We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax in the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castro Marim
Certificate of Excellence
Povoa de Varzim, Portugal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Relax in the Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I've been 6 nights in this hotel to fuel up after one long year of work. The hotel has a new management and shares now a new concept based on relaxed guests and easy going staff. The staff is very helpful and are eager to help but they actually do not impose their presence,which I found it good. The hotel has 40 suites, all with one wc, one living room and one room. If you have kids the living room will become the kids room sleeping in the sofa. The suite has also a kitchenette so you can prepare your own meals. If you are more in the mood your can go to the restaurant, which is good. The kids will love the pizzas. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from a lovely beach. You will walk through pines and bushes so you will have shade halfway to and from the beach. The hotel pool is very desired by kids in the afternoon so if you are looking for some peace use it during mornings. My daughter loved the kids activities in the afternoon duly supervised by a professional. I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    65
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
71
106
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I've stayed 3 nights at Praia Verde Boutique hotel and I was very pleased with my choice. Very close to the beach so didn't have to move the car for most of the time. Great service. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PatriciaVicente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

A truly fabulous place to stay. A very calm friendly relaxed and beautifully designed hotel. The restaurant is lovely with a fresh menu for sharing (very romantic) and some original takes on the pizza notion. Breakfast is a real treat, perfect scrambled eggs, tomatoes in herbs, all manner of cheeses, preserves croissant and freshly baked bread from pizza oven. The rooms are spacious and the bed is too! Home made biscuits are left in the room every day.

The staff are lovely and really seem to be very proud of there hotel and the lovely Jorge in the restaurant in the evening is a real added bonus!

A nice pool and gardens and only ten minutes from the beach. Absolutely great!

Room Tip: There are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tetranomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I've stayed a total of five nights at Praia Verde Boutique Hotel and I can honestly say that this is a 4 stars hotel with a 5 stars service. Everyone is so nice and at your disposal and everything you might need or want is cared for.
The overall ambiance is casual when it comes to decor and staff. The restaurant has an industrial feeling and the outdoor pool and bar have a hippie-chic design in a very trendy way.
The restaurant and bar's menus could have a bit more choice, but the quality of the food is amazing! A bit overpriced but you can see they are trying to aim for high end guests. The use of vegetables and spices grown at the hotel's garden is a plus for me. The more local and in season the better!
Try a gin&tonic. They have quite a few interesting options!
Suites are spacious, simple, lots of light and a nice private balcony. Bathroom has an ok size and design but the usual amenities are not at your disposal, just a soap. There is also a handy blow dryer. Suites have a/c and cable tv in the bedroom and living room. They also have a small kitchenette with a few appliances and even a Nespresso machine and they offer tea and cofee capsules but only two for the whole stay, not per night. And I gotta say that although I do like Nicola's coffee it seems a bit cheap to offer it instead of Nespresso, specially if they're offering the cheapest one and selling the expensive Nicola capsules. Also gotta wonder what Nespresso might think of this...
Breakfast is at the restaurant untill 11am (hurray!). It is of good quality (the bread is even baked in house!), but with limited choice and variety. In five days it was always the same except for the cake that was different every other day. I would like to see some changes here next time I visit (counting on doing it!)
This is a pet friendly hotel, so expect a dog or two. Again, a plus for me as it shows they're open minded and relaxed...
But there is one thing that I have to complain; cleaning was a bit bad. A few hairs in the bathroom floor and tub everyday, no extra toilet paper and I just couldn't figure out who was suppose to do the dishes (us or the cleaning ladies) as sometimes they would do it and sometimes they wouldn't. Also they like to chat a lot and a bit loud... we women, right?!

There is no spa, but they do offer on-site massages.
The beach is at a 10 to 15 minutes walk.
But just like I said, I'm counting on coming back and I do recommend everyone to enjoy this yet to discover gem before it gets too crowded.

Room Tip: Ether ask for one on the second floor or one to the right in the ground floor, so no one is able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martateixeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed for a week and had the best time! Definitely want to go back!

The staff were fantastic - headed up by Gustava, the General Manager, who managed to source some special Portuguese custard tarts for us (that we were trying to find).

The hotel was clean, beautifully presented and very quiet. The hotel had a lovely pool but as the weather was so good we spend most mornings on the beach (a short 10 min walk away). The hotel has lots of nice areas to relax in - both inside and out. The room was spotless - great living area, large bedroom, walk in shower and balcony. Excellent to have a fridge - but we only used the kitchen for boiling water for tea. The food in the restaurant was great too - highlights were the pork, pizzas, fresh bread and chocolate ganache (with sea salt from Marim)... as did the amazing selection of gins!

2 comments: the hotel wasn't that easy to find once you come off the main road, particularly at night. We drove straight past it as there were (at the time) no signs outside the building. We were very lucky with the weather - if the wind picks up then it gets very blustery!

Overall an unforgettable holiday. Perfect for relaxing. In May the beach was quiet. It was just at the beginning of the season. A car is useful if you want to visit the nearby town of Tavira which has a small castle in the centre (worth a visit) and good shops (where we bought a beach umbrella!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed for 7 nights as a couple and had an absolutely lovely time. The hotel was immaculate and had lots of lovely little design touches. The pool and bar area are so inviting, they even lay out fruity water and glasses for you to help yourself to whilst you sunbathe. The staff were extremely friendly, polite and helpful. The cleaning ladies delivered homemade biscuits to our room every evening. We dined in the restaurant a few nights and had delicious pizza - although a little pricey. Breakfast was always great - lots of fresh breads, cereals, pastries, cake, scrambled eggs, prosciutto and fruit. Room was great size and kitchenette perfect for cooking for 2 people. 10 minutes walk from a very clean and white beach down a river pathway. There are no shops/supermarkets nearby so it would be nice if the bikes were free to rent - they charged us 7euros a day for each bike which we had to use several times as we didn't rent a car. Nice restaurant down by the beach called "O Infante Panoramico" for seafood and meats. A very relaxing holiday overall - I think we were there at the start of the season as it was just beginning to get lively.

Room Tip: The second floor has a better view than the ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reillyso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here with my daughter last week and thought it was great.The staff from housekeeping through to reception and especially the restaurant were charming,enthusiastic and really seemed to take an interest in us and were always happy to answer questions we had about the hotel,food,drink & the area. Jorges and Ana especially.Downsides which I could see being a problem for some is a limited restaurant menu(they do sometimes have a special though) and it was extremely quiet when we were visiting- I think my 25 year old daughter would have preferred a place a bit more vibrant rather than chilled!Also weather was erratic so study wind speeds,sunshine hours etc if you are hoping for a few days on the beach!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodFan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castro Marim
0.9 mi away
Eurotel Altura
Eurotel Altura
#1 of 4 in Altura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
18.0 mi away
Vila Monte Farm House
Vila Monte Farm House
#1 of 4 in Moncarapacho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 14 in Monte Gordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Robinson Club Quinta da Ria
Robinson Club Quinta da Ria
#1 of 2 in Vila Nova de Cacela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
9.0 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praia Verde Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praia Verde Boutique Hotel

Property: Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Address: Praia Verde - Altura, Castro Marim 8950-434, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Castro Marim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castro Marim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Praia Verde Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Castro Marim, in the Algarve, Praia Verde Boutique Hotel is a place for pure escapism. Surrounded by a dense pine forest and with dazzling ocean views, the hotel is inspired by nature. A Mediterranean restaurant with homemade cuisine based in the local flavours and ingredients, a swimming-pool and bar in the middle of the pine forest bordering an immense white sandy beach are the right features for exploring a wild Algarve where time simply melts away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Praia Verde Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel Portugal/Castro Marim, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing