We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total R&R”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castro Marim
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Total R&R”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed for a week and had the best time! Definitely want to go back!

The staff were fantastic - headed up by Gustava, the General Manager, who managed to source some special Portuguese custard tarts for us (that we were trying to find).

The hotel was clean, beautifully presented and very quiet. The hotel had a lovely pool but as the weather was so good we spend most mornings on the beach (a short 10 min walk away). The hotel has lots of nice areas to relax in - both inside and out. The room was spotless - great living area, large bedroom, walk in shower and balcony. Excellent to have a fridge - but we only used the kitchen for boiling water for tea. The food in the restaurant was great too - highlights were the pork, pizzas, fresh bread and chocolate ganache (with sea salt from Marim)... as did the amazing selection of gins!

2 comments: the hotel wasn't that easy to find once you come off the main road, particularly at night. We drove straight past it as there were (at the time) no signs outside the building. We were very lucky with the weather - if the wind picks up then it gets very blustery!

Overall an unforgettable holiday. Perfect for relaxing. In May the beach was quiet. It was just at the beginning of the season. A car is useful if you want to visit the nearby town of Tavira which has a small castle in the centre (worth a visit) and good shops (where we bought a beach umbrella!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    67
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
78
111
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed for 7 nights as a couple and had an absolutely lovely time. The hotel was immaculate and had lots of lovely little design touches. The pool and bar area are so inviting, they even lay out fruity water and glasses for you to help yourself to whilst you sunbathe. The staff were extremely friendly, polite and helpful. The cleaning ladies delivered homemade biscuits to our room every evening. We dined in the restaurant a few nights and had delicious pizza - although a little pricey. Breakfast was always great - lots of fresh breads, cereals, pastries, cake, scrambled eggs, prosciutto and fruit. Room was great size and kitchenette perfect for cooking for 2 people. 10 minutes walk from a very clean and white beach down a river pathway. There are no shops/supermarkets nearby so it would be nice if the bikes were free to rent - they charged us 7euros a day for each bike which we had to use several times as we didn't rent a car. Nice restaurant down by the beach called "O Infante Panoramico" for seafood and meats. A very relaxing holiday overall - I think we were there at the start of the season as it was just beginning to get lively.

Room Tip: The second floor has a better view than the ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reillyso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here with my daughter last week and thought it was great.The staff from housekeeping through to reception and especially the restaurant were charming,enthusiastic and really seemed to take an interest in us and were always happy to answer questions we had about the hotel,food,drink & the area. Jorges and Ana especially.Downsides which I could see being a problem for some is a limited restaurant menu(they do sometimes have a special though) and it was extremely quiet when we were visiting- I think my 25 year old daughter would have preferred a place a bit more vibrant rather than chilled!Also weather was erratic so study wind speeds,sunshine hours etc if you are hoping for a few days on the beach!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodFan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed here before it was referbished and thought it was lovely, so when I went back again I was a bit worried that it may have changed beyond recognition and lost it's charm, gladly I was not disappointed. The rooms are much improved, still spacious with a seperate lounge area which I really like, but with updated furniture and a lovely calming white and natural wood scheme which suit the surroundings perfectly - feels like a true luxury retreat. One thing I did miss this time was the evening hebal tea delivered to your room, they've stopped doing this as the rooms are now equipped with Nespresso machines but this is a small thing. The new style breakfast was lovely, with a good choice. The dining area has also been improved with new decor and an improved, larger terrace.

Can't think of a better place to stay in Portugal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel was re-furbished and recently opened again. It has been beautifully done to create a cool and relaxing place with a very warm welcome.
The staff were great and made us feel very special. The suite was comfortable and well appointed. Some TV channels in other languages would be welcome. The restaurant was clean and the service friendly. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice and delicious home made bread. They like to serve local produce which I approve of.
We stayed a week and ate in the restaurant most evenings. Everything was scrumptious and we were offered some off menu suggestions a couple of times. Having a special most days would be a welcome addition when it is busier.
It is in a quiet location which suited us well, do not go there if you want a handy nightclub, but if you want to be pampered in a lovely location, relax and enjoy good food and local produce this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Get one with a panoramic view, it is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

4 perfect days, lovely sun and warm just like when we visit in September. The Hotel has been comepleltey refurbished and the suites are very comfortable ours had a kitchenette with Microwave hot plates etc. We liked the stone pizza oven in the restaurant, very good pizzas and reasonable. The walk to the beach is only about 5 mins. and you don't get sand in your bed! The Hotel overlooks lovely pine trees and a small stream, quite and peaceful.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor to the right, top floor left might have a sea view if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
170 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The good:

We stayed here one week after the re-opening and it was almost perfect. The staff is great. We were welcomed with a flavored cup of water (hot day), everyone very friendly, ready to help. Even the restaurant staff (cook inclusively), the cleaning staff, etc. It's located in a very calm urbanzation surrounded by pine trees, close to the beach (about 20min easy walking) and 15min from Spain. The nearest supermarket is only a couple of km's away. The design is great with a mix of modern and wooden/stone theme, mainly the restaurant "Terra" (where the breakfast is also served). The outside spaces are very cleaned and well maintained (gardens, walkways, pool). The room itself is very spacious with a nice living room, kitchen (fridge, microwave, espresso machine, electric stove, cookware, etc.) and a balcony with a nice pool/cannal view. The restaurant "Terra" is great. It has a firewood oven where they make some good pizzas, other meals and the breakfast bread too.

The less good:

The rooms had buttons to warn the cleaning staff if the room was available to clean or not to disturb. Our were not working and we informed the reception, however no solution was found because we were bothered every day by the maids. The bathroom amenities is nothing but a little soap and the toilet paper refill is poor. We had to use napkins once... The breakfast room, on high season, can be problematic. People can crowd the counter easily (and the kids around parents) making difficult to serve, the tables are not cleaned promptly so the next guests can take the table right away. About the food itself it's generally good but we've missed the croissants and nutella. Also, the pool only have about a dozen of chaise-longues that occupies the small pool area and it will make the summer season pretty challeging to get a spot there. Although we were informed that the hotel is waiting for the cable campany to install the service, the TV only have the 4 portuguese channels and about 20 spanish ones. And the soundproof of the room could be better, we could hear the cleaning staff and some guests.

Room Tip: As far as possible from the lobby/breakfast room/pool to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank André A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castro Marim
0.9 mi away
Eurotel Altura
Eurotel Altura
#1 of 4 in Altura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
18.0 mi away
Vila Monte Farm House
Vila Monte Farm House
#1 of 4 in Moncarapacho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 13 in Monte Gordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Robinson Club Quinta da Ria
Robinson Club Quinta da Ria
#1 of 2 in Vila Nova de Cacela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
9.0 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praia Verde Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praia Verde Boutique Hotel

Property: Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Address: Praia Verde - Altura, Castro Marim 8950-434, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Castro Marim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castro Marim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Praia Verde Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Castro Marim, in the Algarve, Praia Verde Boutique Hotel is a place for pure escapism. Surrounded by a dense pine forest and with dazzling ocean views, the hotel is inspired by nature. A Mediterranean restaurant with homemade cuisine based in the local flavours and ingredients, a swimming-pool and bar in the middle of the pine forest bordering an immense white sandy beach are the right features for exploring a wild Algarve where time simply melts away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Praia Verde Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel Portugal/Castro Marim, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing