We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime - Not to be missed”
Review of casa rosada

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castro Marim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
casa rosada
Ranked #3 of 5 Castro Marim B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Another visit to our favourite location in the Eastern Algarve.

As ever (*) , Andrew & Rupert genuinely excel in making their home feel like yours .

Very comfortable stylish bedrooms, (well altogether actually much better than at home), & spotlessly clean bathrooms.

We were in the area to play golf & it's really so nice to come in from a hard day on the course, be welcomed by Poppy, offered a drink & sit down to enjoy whatever chef Rupert has sourced from the local market that day.

The food..........

Breakfast is a very nice platter of yoghurt/granola/fresh fruit accompanied by freshly squeezed
orange juice, toast & coffee/tea.

This time we ate in all four nights. The first three were of the usual excellent standard to which we have become accustomed ( but never disappointed).

The last night we sampled the Tasting Menu

7 courses, all of which which just oozed tastiness. Details on request but we've done TM in some nice places (Gleneagles/Mount Juliett/Munich/Stockholm) which were not a patch on
what we were served here. Very Big Hat Tip to Rupert ( Recommend his blog for cookery tips/menus) whose genuine love of food just comes through.

& of course thanks also to Andrew whose "front of house" duties were performed to perfection
(as usual !)

(*) we don't go back to many places, but are pleased/delighted to make Casada Rosada the exception.

Until next year.........

Room Tip: It's a B&B All rooms are really excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

I'm the sort of person that always reads and relies on other people's reviews but don't get round to writing anything myself. But this trip cannot go unreported. I went out to Casa Rosada with a couple of friends for a week in early October. Weather was great, location and accommodation were fantastic but what really made our holiday were the hosts. Rupert and Andrew directed us to different beaches, towns and restaurants which meant no disappointing anythings. We ate out locally several times, from tapas in the square at Castro Marim to more adventurous Portuguese menus sitting looking out to sea. But the best food we had was the food that Rupert prepared and cooked , before we went out we hadn't realised what an accomplished chef Rupert is (have a look at his blog). Several evenings we had our 3 course dinner out in the garden (I see other reviewers have detailed the food so I won't) lit by candles and fairy lights. The last thing I would like to recommend is their Sangria......... See you next year boys

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline_H240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at Casa Rosada for 8 nights in September 2013.

The house

It is set in a quiet street in a quiet town. From the outside it is a beautiful old Portuguese house that has been tastefully restored. From the start to the finish, we were made to feel like part of the family by mine hosts, Andrew & Rupert. We had decided to "do something different" from our usual holidays and stay here this September and in truth I was a bit apprehensive as I don't really do B&B... however any fears or reservations were unfounded, the owners are creating something quite special here, so let me tell you more.

The room we had was large & spacious with a small balcony overlooking the street outside. The bathroom was also huge and decorated to a high standard with a generously sized bath and a powerful rain shower. Crisp fresh bed linen, soft pillows and a good matrass made for a sound nights sleep. The garden outside where we had breakfast (and sometimes dinner) was a haven of peace with fragrances of rosemary and lemon geranium, we enjoyed green tea, coffee, homemade yogurt with honey & granola and hot toast with homemade preserves each morning there, glorious.

The food

There are a couple of good restaurants a short drive away, and I've reviewed them on trip advisor, but if you can, have a meal in Casa Rosada, cooked by Rupert. We ate in on 3 occasions and were never disappointed, I have attached a few pictures of the sort of food we ate... superb! Just a selection of dishes we had were seared tuna loin (cooked on a salt stone), wind-dried tuna (texture like Iberico ham, in a tuna), red mullet with saffron potato & baby leeks and a tapa with tomato, almond and anchovy, served with a cold manzanilla and a sublime lemon geranium flavoured pannacota served with homemade limoncello (made with home grown lemons from the garden). On one night we had planned to go out but were too chilled, so we joined Rupert & Andrew for a simple bowl of pasta (did I say simple?), pasta beautifully flavoured with rosemary, garlic, tomato and anchovy... let me rephrase.. a great bowl of pasta.

The team

In former lives Andrew & Rupert worked as creative / artistic directors in the publishing world. Rupert also has a background in food. This combination of life experience shines through in what they do. They have a lovely friendly dog (Poppy) and a timid rescue cat, so you do have to accept this, I hardly saw the cat, and I wanted to steal Poppy!

If you have ever fancied something more intimate & inclusive than a hotel, I can whole-heartedly recommend Casa Rosada.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, all are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FergusPatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have just returned home after our 4th visit in 2 years. We have travelled in many countries and stayed in many different types of hotel/accommodation. It is very difficult to combine comfort, some luxury, personal touches, superb food and complete relaxation. Rupert and Andrew have achieved it at Casa Rosada. A Gem!

thank you....again!

Mark & Hilary

Room Tip: Small hotel---all rooms different , but excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ormrod55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Through their dedication and skills Rupert and Andrew have created the most sublime destination imaginable in the Algarve.

From the moment you step in off the street the welcome is warm and you are immediately at home. The traditional Algarve house is beautifully decorated and furnished. The garden created by Andrew is full of intimate spaces amongst the aromatic and flowering shrubs and the orange and lemon trees. It is absolutely magical.

Breakfast, served in the garden, is a delight and an evening meal prepared by Rupert simply cannot be recommended enough.

As hosts Rupert and Andrew cannot be faulted and through their intimate knowledge of the area were a fund of sound advice on places and restaurants to visit.

Not to be missed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcam08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

If you're in this lovely, unspoilt part of Portugal, not far from the Spanish border, treat yourself to a few nights at the wonderful, wonderful Casa Rosada in Castro Marim, a B&B with as much charm and chic as George Clooney! You'll receive the warmest of welcomes and a relaxing stay that's hard to beat. Andrew and Rupert are the consummate hosts, there to supply you with endless TLC, all the info you need on the local area - and superb cooking. The three bedrooms are all large, light and airy, and comfortable, even in the heat.
Andrew has created the beyond gorgeous garden from scratch, with quiet shady corners to relax out of the sun. You'll enjoy fabulous breakfasts on the little terrace and wonderful dinners you'll remember forever... And if you fancy a day on the beach, Andrew and Rupert will tell you how to get there, about a 10-minute drive away, where you'll also find good places to have lunch. Don't miss this place...

Room Tip: There are only three rooms, and they're all very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We enjoyed a splendid anniversary stay at the Casa Rosada - elegant and comfortable rooms, fabulous fresh food and wonderfully loved garden! Coast and countryside are close by - offering magnificent views of the surrounding area! Overall, a relaxing and romantic experience!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosPanchisRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castro Marim hotels
3.6 mi away
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Marim
317 reviews
2 mi away
Castro Marim Golfe & Country Club
2.9 mi away
Casas do Palheiro Velho
Casas do Palheiro Velho
#4 of 7 in Castro Marim
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quinta da Fornalha
Quinta da Fornalha
#1 of 7 in Castro Marim
24 reviews
3 mi away
Quinta de Sao Gabriel
Quinta de Sao Gabriel
#2 of 5 in Castro Marim
49 reviews
30.6 mi away
Monte do Malhao
Monte do Malhao
#1 of 5 in Castro Marim
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to casa rosada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about casa rosada

Address: 6,8,10 Rua dr Silvestre Falcao, Castro Marim 8950-128, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Castro Marim
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Castro Marim
Price Range: £84 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Casa Rosada Portugal/Castro Marim, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing