We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No ordinary B&B...it is just so good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of casa rosada

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castro Marim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
casa rosada
Ranked #3 of 4 Castro Marim B&B and Inns
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“No ordinary B&B...it is just so good!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at Casa Rosada for 8 nights in September 2013.

The house

It is set in a quiet street in a quiet town. From the outside it is a beautiful old Portuguese house that has been tastefully restored. From the start to the finish, we were made to feel like part of the family by mine hosts, Andrew & Rupert. We had decided to "do something different" from our usual holidays and stay here this September and in truth I was a bit apprehensive as I don't really do B&B... however any fears or reservations were unfounded, the owners are creating something quite special here, so let me tell you more.

The room we had was large & spacious with a small balcony overlooking the street outside. The bathroom was also huge and decorated to a high standard with a generously sized bath and a powerful rain shower. Crisp fresh bed linen, soft pillows and a good matrass made for a sound nights sleep. The garden outside where we had breakfast (and sometimes dinner) was a haven of peace with fragrances of rosemary and lemon geranium, we enjoyed green tea, coffee, homemade yogurt with honey & granola and hot toast with homemade preserves each morning there, glorious.

The food

There are a couple of good restaurants a short drive away, and I've reviewed them on trip advisor, but if you can, have a meal in Casa Rosada, cooked by Rupert. We ate in on 3 occasions and were never disappointed, I have attached a few pictures of the sort of food we ate... superb! Just a selection of dishes we had were seared tuna loin (cooked on a salt stone), wind-dried tuna (texture like Iberico ham, in a tuna), red mullet with saffron potato & baby leeks and a tapa with tomato, almond and anchovy, served with a cold manzanilla and a sublime lemon geranium flavoured pannacota served with homemade limoncello (made with home grown lemons from the garden). On one night we had planned to go out but were too chilled, so we joined Rupert & Andrew for a simple bowl of pasta (did I say simple?), pasta beautifully flavoured with rosemary, garlic, tomato and anchovy... let me rephrase.. a great bowl of pasta.

The team

In former lives Andrew & Rupert worked as creative / artistic directors in the publishing world. Rupert also has a background in food. This combination of life experience shines through in what they do. They have a lovely friendly dog (Poppy) and a timid rescue cat, so you do have to accept this, I hardly saw the cat, and I wanted to steal Poppy!

If you have ever fancied something more intimate & inclusive than a hotel, I can whole-heartedly recommend Casa Rosada.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, all are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FergusPatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have just returned home after our 4th visit in 2 years. We have travelled in many countries and stayed in many different types of hotel/accommodation. It is very difficult to combine comfort, some luxury, personal touches, superb food and complete relaxation. Rupert and Andrew have achieved it at Casa Rosada. A Gem!

thank you....again!

Mark & Hilary

Room Tip: Small hotel---all rooms different , but excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ormrod55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Through their dedication and skills Rupert and Andrew have created the most sublime destination imaginable in the Algarve.

From the moment you step in off the street the welcome is warm and you are immediately at home. The traditional Algarve house is beautifully decorated and furnished. The garden created by Andrew is full of intimate spaces amongst the aromatic and flowering shrubs and the orange and lemon trees. It is absolutely magical.

Breakfast, served in the garden, is a delight and an evening meal prepared by Rupert simply cannot be recommended enough.

As hosts Rupert and Andrew cannot be faulted and through their intimate knowledge of the area were a fund of sound advice on places and restaurants to visit.

Not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcam08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

If you're in this lovely, unspoilt part of Portugal, not far from the Spanish border, treat yourself to a few nights at the wonderful, wonderful Casa Rosada in Castro Marim, a B&B with as much charm and chic as George Clooney! You'll receive the warmest of welcomes and a relaxing stay that's hard to beat. Andrew and Rupert are the consummate hosts, there to supply you with endless TLC, all the info you need on the local area - and superb cooking. The three bedrooms are all large, light and airy, and comfortable, even in the heat.
Andrew has created the beyond gorgeous garden from scratch, with quiet shady corners to relax out of the sun. You'll enjoy fabulous breakfasts on the little terrace and wonderful dinners you'll remember forever... And if you fancy a day on the beach, Andrew and Rupert will tell you how to get there, about a 10-minute drive away, where you'll also find good places to have lunch. Don't miss this place...

Room Tip: There are only three rooms, and they're all very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We enjoyed a splendid anniversary stay at the Casa Rosada - elegant and comfortable rooms, fabulous fresh food and wonderfully loved garden! Coast and countryside are close by - offering magnificent views of the surrounding area! Overall, a relaxing and romantic experience!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosPanchisRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We visited Casa Rosada in late June and it was perfect. So close to London Gatwick and yet it felt like a world away. I felt myself relax the minute I walked into the glorious garden - where I kept discovering new little seating areas as the days went by. Rupert and Andrew's B&B would fit well in the pages of a glossy interiors magazine, but their warm welcome makes it feel as if you are instantly at home. They cooked the most delicious meals, served in the garden, and I won't forget the prawn and pork paella!! Breakfasts are so lovely you want to take a picture of them before you start eating.
Rupert and Andrew also gave us spot on tips for local restaurants and towns to visit. So we never had a bad meal or a wasted afternoon. Thanks to them making sure every detail of the stay was perfect our long weekend was as relaxing as a 2-week holiday. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter what your interiors taste, there's a room for everyone. I loved the calm o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2013

If you are wanting to escape the grind of the day to day, switch off, tune into yourself again and reintroduce yourself to your partner, there's probably no better place than the slice of heaven that is Casa Rosada. It's a delightful house, set at the foot of the eponymous castle in Castro Marim, run by Rupert and Andrew who will welcome you as if you were long lost relatives - when they have never met you before.

A secluded garden to the rear is the place to meditate, cogitate, sunbathe, rest and recuperate in peace and serenity. It's probably as near to perfect as you could get - nothing pretentious, nothing ostentatious, just deliciously, serenely, lovely.

Then there's the rooms. Simple, unadorned, but comfortable and welcoming. You feel at home straight away. The dining room - that chandelier! The place where you'll experience culinary delights - not just local delicacies (although Rupert is the master of them all), but also regional and international cuisine, produced with flair, local ingredients and a huge dollop of panache (you can't get that in your local supermarket!).

The welcome is extraordinary, but not overpowering. Andrew and Rupert are consummate hosts who put you at your ease and let you relax. They're ready if you need them, but stay out of the way if you simply want your space.

This is an accommodating, welcoming place whose hosts have a wealth of local knowledge - but get them started on their lives before Casa Rosada! Gabrielle and I had a wonderful, gentle, relaxing week with them - and we shall return. We couldn't recommend this place highly enough. Well done chaps!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank extramilecomms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castro Marim
3.6 mi away
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Marim
221 reviews
12.4 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
768 reviews
2.6 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
2.0 mi away
Castro Marim Golfe & Country Club
0.1 mi away
Monte do Malhao
Monte do Malhao
#2 of 4 in Castro Marim
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to casa rosada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about casa rosada

Property: casa rosada
Address: 6,8,10 Rua dr Silvestre Falcao, Castro Marim 8950-128, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Castro Marim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castro Marim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Casa Rosada Portugal/Castro Marim, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing