreciated it. I especially loved the old fridge, cooker and kitchen furniture. It was like stepping back in time without the hardship. I can easily understand why some couples disappear into the barn and don't reappear until their stay has finished.

Room Tip: The Barn's fire is gas operated (looks like a Ned Kelly fire with logs in it, but with gas inste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnicaViews, Manager at Arnica Views, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you so much. I cannot tell you how delighted we are when guests like you take the time to echo the thoughts of the majority of our guests. I often think it would be wonderful to replicate the comments from our guest books on sites such however given I can't I am ever so grateful that you have in your review. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Absolutely wonderful service from Tania including every finishing touch you could want. The soft music, lit candles and warm fire waiting for us on our arrival started a wonderful romantic anniversary weekend away.
Coorabell Retreat has the perfect balance of spaciousness and romance and hidden in the forest with floor to ceiling windows ensured every view was magical.
Even though we were in walking distance to Sky High restaurant, Tania graciously arranged for the limo to pick us up as I was recovering from surgery and was unable to walk far.
Location is perfect too, we enjoyed lazing the weekend away on the couches in the local pubs, chatting to the very friendly locals.
We will definitely be back, thank you for a memorable weekend.

Room Tip: Coorabell Retreat for the perfect balance of modern and romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

we have had a wonderful 2 night stay at Arnica views. We were originally running later than the planned time of arrival and the management called us up to confirm our arrival time - and as they were unable to greet us at the new time they then gave us a complimentary upgrade.
Once arriving the ambiance of our 18month anniversary was set, there was unexpectedly lovely music playing and many candles lit. the decor is fabulous in the room, its definitely a place for relaxation and romance.
its in a great location if you want a city escape, without the pressure to do many activities - if you dont want! we have spent the days exploring local quaint towns and having loads of fun watching the provided movies in the very comfortable 4 poster bed.
we stayed in the sunset suite and the setting of the room - spa bath and bed both in comfortable range of the television, and the view towards the city is absoultely top notch.
There isnt really any staff around to help with any questions about the accomodation or the surroundings. The current advertising of the rooms arent really accurate either, for example the lack of bath salts, or fresh fruits. The price, not sure if its worth the amount we paid!
However we did get an upgrade, it is a very romantic environment, and it was exactly what we were looking for - a place to sleep in (thanks to their late check out!), be able to experience local produce, discover walking tracks and support local buisnessesits perfect for a weekend away from the hectiness of life!

Room Tip: be aware the standard room is below the sunset suite so noise can be an issue if the spa bath is goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PippaKate711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

The location of Arnica Views B&B is ideal. About a 3/4 hour drive from Melbourne CBD and right on top of Mt Dandenong, an easy stroll from the Observatory Restaurant. The apartments are surrounded by dense, exotic gardens, with a well established upper canopy sheltering a wide variety of plants including azaleas, rhododendrons and ferns. We stayed at the Arnica Loft and, as the name implies, the bedroom and bathroom are situated in the renovated loft. When we arrived, the gas fire was heating the separate lounge and candles were lit throughout the unit, which was very welcoming. The separate kitchen has complete cooking facilities and breakfast is supplied, which includes a range of cereals, fresk milk and free range eggs.
Access to the loft is via a steep staircase, making it unsuitable for elderly guests. The loft itself has low vaulted ceilings, so you have to be careful you don't bump your head getting into bed. We understand the other Arnica Views units have different configurations, so it is likely there is one to suit most requirements. It is also close to the quaint villages of Olinda and Sassafrass, where good quality restaurants and some unique gift shops can be found. Our hostess, Tania, was friendly, welcoming and helpful. In this environment it is difficult not to relax and we can recommend Arnica as a good place to do it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjen183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dandenong
0.6 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#2 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retrea...
#1 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
73 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adeline Bed & Breakfast
Adeline Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
1.6 mi away
Valley Ranges Getaways
Valley Ranges Getaways
#4 of 13 in Olinda
97 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnica Views? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnica Views

Property: Arnica Views
Address: 10 Observatory Rd, Mount Dandenong, Victoria 3767, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mount Dandenong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dandenong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arnica Views 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arnica Views is quite different from a hotel. We offer boutique style accommodation with 7 fully self contained retreats. Perfect all year around for special occasions and to escape the everyday. Guests can expect to rediscover romance (and eat well with extensive breakfast supplies included!). Located on the summit of the beautiful Dandenong Ranges, approximately an hour's drive from Melbourne and away from the noise of the main road. Arnica Views is set amidst two acres of magnificent 85 year old English gardens, offering splendour throughout every season. Cooinda House is at 1562 Mt. Dandenong Tourist Road, Olinda and accommodates up to 8 guests. It has 4 bedrooms each with their own ensuite, a large kitchen, 2 living areas, 3 balconies, laundry, garage, heating and cooling. Breakfast not supplied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arnica Views reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing