We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Cosy Casa...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of casa rosada

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castro Marim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
casa rosada
Ranked #3 of 4 Castro Marim B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Cosy Casa...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We enjoyed a splendid anniversary stay at the Casa Rosada - elegant and comfortable rooms, fabulous fresh food and wonderfully loved garden! Coast and countryside are close by - offering magnificent views of the surrounding area! Overall, a relaxing and romantic experience!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosPanchisRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We visited Casa Rosada in late June and it was perfect. So close to London Gatwick and yet it felt like a world away. I felt myself relax the minute I walked into the glorious garden - where I kept discovering new little seating areas as the days went by. Rupert and Andrew's B&B would fit well in the pages of a glossy interiors magazine, but their warm welcome makes it feel as if you are instantly at home. They cooked the most delicious meals, served in the garden, and I won't forget the prawn and pork paella!! Breakfasts are so lovely you want to take a picture of them before you start eating.
Rupert and Andrew also gave us spot on tips for local restaurants and towns to visit. So we never had a bad meal or a wasted afternoon. Thanks to them making sure every detail of the stay was perfect our long weekend was as relaxing as a 2-week holiday. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter what your interiors taste, there's a room for everyone. I loved the calm o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

If you are wanting to escape the grind of the day to day, switch off, tune into yourself again and reintroduce yourself to your partner, there's probably no better place than the slice of heaven that is Casa Rosada. It's a delightful house, set at the foot of the eponymous castle in Castro Marim, run by Rupert and Andrew who will welcome you as if you were long lost relatives - when they have never met you before.

A secluded garden to the rear is the place to meditate, cogitate, sunbathe, rest and recuperate in peace and serenity. It's probably as near to perfect as you could get - nothing pretentious, nothing ostentatious, just deliciously, serenely, lovely.

Then there's the rooms. Simple, unadorned, but comfortable and welcoming. You feel at home straight away. The dining room - that chandelier! The place where you'll experience culinary delights - not just local delicacies (although Rupert is the master of them all), but also regional and international cuisine, produced with flair, local ingredients and a huge dollop of panache (you can't get that in your local supermarket!).

The welcome is extraordinary, but not overpowering. Andrew and Rupert are consummate hosts who put you at your ease and let you relax. They're ready if you need them, but stay out of the way if you simply want your space.

This is an accommodating, welcoming place whose hosts have a wealth of local knowledge - but get them started on their lives before Casa Rosada! Gabrielle and I had a wonderful, gentle, relaxing week with them - and we shall return. We couldn't recommend this place highly enough. Well done chaps!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank extramilecomms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hay-on-Wye, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We visited Casa Rosada in early April for a much needed Spring getaway. Access from the Algarve’s main airport in Faro was easy - along and just off the main E1 motorway.

Rupert and Andrew offered us a warm welcome into their beautiful townhouse in the centre of the sleepy town of Castro Marim. Andrew led us into the oasis-like tranquility of their terraced garden and offered us refreshments, as we absorbed the beautiful setting below the town’s castle walls and took in the delicious scent of orange blossom.

Our first floor room was light, airy and spacious with an en-suite bathroom. Although our corner room overlooked the street, we never felt disturbed, but rather enjoyed observing local daily life passing by.

After exploring the pretty little town (quiet, perhaps due to our visit being off season), its castle and the surrounding salt marshes and nature reserve, we ventured further afield to the local towns of Vila Real, Tavira and just over the border into the lively Spanish town of Ayamonte. We also took the opportunity to travel further on to the magnificent city of Seville (less than a 90 minute drive away).

Rupert and Andrew’s great local knowledge led us to discover some super places to eat. One of our favourites was the Restaurant Pezinhos N’Areia – a rather glamorous, beach terrace affair, situated on boardwalks overlooking Praia Verde (a 10-15 minute drive from Casa Rosada) – with great food and people-watching. Another was Mesa do Cuma, nestled at the highest point in the eastern Algarve, and around a half hour’s drive from Tavira – some wonderful Mediterranean food, in a unique setting with spectacular, panoramic views of the Algarve below.

Each morning during our stay, Rupert presented us with his “Sunshine Breakfast” - a mouth-watering offering of fresh fruit and slices of scrumptious home-made madeira cake, along with a choice of freshly prepared granola, honey and toast. There was also the option to have dinner at Casa Rosada and again, Rupert’s superb culinary skills did not disappoint on the two occasions we opted to ‘eat in’.

We left Castro Marim with the lasting impression that Rupert and Andrew have created something very special at Casa Rosada – the perfect place to relax, reflect and recharge.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cusopdingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed at Casa Rosada at the end of June. Definitely one of the best B&B's we have ever been to - Andrew and Rupert make sure you feel right at home! Wonderful rooms, great view, lovely garden and best of all- Rupert's delicious dinners! Andrew and Rupert take care of every detail, great suggestions for restaurants, beaches and trips and we had a fab night watching Os Amor Electro perform together in Castro Marim's festival. Thank you guys! We will definitely return, miss your wonderful home already! Quality and authentic, superb! Mark & Michel

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkHLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We were were warmly greeted by Andrew and Rupert, we ate with them for two nights, home cooked food and company thoroughly enjoyable.
Suggestions for touring around very helpful and a beautiful garden in which to dine and relax.
Room immaculate, spacious, airy and quiet.
We'll be back.

Pat and Ian

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paltrav12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wokingham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Not only is Casa Rosada beautiful, Andrew and Rupert are truly special. Last June, they helped us plan our wedding and made our dreams come true. They found us a magical venue at Campanhia das Culturas, they organised every little detail for us and Rupert provided a fabulous menu. Nothing was too much trouble and we could not have hoped for more on our special day. Thank you so much x

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeythenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castro Marim
3.6 mi away
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Marim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.6 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
3.0 mi away
Hotel Isla Canela Golf
Hotel Isla Canela Golf
#4 of 6 in Isla Canela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Eurotel Altura
Eurotel Altura
#1 of 4 in Altura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Apolo
Hotel Apolo
#1 of 2 in Vila Real de Santo Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.0 mi away
Castro Marim Golfe & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to casa rosada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about casa rosada

Property: casa rosada
Address: 6,8,10 Rua dr Silvestre Falcao, Castro Marim 8950-128, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Castro Marim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castro Marim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Casa Rosada Portugal/Castro Marim, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing