We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in the Hills”
Review of Arnica Views

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arnica Views
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We stayed at Arnica Views for our anniversary. Ee drove up the majestic Dandenong's and arrived at the top of the hills to a simple bit of paradise and suddenly reality was a million miles away. We were greeted by Tania a welcoming, gracious and most helpful host. She guided us to the Coorabell cottage and when we walked through the door you could not help but feel special as if we were the only people in the hills. The old cottage which is now modern, clean and comfortable was the perfect way to spend our special evening together. We were greeted by music to set the mood, candles, port, chocolate and a spa to help soak the troubles of life away. We had a free limo ride to Sky High however there was a fully functional kitchen and we were given provisions for breakfast. I am gluten intolerant and Tania was most helpful to accommodate my needs. Often in life we do not spend enough time enjoying the simple things in life. Thankyou Arnica Views for allowing us to do this!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skinnymocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2009

I was torn about putting a review on here but as I always use this site as a guide when travelling thought I should put my comments on this place.
I took my husband up to Arnica Views for an overnight stay for his 50th birthday and our 25th anniversary. I must start with the positives by saying that the owners were lovely and very obliging, went out of their way for us but i felt for the $280 nightly rate I paid, the property itself was a little disappointing. It was a cottage that has been split up into 3 apartments. Two down the bottom and one in the upper level which was the sunset suite.
It was just one larger room with a bed,couch, table, kitchenette and a small bathroom.
The spa was a bit squashy for 2 people and had brown scratchy marks on the bottom of it, although it was clean it is probably ready to be replaced. It had an old world feel to it with green floral carpet, 4 poster bed and chesterfield couch...The view of the city was through a cutting in the trees.
I guess even though it was clean and the bed was comfortable, my preference(and it is only my preference) would have been for something a little more upmarket for the money.
However,, as I said the owner was lovely and very accommodating.
I was also a little disappointed as it would have been nice to receive a bottle of champagne or some chocolates given they knew it was a special occassion. I have stayed at other places that have done that little bit extra which makes all the difference.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnicaViews, Owner at Arnica Views, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2009

Thank you for your review. The Sunset Suite is a favourite with our guests offering a large attic suite with amazing city skyline views beyond the gardens, a feminine, sophisticated and romantic feel along with privacy however I appreciate that we value different qualities in our getaways - the world would of course be pretty boring if we were all the same! It is for this reason that each of our suites and cottages are quite different. I suspect you would absolutely love our brand new Coorabell Retreat Cottage. The cottage is secluded, incredibly spacious over two levels with feature ceiling to floor windows and all new kitchen and spa facilities. As with all of our suites and cottages, Coorabell Retreat with all the inclusions is very competitively priced. For any further details on the cottage please do not hesitate to contact us.
Kind regards, Tania & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

Thank you for the wonderful stay in the Sunset Suite. We were totally bowled over by the attention to detail.

We were really won over when we arrive that night after a long and horrible cold and wet drive up the mountain and was warmly greeted by one of the owners. We were ushered into a room littered with candles lit; the gas log fire already going and soft music playing in the background. It was just wonderful!!!

Thank you for being such perfect hosts! We were certainly recommend your beautiful property to everyone we know. :)

Stayed: September 2008
Thank Babyseals7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2008

I booked a 2 night stay at this property staying in the Sunset suite i couldn't have wished for a more relaxing romantic place to be. The owners were so helpful and friendly i couldn't fault a thing.The little added touches just made it even more special the beautiful music playing as you enter your suite and candles lite to set the romantic mood. The Melbourne skyline was amazing as you sit in the beautiful spa sipping champagne its not often a place lives up to expectations but this is truly a wonderful retreat to enjoy it certainly was the perfect place to have ended our holiday next time in Oz we will definatley return

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bladetteSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2007

We spent just the one night at Arnica Views, in the Sunset Suite, and it was pure heaven. We walked in to a gorgeous room with 4 poster bed, corner spa and candles lit about the room. A little bowl of chocolate and a decanter of port, and a telescope and binoculars for the views of Melbourne across the garden. The storm outside just added to the romanticism of it. Large selection of DVDs in the room, and a heap of food for us to cook our breakfast the next morning. We drove to dinner at Skyhigh Mt Dandenong, but in reality would have only been a 5 minute walk. I can't rave about this place enough. There is a guest book in the room, and after reading through it, it seems to be a popular place for wedding anniversarys and proposals, and previous guests seem to be as impressed and delighted by it as we were. I would definitely recommend this to anyone, and will be going back for an anniversary myself some time.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RTmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnicaViews, Manager at Arnica Views, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

The occasional loss of power is unfortunately the downside of living and working in a heavily treed area, such as the Dandenong Ranges. Whilst businesses and residents are not compensated by the power company, our own policy is to ensure minimal disruption to our guests and work towards the most agreeable solution. These particular retreats have hot water heated by gas which provides a supply enough for a soak in the spa, surrounded by candles. Being January, the day was warm and there was plenty of daylight until the power returned. The power was out due to stormy weather and trees down over power lines and affected the property from late afternoon until early evening.

We completely understand how disappointing it can be when plans are disrupted and apologise but unfortunately an 'act of god' is beyond our control. Our view on the sequence of events is quite different but we do however offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and that we were not able to work towards an agreeable solution.

Other guests on this particular day were compensated; some with a complimentary nights stay, others were happily able to transfer their stay prior to leaving home and for a couple of guests not able to enjoy an additional evening, we sent them to a local restaurant for bubbly and a gourmet platter just prior to power returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dandenong
0.4 mi away
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retrea...
#1 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#3 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
58 reviews
0 mi away
Observatory Cottages
Observatory Cottages
#1 of 4 in Mount Dandenong
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Adeline Bed & Breakfast
Adeline Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
31 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
1.8 mi away
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnica Views? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnica Views

Address: 10 Observatory Rd, Mount Dandenong, Victoria 3767, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mount Dandenong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dandenong
Price Range: £98 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arnica Views 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arnica Views is quite different from a hotel. We offer boutique style accommodation with 7 fully self contained retreats. Perfect all year around for special occasions and to escape the everyday. Guests can expect to rediscover romance (and eat well with extensive breakfast supplies included!). Located on the summit of the beautiful Dandenong Ranges, approximately an hour's drive from Melbourne and away from the noise of the main road. Arnica Views is set amidst two acres of magnificent 85 year old English gardens, offering splendour throughout every season. Cooinda House is at 1562 Mt. Dandenong Tourist Road, Olinda and accommodates up to 8 guests. It has 4 bedrooms each with their own ensuite, a large kitchen, 2 living areas, 3 balconies, laundry, garage, heating and cooling. Breakfast not supplied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Arnica Views reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing