We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly but needs attention to details” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Black Horse Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clean, friendly but needs attention to details”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

I found my room and bathroom clean and warm with TV that worked OK, an 'armchair' with no arms makes relaxing a little difficult though.
One thing was the nightlight on the ceiling which shines like a spotlight into your eyes all night- I had to get up and pot 6 post-its over it to get some sleep- I did mention it in the morning- but was met with a health and safety reg.- but better lights can be installed- otherwise- not bad for a bubget near Cambridge.

Room Tip: Bring a packet of Post-its
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 256F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    23
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
31
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
La Rochelle, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed one night to go to Stansted airport the following day. Warm welcome, nice room, good selection of hand pulled beers. We tried the Black Sheep and it was excellent. Dinner was great too; whitebait followed by lamb shank for a reasonable price. Too full for dessert. Downsides: shower room was poorly designed and too small. Also the main light had a green glow all night but no great problem. We were in the "Reech" room in the main building and the wifi worked fine. Would definitely stay here again, the price is right for what it offers.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigmoff00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
74 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed just 1 night with friends in a courtyard room which are actually converted stables.Although the room was quite small it was very clean & comfortable & at a competitive price.It's only about 8 miles from the July course & is very easily & quickly reached.
We ate in the restaurant on "steak night" when it was on 2 for 1 & it was excellent.Drinks are reasonably priced & if you like "real ale" then you wo'nt go wrong.Staff were pleasant & efficient.
If we want to stay overnight in this area again we will not look any further.

Room Tip: any of the courtyard rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We had an overnight stay when visiting the Cambridge Folk Festival. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The courtyard room we had (which reminded us strongly of US motels in style) was small but very clean and in all round good order with twin beds, TV with good reception, tea and coffee making facilities and a good bathroom with nice shower cubicle. Parking is right outside the room. The pub closes at 11.30pm, the rooms are set back from the road and the area is very quiet so no problem with noise overnight.

The pub itself is quite nice, and the breakfast supplied was excellent. The pub does evening meals (not sampled) and serves a range of good beers (sampled!).

Not a problem for us, but the public transport into Cambridge is only once an hour and the village itself is very small and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room rather than one in the pub itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

On checking in I found the staff to be very friendly and quick to show me to my room. The room itself, although basic, was very clean and comfortable enough for a short stay, but with just one not-so-comfortable chair, relaxing in the room wasn't really an option. But the bathroom was great with a good shower, and overall the room was a nice base, situated outside the pub in old converted stables.
Soon after checking in I found my mobile phone had no signal. I asked if they had a payphone in the pub - they didn't - but they advised me to go and stand in the centre of the village green opposite and I should receive a signal after a few minutes. Well it didn't work. I found the village payphone that was vandalised beyond repair, and after advising the staff that I hadn't managed to get a signal I had to drive 3 miles to the next village so I could contact my friends and make arrangements for that afternoon. Not ideal and left me stressed and short on time.
I feel that as staff know there is an issue with phone signals in the area, provisions could be made to give guests the use of a pay phone or even a simple charging system to use their phone. The tv signal in the room was also affected and was intermittent at best. As I was so short on time after the phone debacle I had no time to use the tea making facilities until much later that evening, at which point I found the kettle didn't work. Still, tap water was plentiful so I had a glass of that instead.
There are bright security lights outside the pub that shine through un-curtained glass in the door to the room and cast a beam of light right across the bed. Fortunately pillows were plentiful too and I used one over my head to block out the light.
This could be a really nice place to stay if staff just gave a little bit more thought into providing basics like curtains, a means of communication and electrical items that actually work.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizandAnt1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

My secretary found the Black Horse as an alternative to the branded hotels. The service was great, the food was home cooked, the room was clean and the price was right. The free internet is great but it's hit and miss in the room so this could be improved.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leisuresafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

We've just returned from a 3 night stay and the Black Horse is a great location for trips to Cambridge and surrounding areas. The bus stop is outside the pub if you fancy a break from driving - every 30 minutes to Cambridge.

The rooms - ex stables - are adequate though a more comfy chair would have been nice. The single beds we had were in need of updating - the springs in our mattresses came up to meet us when we laid on them. However, the shower worked better than some 5 * hotels! The pub food is good value and you'll have a great choice of beers. The staff are more than capable and very friendly. Overall, great value compared to the Cambridge hotels and their whopping parking charges.

Just one annoying thing - the accomodation is behind the pub and close to the designated smoking area. In the evening smokers congregate and jolly alcholic banter is annoyingly loud. The backdoor thorugh which all and sundry pass slams with force continously. Thankfully someone propped the door open on the Sunday evening.

So take your own doorstop with you just in case.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weebeastie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swaffham Bulbeck
3.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Property: The Black Horse Inn
Address: 35 High Street, Swaffham Bulbeck CB25 0HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Swaffham Bulbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swaffham Bulbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the idyllic village of Swaffham Bulbeck overlooking the village green. The Black Horse Inn offers a warm and friendly welcome. Locally sourced food served daily and a great selection of Wines and drinks available at the bar including locally brewed ales. The accommodation comprises of 7 converted stables in a courtyard setting, all rooms are en suite with complimentary toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Inn Swaffham Bulbeck, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing