We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a tranquil haven ideal for a relaxing stay”
Review of casa rosada

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castro Marim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
casa rosada
Ranked #3 of 5 Castro Marim B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Another fabulous holiday in the very special Casa Rosada. This was my third visit and already I am checking my diary to work out when I can return.

Casa Rosada is an unexpected find in the small town of Castro Marim. Behind the traditional shuttered and wrought iron panelled doors of this beautiful rose-coloured house hides a secret oasis…a stylish manor decorated throughout with subtlety and care. Delicate colours with the occasional splash in just the right place!

All the bedrooms have their own style and are well kitted out. My personal favourite is the en suite. As well as a fabulous shower it has the most luxurious deep bath I have ever had the pleasure of soaking in. The rooms are big and airy and are always made up with fresh crisp white linen…nothing like it for a comfortable sleep!

The focus of this house however lies in the kitchen and the garden. The garden is full of surprises. At first glance you don’t see its secrets but as you investigate, you come across little pockets of calm, each with its own character. The palm-shaded courtyard is where I was served a delightful breakfast of honeyed yoghurt and fresh fruit, followed by hot buttered toast with homemade jams and marmalades. At the top of the garden is another beautiful place to sit … a natural gazebo draped in coloured muslins and overgrown with delicately coloured bougainvillea. In the evening this is a beautiful spot for a lantern-lit dinner. Just outside the gazebo is a mosaic terrace where you can soak up a bit of sun on a relaxing lounger. There are many such spots dotted around the garden, shaded and sunny, where you can sit and relax.

For good food look no further than Casa Rosada. You won’t find better in the region than Rupert’s home-cooked cuisine. A chef in his past life Rupert has a fantastic repertoire of delicious food and continually comes up with new exciting recipes to delight. The vegetable garden, lovingly tended by Andrew, provides a lot of the ingredients so everything is very fresh. If you get the opportunity ask Rupert to show you his recipe book…. it is a fantastic collection collated by himself and clearly a labour of love.

This house provides everything required for a relaxing holiday and the owners Rupert and Andrew are superb hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mozza33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 62 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2009

Having been recommended by friends we booked a long weekend at the Casa Rosada and wow! we were not dissapointed. We were greeted on arrival with refreshments and allocated a beautiful bedroom with full en-suite facilities. The decor in the Casa has been recently renovated to a very high standard and it makes for a warm and very comfortable atmosphere. The outdoor dining and relaxing areas are particularly inviting with flowers and scented bushes in abundance. Breakfast is served on the secluded patio and we were extremley impressed with the delicious choice of fresh and homemade fruit compote and preserves. We also opted to dine in for the few evenings we were there and the meals prepared for us by our host were outstanding!! Fresh fish and meat from the local market and herbs and spices grown in the garden, all beautifully prepared.
In the few days we had to explore the area we were very impressed, beautiful beaches and the pretty and interesting town of Trevira close by.
All in all if you are looking for somewhere to stay which is 1st class in an unspoilt part of the Algarve look no further than Casa Rosada. We can't wait to return for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denian48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Casa Rosada is a small and personal B&B, located in an historic Algarve town beneath the walls of the ruined hilltop castle. We couldn't believe our luck when we arrived. We received a very warm welcome from the owners, and were shown to our bright and spacious room in their beautifully restored Algarve house. Our bedroom and bathroom were enormous, and furnished with an eclectic mix of inherited antiques and stylish accessories. Our beds were wonderfully comfortable, and the bedlinen was the finest quality, ensuring a very restful stay. For us, a highlight was the magical terraced garden behind the house, with various shaded hidden alcoves to choose from for whiling away the hot hours of the day with a good book. We had our five-year old daughter with us, which can be awkward in some smaller boutique-style B&Bs, but she was warmly welcomed, and the owners went out of their way to ensure that she was happy, and organised special dinners that she was sure to enjoy. Do not pass up the opportunity to arrange for dinner to be made for you by the owners. The home-cooked meals are fresh, local and outstanding. We had a most memorable gourmet dinner in the garden beneath the palm tree, surrounded by twinkling candle-light from various Moroccan-style lanterns. It was tempting not to move from the Casa, although the fascinating town of Tavira is not far away and well worth a visit. There is no pool at Casa Rosada, but there are several gorgeous beaches within minutes by car. We loved our stay, and regret that we hadn't arranged a longer holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scatterlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2014
1  Thank hp h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Juliana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Montserrat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castro Marim hotels
3.6 mi away
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Marim
292 reviews
3.7 mi away
Monte do Malhao
Monte do Malhao
#1 of 5 in Castro Marim
43 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quinta de Sao Gabriel
Quinta de Sao Gabriel
#2 of 5 in Castro Marim
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Castro Marim Golfe & Country Club
2.9 mi away
Casas do Palheiro Velho
Casas do Palheiro Velho
#3 of 7 in Castro Marim
17 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quinta da Fornalha
Quinta da Fornalha
#1 of 7 in Castro Marim
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to casa rosada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about casa rosada

Address: 6,8,10 Rua dr Silvestre Falcao, Castro Marim 8950-128, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Castro Marim
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Castro Marim
Price Range: £85 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Casa Rosada Portugal/Castro Marim, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing