We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Couvent d'Herepian
Ranked #1 of 2 Herepian B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We spent ages driving around in circles trying to find this little hole in the wall hotel and were then directed to a car park half a kilometre away. Not a great start. Of course we were then told that we couldn't eat in the hotel and later had to put up with some mediocre scoff in a local restaurant. However, the most interesting part of our stay was when we asked to use the so called spa facilities. Firstly the staff claimed that the spa facilities were fully booked, then they changed their mind and let us in. The spa at this establishment consists of a luke warm pool measuring about 4 by 3 metres, that you can neither swim in because it's stupidly short, nor relax in because it's far too cold. My wife, fellow guest and I wallowed around in the water and engaged in normal conversation only to be interrupted by the most extraordinary behaviour - the masseuse, who unbeknown to us was conducting a massage next door, burst in and loudly shushed us! No, "please could you keep the noise down", no "evening ladies and gents..." just a loud SSSHHH! We were amazed. I was speechless, well, not literally because we carried on communicating with one another, only to have the same thing happening, we were literally treated like annoying children. Quite amazing. We left disgruntled the following morning and even though I made a complaint there and then, nothing was done about it, not even an apology.

Room Tip: do not under any circumstances be tempted to stay at this hotel, particularly if you are lured in by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Château du P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

We just got married and received a night in this ancient couvent as a wedding gift. Very warm welcome, the room was great. We didn't expect it but there were cooking facilities incorporated in the room. Food for dinner was comparable to what is served in a gastronomic restaurant and was delicious. The facilities were above expectations: the spa pool is great and was so relaxing. The fireplace adds something special.This is not comparable to any other 5 stars hotels as the hotel layout is unusual and the service makes you feel home. We would recommend to couples who are looking for a quiet and relaxing break. We will go back, for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathie750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in late October as part of our honeymoon trip around the South of France. Up till this point we had stayed at various 5 star hotels with the expected level of service and facilities. Lets be clear this is not a 5 star hotel nor is it trying to be. It is a beautiful little hotel with some luxury touches (eg indoor spa plunge pool) but the ethos of a chambre d'hôte. The staff werelovely and extremely helpful. One night we tried to go to the local restaurant but it was full so the hotel rang around nearby restaurants to find us a table. The other night we ate in and our chef Christophe did us proud with good quality food and very reasonable wine. Please note the hotel does not have a restaurant so such meals are by arrangement only. Finally in response to the reviewer who complained that the parking is in a field some distance away. Lets be clear. Yes its a field but it is a hard surface and its all of about 3 mins walk away. Furthermore the hotel makes it clear that there is very limited parking in the neighbourhood of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We should have realised there might be problems when we eventually found the hotel tucked away in a narrow street, with no parking! The receptionist was welcoming and explained that the car park was in a field quite some way away, the walk back to the hotel in the pouring rain was not a good omen either!
The room was large, and a bit gloomy, the shower and bathroom was ok, but with bits of tile and grouting missing. the bed was comfortable.
We had no towels in the bathroom, and infact even after numerous reminders none appeared until 18.30 we had arrives at 12.30, There was a communial breakfast area, with basic breakfast items but no where to sit, we took our coffee out to the sitting area near the indoor swimming pool, the table was dirty and although the receptionist apologised it really was not good enough, the whole place felt like it was on its last legs, no cups available for the coffee when we went down to breakfast, we were expected to sit with strangers - ok if you want to do this but not what we wanted first thing in the morning. Breakfast was 16 Euros each - one cup of coffee and a danish!!!!! there really wasn't any thing to eat anyway. The indoor swimming pool was dark, gloomy and did not make you feel like getting into it, it was opressive to say the least.
It sets it self up as a 'LuxuryRetreat and Spa' I think this needs to be re classified. There are better places to stay near by.

Room Tip: don't go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yb1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed here for one night and it was pretty good. Room was lovely, but as others have said the furniture is a bit faux antique - it would be better to have normal, more modern furniture in neutral colours than trying to do antique on the cheap. I liked the kitchen facilities - very useful if you just want to eat in, but there needs to be some dish liquid and other basics as well as the nice crockery! Bed was comfy and huge, lack of air-con not really a problem, that's just pretty normal.

We didn't have the breakfast as 15euro seemed pretty steep. We bought croissants and juice from the boulangerie just around the corner and ate in our room - lovely!

The spa pool and outdoor pool were also really nice, although yes there are broken tiles that could be fixed. In fact, there's a need for a little maintenance but in general it's nice. It's not a flash hotel, it's a small hotel in an out of the way town in countryside France, so if you understand that that means it won't be flash, then you won't be as disappointed as others have been.

It's a bit overpriced, but it's lovely all the same.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWinslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Good hotel in a small town. We had a lovely welcome and the suite was spacious. We had two small children that they accommodated without any problem with lovely beds. Dinner served in our room was a real treat with good quantity food and wine. However, a problem with their booking system charged our deposit twice and the advertised costs did not match with one bill item. I am sadly disappointed in the Garrigae Group as the hotel and staff were fantastic but not backed up by their administration. We are still awaiting our refund.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

we booked this hotel through the "Mr & Mrs Smith" group who deal in exclusive boutique hotels. We were really looking forward to the experience . When we arrived, although it was difficult to find, we were surprised by the location. We were expecting the hotel to be snuggly situated in a quiet location "tranquility" is a favourite word advertised with the property, but unfortunately its situated on an extremely narrow road with no parking available.
We were greeted by the general manager who took us on the tour of the property. I for one was unimpressed with the dark, damp oppressive atmosphere of the entire building. There was no welcoming warmth to the place. There is a communal kitchen where the local (apparently excellent) chef comes to cook for guests but unfortunately we didn`t get to experience his wares as we were told they were fully booked for the next 2 nights !! talk about feeling unloved !! We were supposed to be staying for 3 nights but we cut it short, partly because we had to have dinner from the nearby Macdonalds restaraunt !!
Our suite was enormous, but with no air con we had to have all the windows wide open , it was then we realised just how lively the narrow road was at 05.45 when the bins were emptied, then swiftly followed by various van drivers, deliveries etc......not at all tranquil !!
Although our suite was large, it was tired. The tiles in the bathroom were dirty and the grouting mouldy. The wifi only worked in the bedroom. We could hear conversations from the reception area too !
The plunge pool was cold but clean and very refreshing !! The honesty bar was a dissapointment as they only had wines or beers.No spirits or mixers.
The breakfast was alarmingly average considering the price they charge ! The home made fig jam was tasteless. I was however very impressed with the tea bags....a very fine metal mesh bag.....tasty & unusual.
The village of Herepian is really a land that time forgot ! There is absolutely nothing of interest to see or do, we walked around it in 10 minutes flat !
We cut our stay short, leaving us out of pocket by over 250 euros but we really couldn`t face another night there.The receptionist was truly horrified that we were leaving early saying she had never had a guest leave early...we doubted that very much !
We would not recommend a stay here , the place is marketed as a retreat & haven ,.....we`ve had more peaceful nights sleep in travelodge thankyou !!.

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rubydooEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herepian
11.4 mi away
Auberge de Val Moureze
Auberge de Val Moureze
#1 of 2 in Moureze
132 reviews
18.0 mi away
Garrigae Distillerie de Pezenas
1.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Orb
Hotel de l'Orb
#1 of 1 in Bedarieux
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel des Thermes
Hotel des Thermes
#1 of 3 in Lamalou-les-Bains
99 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Navas Les Hauts de Moureze
2.8 mi away
Maison Bersane
Maison Bersane
#1 of 3 in Le Poujol-sur-Orb
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Couvent d'Herepian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Couvent d'Herepian

Address: 2 rue du Couvent, 34600 Herepian, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Herepian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Herepian
Price Range: £94 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Couvent d'Herepian 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gentle refuge cradled in ancient stone in the heart of the Haut-Languedoc. For lovers of romantic and sensual contemplations. Thirteen luxurious suites & rooms offer a refined haven - a perfect getaway for two. A 17th century former convent where soul mates can retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Couvent d'Herepian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couvent d`Herepian Hotel Herepian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing